We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality is TOP SHELF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Batsu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Batsu to your Saves list
Casa Batsu
Los LLanos, Monteverde | Next to Monteverde Welcome Center, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Hospitality is TOP SHELF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night during our coast to coast tour of Costa Rica - AMAZING!!!! We got lost looking for Casa Batsu, and when we called Carlos, he told us to stay put. He was coming to us. We were not sure what to think...was Casa Batsu really that hard to find..? In about 10 mins Carlos showed up and introduced himself and told us to follow him, he wanted to show us something. He proceeded to take us on a mini tour of Monteverde stopping at a few of his favourite places! Wow - this was unexpected and certainly a surprise. Casa Batsu was not hard to find, Carlos had just wanted to show us around! We loved it.

Carlos then arranged for us to partake in a night hike which was kind of cool. I thought we would have seen more creatures of the night, but was a great experience none the less.

In the morning Carlos and Paula made us the BEST BREAKFAST I HAVE EVER TASTED. I know that I will not be able to recreate it. They have a flair for food and my mouth is watering right now. Breakfast was 3 courses, first fresh fruit, second tortillas with eggs, salsa, avocado and jalapenos, third came a fruit pancake with a passionfruit reduction sauce. BAM! Emeril would proud!

Carlos then arranged for us to zipline at Sky tours. I have ziplined before in Panama, but this was entirely different - VERY high and VERY fast. Total adrenaline.

We stayed in the Colibri room with friends - this was a great room for us, the only thing I would change is that there should be access to the bathroom from both bedrooms. The bathroom had one door which you had to walk through one of the bedrooms to access. This was the only improvement we could suggest.

Carlos also gave us a tour of his property and showed us all the plants he uses for his fresh ingredients when cooking. Carlos and Paula are fantastic and you will have to stay here to realize just how great!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
65
125
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

When my husband and I arrived to Monteverde earlier than expected, we we warmly greeted by Carlos. When I asked him if we were too early to check in, he replied that every time is a good time to arrive. That put us immediately at ease. Carlos was quick to give us lots of information about town. We were the first tenants to check in, and it felt like we had the resort to ourselves. We stayed in the Mariposa Casa, and it was so lovely and clean! The bathroom shower is a work of art. Even with tenants next door, it felt like we had the place to ourselves. We enjoyed a nice, long happy hour on the patio, and Carlos joined us in fantastic conversation. He made a fabulous recommendation for dinner at Tremonte and even made a last minute reservation for us. In the morning, Carlos and his sweet family were up, and coffee was brewing. I enjoyed a quiet cup of coffee on the patio, and we had a tasty and huge breakfast made for us- we didn't want to leave! We had inquired about laundry services, and were pleased that we got some clean laundry right before we departed. Carlos and his family are sweet and will do whatever it takes to make your stay special. We highly recommend everyone to stay here- it is a gem! Thank you from Marshall and Andrea!

Room Tip: The Mariposa has a fabulous shower and porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I loved our recent visit to this small guest house. It more than deserves all the praise the other reviews have given it, being clean, comfortable and set in a delightful, informal garden. Carlos helped us arrange what we wanted to do, and was super with suggestions.
Incidentally, if Carlos offers to make supper for you, jump at the chance. He is a gifted chef who uses fresh produce with imagination and joy.
The two or three rooms are not well sound proofed from one another: well, I had to come up with something negative...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shueyville
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We recently spent three wonderful nights at Casa Batsu, and there is nothing we can add that hasn't already been said about Carlos and Paula's genuinely warm and friendly hospitality, the spotless, beautiful rooms, sumptuous breakfasts, the personal attention, and the many little perks and valuable local information that you most likely won't get at any other accommodations in Monteverde. This is a very special, serene place where we were treated like part of the family and made some wonderful new friends. Many thanks and pura vida, Carlos and Paula!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vällingby, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been travelling to many many places over the years in different parts of the world and have stayed at a good number of B&B....But Carlos' and Paula have done something very unique setting up the best B&B we've ever stayed at. The hospitality, the friendliness, the passion, the absolutely fantastic breakfast, the surroundings, the charm of the rooms. We highly recommend this to anyone going to Monteverdi and lookings for something speiclal to remember forever and pass on recommendations.

Family from Sweden

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

It's easy to say that this is definitely one of the most fantastic B&Bs we have ever visited!! Carlos is incredibly hospitable. He is passionate about his work and the Monteverde region.

We stayed in the Mariposa Room which is clean, spacious and comfortable. There are two double beds which make it more than accommodating for a family. The most interest aspect of this room is the bathroom. Carlos designed this room with his wife and it really reflects the environment (definitely take a look at the bathroom pictures online).

The grounds are gorgeous!! Carlos encourages his guests to explore his property and enjoy the mountain views.

Breakfast was sooooo good!! Each morning there was a special available (his Mother's Christmas enchiladas, breakfast burrito), along with many regular breakfast items like French toast and yogurt.

If you are interested in going on a jungle night walk or exploring the wilderness with a guide definitely request Freddy, who is a good friend of Carlos. Freddy is a very knowledgeable guide whose passion shines as you explore with him :)

This is a very special place and I would 100% recommend staying here when visiting Costa Rica!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Casa Batsu. Carlos was a great host. He couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. I agree with the other review that the directions to Casa Batsu were not precise, and we wound up passing it, and driving around for 20 minutes asking people where it is. If you go, it is at the Monteverde Visitors Center! We had fantastic, gourmet breakfasts sitting outdoors adjacent to a bird feeder. Unlike other places we stayed, the menu was varied each morning. The room we stayed in lacked some privacy, and shares a thin wall with the other room on the property. We were fortunate that the other occupants were fairly quiet. Also, there was no where to put your clothing or hang anything up. However, it met our needs and we thought it was a good value with great proximity to the Cloud Forest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Batsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Batsu

Address: Los LLanos, Monteverde | Next to Monteverde Welcome Center, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Batsú is just more than a hotel ... is our home and we invite you to share the peace, location and hospitality of a true Costa Rican Family House. Our goal is to make you feel at home. We have spacious, beautiful, clean and well equipped rooms for a comfortable stay, a large tropical garden is the perfect place to relax after hiking in the woods, the kids really enjoy playing in the hammocks, or jumping around in the garden. Casa Batsu is the main house in a beautiful family farm over 200 acres, recently remodeled and equipped to welcome travelers who enjoy authentic experiences and quality, In Casa Batsu you will not feel like a tourist. We invite you to join us during your next visit to the Monteverde Cloud Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Batsu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Batsu Monteverde, Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Batsu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.