We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Batsu

Save Saved
You added Casa Batsu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Batsu
Los LLanos, Monteverde | Next to Monteverde Welcome Center, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Tour tickets
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Family Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Carlos is absolutely the best host we've ever experienced. We had reserved two days at Casa Batsu in late November. Our schedule changed and we were going to be in Monteverde a day early. We called Carlos - unfortunately Casa Batsu was booked but he assured me he'd find us another place to stay. He did and it too was fabulous. We didn't get a chance to meet Paula and the kids (a good reason to come back!) Casa Batsu is a quaint B&B. The rooms are spacious and clean. Carlos is an excellent chef so be sure to try one of the dinners. Breakfast was included and was always delicious and plentiful. Carlos made all the arrangements for the side trips and tours we went on. It was so nice - vacation where I didn't have to lift a finger and all the arrangements were handled. Thank you Carlos for everything. HIGHLY recommend spending time in Monteverde - and if you're there then Casa Batsu is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
59
109
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southfield, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My family of 5 had a great time staying at Casa Batsu. Carlos is an extremely accommodating host. We called him on the drive in to see if he could make us dinner, and he made us the most incredible meal we ate in our entire stay in Costa Rica. Since it was rainy and cold that night, his mother added a homemade chicken soup to the menu that rivals my grandmothers. The meal included homemade sangria, a special pineapple recipe! Carlos helped arrange all of our activities for the 2 days in Monteverde. He suggested 2 places to eat for lunch and dinner that were perfect. We all enjoyed his breakfast every day. It included fresh fruit, fresh juice and a different main courses every day. Since my son didn't drink coffee he made him homemade hot chocolate that was like no hot chocolate I had ever tasted before.

With all this being said,words can't describe what a great guy he is. We had checked out on Christmas day and were on the way to buy coffee from a local coffee grower, and our car went off the road and was stuck over a cliff. We called Carlos and he was there within 20 minutes, leaving his family on Christmas Day. He helped get a tractor to pull us out, and picked up a guy to drive it as well. Since it was Christmas, that was a very difficult thing to find. He made sure our car was okay, before we went on our way. This all was done on Christmas day, even when he had other guests arriving. We might still be there if he hadn't helped us. He never thought twice about coming to our rescue. He is someone we will never forget on our visit to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Casa Batsu is a small, rustic B&B that is run by two of the nicest people you will meet,Carlos and Paula.For about $60 per room you receive the best service you will probably recieve anywhere. Being from the area , Carlos can offer helpful information about things to see and do.As hosts, the breakfast they provide each morning is wonderful.We loved this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at Casa Batsu for two nights and had a WONDERFUL experience. Carlos is truly an amazing host. When we arrived Carlos greeted us generously with a bottle of wine, as we had told him we were celebrating our engagement. Carlos helped us maximize our time in Monteverde, since we were only there for a day and a half -- he asked us about our expectations and wishes and then gave us excellent recommendations for how to spend our time. Carlos arranged everything for us while we were there. On our second night we had the privilege of enjoying a special Casa Batsu treat -- a gourmet three-course dinner that was probably the best meal we had on the whole trip (and we had some great meals). The breakfasts, which are included, were also delicious. Our host's passion for and knowledge about Monteverde was inspiring, and it definitely contributed to our great enjoyment and desire to return soon.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Excellent host,good location and great food at this bed and breakfast we stayed in monteverde.
Carlos,our host was able to suggest and arrange tours for us. He is also knowledgeable about information in the area. We enjoyed our stay here

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

After reading a few of the below reviews, my friends and I decided to give Casa Batsu a try on our impromptu visit to Monteverde, and we are so glad that we did.

Carlos is an exceptional host and you can tell that he takes a lot of pride in his work. When we arrived in Monteverde we stopped by a coffee shop to get directions. We ended up calling Carlos and he drove over immediately to escort us to Casa Batsu.

There are only two rooms at Casa Batsu, but the rooms are spacious, clean, and decorated with flowers. It is very cozy yet it is still a short drive into town. Realistically you need a car in this area so this is not a problem.

Carlos is a wealth of knowledge and he went over all of our options for activities, places to eat, and helped us with our plans after we left. He suggested Bar Amigos for some typical food and we ended up going there twice in our short two day stay. He also graciously offered to accompany us on a horse ride since we were not very experienced riders. This was our favorite activity as Carlos is a great riding teacher as well as tour guide. He led us through a farm nearby where we got to ride through the forrest and learn about coffee and the surrounding wildlife.

The best part for me was the food. As noted by other reviewers, the breakfast here is excellent. I was traveling with a diabetic and a vegitarian and Carlos made sure that all of the food prepared was suitable for their requirements. We also had the chance to have dinner at Casa Batsu which consisted of a delicious sangria, fresh flavorful ceviche, fish soup, a choice of seafood pasta or mahi mahi, and rice pudding for dessert. This was such a relaxing and delicious meal, if you stay here and have the option of having dinner there, I highly recommend it! All of the food here is freshly made and beautifully presented, you feel like you are staying with friends and eating at a nice restaurant at the same time.

Carlos has given us great memories of Monteverde and we are very grateful for his hospitality. Its not often that you encounter someone who so geniuenly likes to host and provides such exceptional service!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

After a grueling drive in a Toyota Yaris on what should NEVER have been recognized by GPS as a road, we stopped at Casa Batsu for route advice and to gather our nerves. I cannot begin to express our gratitude for the hospitality we were extended. We were invited in for amazing coffee and crackers and a chance to relax before more grueling travels to come. He kindly shared Costa Rican stories and the countries rich history in the coffee industry. We left refreshed and with a positive attitude and would recommend the location to anyone as the perfect base camp for Monteverde adventuring.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Batsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Batsu

Address: Los LLanos, Monteverde | Next to Monteverde Welcome Center, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Batsú is just more than a hotel ... is our home and we invite you to share the peace, location and hospitality of a true Costa Rican Family House. Our goal is to make you feel at home. We have spacious, beautiful, clean and well equipped rooms for a comfortable stay, a large tropical garden is the perfect place to relax after hiking in the woods, the kids really enjoy playing in the hammocks, or jumping around in the garden. Casa Batsu is the main house in a beautiful family farm over 200 acres, recently remodeled and equipped to welcome travelers who enjoy authentic experiences and quality, In Casa Batsu you will not feel like a tourist. We invite you to join us during your next visit to the Monteverde Cloud Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Casa Batsu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Batsu Monteverde, Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Batsu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.