We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, unpretentious restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Tico y Rico Monteverde

Restaurante Tico y Rico Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde, Puntarenas | Santa Elena, Across From the Sky Adventures Office, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 60109, Costa Rica
+506 8320 5666
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Costa Rican, International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet
Description: We are located in the heart of Santa Elena down town, across from the Sky Adventures Offoce, right on the wide bricked main street. We focus on serving typical dishes, including the Costa Rican famous casados and gallo pinto. We give each customer a real typical experience, great taste, spices and flavors. We also serve pastas, meats, seafood at an excellent price.
Valencia, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“friendly, unpretentious restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A nice place for a quick bite. The food is simple but good. Prices are very reasonable. Staff (Irene) is very friendly. The restaurant and restrooms are clean.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    51
    15
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castro Valley, California, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Tico (Typical Costa Rican)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We went here on a recommendation from hotel staff. We were looking for typical Costa Rican "local" cuisine and that is what we got. It is not a fancy restaurant but the food is good and the prices are reasonable. Servers are friendly, the restaurant is clean, and the food was well prepared. It's definitely a good choice to get away from hotel restaurant prices and eat with the locals.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Tico Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

On our first day in Santa Elena/Monteverde, we just wandered around the triangle, a bit hungry, and ready for whatever struck our fancy. The Treehouse seemed a little to serious for our mood. Just wanted good straightforward food. Tico y Rico looked good and was. We were there not long after noon, but they were willing to do some of the simpler breakfast food for our boys (eggs and pinto for one, eggs and toast for the other). My wife had fish and I had nachos. While not distinctly Tico, both were done with a Tico flair.

I save 5 stars for things that will stick with me forever. This wasn't that. Instead, it's the type of place, that if you lived here, you could eat at often. Just good straightforward food, most of it very Tico, but some nods to other foods for the tourists. Prices were more then a locals place with similar food elsewhere would be, but not exorbitantly so.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food. Good selection. Fast service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

If you are walking around the tiny triangle of Santa Elena you will find Tico y Rico. They speak reasonable English and have delicious food for good value. Service is friendly and prompt. It is the perfect lunch or dinner stop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Lunch menu is ismpler than dinner, but no less delicious! The service is amazing, friendly, timely and SINCERE. Seemed like locals also frequent the restaurant, which is always a good sign. I caannot underscore how friendly and helpful the everyone at Tico y Rico was. It is one of those places that make you jealous they are not in your own home town! MUST VISIT!!!!! And when the owners say "con mucho gusto"... you know they mean it. Gracias, Tico y Rico.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Tico y Rico Monteverde also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Restaurante Tico y Rico Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Tico y Rico Monteverde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.