We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View and Lovely Cabins” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Capulin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cabinas Capulin to your Saves list
Cabinas Capulin
Santa Elena, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve none, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful View and Lovely Cabins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I recently spent a weekend in Monteverde. We had intended to stay In Los Pinos, but since they were booked, we chose Cabinas Capulin, which we really enjoyed. Cabinas Capulin is owned by a friendly and accommodating local family. They gave us Cabin 6, as we wanted a kitchen, and we were immediately surprised by the incredible view from the cabin. Cabin 6 is perched on an overhang, and from the front windows, you can see our over Monteverde; at night, it feels like you can touch the stars overhead. The cabin was simple, but it had everything we needed and it was very clean and quiet.

If you're looking for luxury, this is not the right choice for you. However, if you'd would like a gorgeous location, clean and lovely cabin, and friendly staff, then I recommend Cabinas Capulin. Plus, supporting local businesses is always a good thing!

Room Tip: Cabin #6 has a kitchen and a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    21
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
31
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We came with five & left with two... meaning three of our crew had to head home before two of us did and the two of us who could stay were the lucky ones. We spent one night in a four bedroom cabin at Cabinas Capulin and then a friend & I spent two additional nights in a two bedroom cabin... all of which were ideal for our trip. These cabins are very comfortable and have the rustic qualities one would expect from such a location. The four bedroom was particularly fun and an ideal place for a large family or group of friends. Located on a hill, these cabins have sweeping, picturesque views for extremely reasonable prices. If I ever end of up back this part of Costa Rica I wouldn't even bother looking into other options, but would would look forward to staying at Cabinas Capulin again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We loved Cabinas Capulin. We stayed in the Mountain House with four bedrooms and two baths. It was very spacious, and had a sink outside that is specially built for hand-washing clothes. Pros: very close to Sta. Elena center, Sta. Elena reserve, and Selvatura. Awesome views--could see the mountains and the Gulf of Nicoya--watched a thunderstorm come over the mts. from the hammock in the room on the second floor. Very nice owners who were very helpful--we had booked Jose to be our guide, but he wasn't available so they arranged for Mauricio to guide us and he was great--saw a quetzal up close for many minutes. Rooms are spare but nice, beds are average for CR, bathrooms big and plenty of hot water, tub, kitchen came in handy, full fridge, very attractive setting, nice trail through the forest right outside the door--cool strangler fig tree on the trail. Cons: could have been a little cleaner--the house had not been used in a while and could have used a cleaning. Not really any good lounging area either inside or outside--no place to relax and read in the beautiful setting. Overall it was an awesome place to stay and I can't imagine that there could be any better place in the area. We didn't like the Sta. Elena village area--too touristy and expensive. The small soda/restaurant outside of the village on the way to the Capulin is excellent and reasonably priced. Don't waste your money on the in-town touristy places--this place is great! We loved being outside of town but close to everything. Selvatura zip lines and brigdes are fantastic and well worth the money. The Capulin are very convenient to that area. I wouldn't stay at the Capulin without a car. We had no problems driving in CR and would highly recommend driving for anyone considering it. The freedom was great and driving was not nearly as harrowing as some suggest. We drove up the road to the Monteverde reserve and I think staying in Sta. Elena at the Capulin is the best possible place to stay in the area. Very highly recommended. Quiet, "authentic", friendly and helpful owners, great views, fantastic value. We would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: The Casa is a great value--very spacious, private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

I researched and stayed at Cabinas Capulin largely because of it's very high rating on Trip Advisor plus it was cheap, and had a great location. TA often heavily sways me to stay one place or another.

Well this place was great is the short write up. Super close to town, could walk if you wanted, but far enough away for it be peaceful. My cabin was great. Had my own balcony and it was elevated so I had a great view. Rooms are quite simple, but that's fine. Beds are average comfort for Costa Rica. Bathroom was a bit of a treat. Stone covering 90% of the rooms, interesting sunken shower, and the family did this stone work themselves. I found many, including the Torres family to be jack of all trades.

Breakfast. Simple, but pretty tasty and made while you waited. Just let them know when you want to eat the night before. A nice touch and makes it almost bed and breakfast like.

Family pets. They have a couple really awesome dogs and cats which to me made the stay so much more special. I got to play with them and they were super cute and fun.

The family was super helpful and friendly and did little things to help me out along the way. Jose is also an experienced nature guide so he took us on a guided hike in Monteverde which was a great experience.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for something a little different and to stay away from chains or impersonal hotels.

Truly a unique experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spofford, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Quiet location; basic but clean, very comfortable rooms. The family staff was super nice, and Roy's breakfasts were terrific!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

We had a fantastic, albeit short, stay.
We stayed one night in room 7. In reference to the previous reviewer, rooms 5, 6 and 7 are connected by very thin walls. No one was in room 6, so we didn't have any problems with noise from other people. The howler monkeys, on the other hand, happily stood up to their names!
Our room was small but had a full sliding door opening to a balcony that was basically the side of a cliff with tons of gorgeous foilage. The windows made the room feel huge. The bathroom was recently done and really lovely.
We didn't have any animal sightings on the property, but we didn't have time to wander during day light hours. We did hear a lot of birds and the aforementioned monkeys.
We don't speak a lick of Spanish, but were able to book a tour at the nearby park (Selvatura Park) through the front desk.
They also let us leave our bags in our room and our car there while we went on our tours at the park, allowing us to change from forest clothes to beach clothes before our drive.
(Tip to the desk: English language brochures with pricing from Selvatura and other attractions would be great. We would've booked a guide if we'd known prices.)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Cabinas Capulin is well locatedsince you are only 15 min. walk from Santa Elena town.

The bedroom is ok, but not more than that. We had cabin 6 (between 5 and 7) and we were hearing everything in the cabin #5 and #7, which was kind of disturbing, especially when we wanted to get to bed early !!!Try to bring some pants and warm shirts because the nights are very cold (well at least during our stay there)

Roy is very helpful, but he doesn't speak perfect english, so we try to practice our spanish. He booked us for a night tour, for a coffee tour (Trapiche, which we really really recommend you ; we had Diego as our guide and he was very cool) and he also find us a private guide for an expedition. By the way, this guide told us that Monteverde reserve and Santa Elena reserve are very busy, so we went with him at another reserva and we were alone with him, which was fantastic ! He told us a lot about different plants, animals, butterfloies and birds. We also went alone in the children's eternal rainforest which we really liked ; we saw there a big family of white faced monkeys, aguti, coati and much more ...

We tried once the breakfast, but we find it really ordinary.

In conclusion this is a well-located place which is really ok but we find it not very intimate. Maybe if you could have a cabin more isolated ... Roy is very nice and don't hesitate to ask him questions about the place around.

Room Tip: be sure it is not too noisy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Capulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Capulin

Address: Santa Elena, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabañas Capulín is a cluster of 8 beautiful wooden cabins located in a beautiful natural setting, with stunning views of the cloud forest and the Nicoya Gulf. The cabins range in size from small private cabins (with space for 2-5 guests), to bungalows (3-7 guests), to a small, two-storey mountain house (for 7 people). All cabins have beautiful woodwork, bathrooms with hot water, and terraces or balconies with beautiful view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Cabinas Capulin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Capulin Monteverde, Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Capulin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.