We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend an afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Trapiche Tour

El Trapiche Tour
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
(506) 2645-5271
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Farms, Factory Tours, Sightseeing Tours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Hobe Sound
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was one of my favorite tours on our Costa Rican adventure. They really went into detail on all aspects of coffee, sugar, and chocolate production. We got to try the seeds in every stage of creating the end product (straight of the plant to final product). We felt as though we really knew the process and had an authentic look at how Costa Ricans produce these products. The owner of the plantation and his wife showed us the sugar production and made us coffee at the end. Thank you!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    43
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An absolute must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This tour was very well thought out and gave a great insight into how coffee is grown, processed and roasted. An added bonus is the sugar cane and cocoa tour which is part of the overall tour. Surprises along the way which will put a smile on the face of anyone who likes Coffee, Chocolate and sugar!
You must go on this tour. Oscar the tour guide was excellent

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Educational tour with yummy tastings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

What a wonderful tour! Its certainly a lot to see coffee, chocolate and sugar all at once, but the tour grounds are gorgeous and the tour guide was amazing. Its certainly a very touristy thing to do, even how its all set up as its not really a true farm anymore, but learning how everything is made and actually experiencing it is very real. I learned quite a bit on this tour and have a greater appreciation for coffee and chocolate now, especially the natural kind.

Actually helping make and taste these things was an awesome highlight, The snacks and coffee at the end were pretty amazing as well. Definitely would recommend this if vising Monteverde.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Definitely worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Adviced by our hotel owner (Rainbow Valley Lodge) we did a tour at El Trapiche, and I highly recommend it to anyone else! You get to learn all insides on making coffee, chocolate, and sugar cane via a very educational tour. You also get to taste some products at various stages.

As a bonus, our guide was quite a funnyman!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth the time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Our guide was so helpful and informative. We loved seeing coffee, chocolate and sugarcane growing/processing. It even kept our 3 kids engaged! :) This tour was about 2 hours long and worth the time. It was such a unique and interesting activity to do while in Monteverde!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Trapiche Tour also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to El Trapiche Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Trapiche Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.