We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a guaranteed good experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabine's Smiling Horses

Sabine's Smiling Horses
1 km oeste del cementerio de Sta. Elena | follow road sign from cemetary to us, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
+506 2645 6894
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Horseback Riding Stables
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Sabine who speaks English, French, Spanish and German and offers a variety of horse treks, from $ 19 US per hour to day trips to specialty tours including a Full Moon Ride. Several multi-day treks are also on offer. Sabine's Smiling Horses is a true destination in Costa Rica.
Monteverde, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“a guaranteed good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We rode with Sabine's Smiling Horses several times in 2012, and on a previous trip in 2009. The horses are healthy and well-maintained, which is not necessarily true of all outfits in Costa Rica. Sabine's guide Alonzo is wonderful, both with the horses and with the guests who ride them. Together, Sabine and Alonzo will ensure that you and your family or friends have a great ride.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at Sabine's Smiling Horses, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you and your family for coming several times to our stable and trying new things with our horses and at the farms. We very much enjoyed accommodating your family and new ideas. We wish you find your way again to Costa Rica and Monteverde one day. Sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    15
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Half-day Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We did the half-day trip to the waterfall and had a great time! Alonzo, our guide, was patient, kind, and very informative. It helped that I have some Spanish skills, but his English was adequate for getting the idea across. We liked that there was a short hike and refreshment stop in addition to riding. The horses are well cared for and the ranch is fun to visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful horses, friendly people and one of a kind views!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My friends and I went to Smiling Horses early August. When we arrived we were welcomed nicely by the owners. They were really friendly and extremly helpful. The guide could not speak English although we did not find this bothersome at all. We actually loved the experience of being involved with a local Costa Rican. He was very patient and it was quite easy to communicate with him.
The horses were gorgeous and very well educated. I have a lot of experience in riding but my friends have very little. Everyone at the stable made them feel comfortable. Sabine picked out the horses for each of us according to our experience level. I found this very personalized and comforting. My horse, Sierra, was a beautiful paint mare who was very finely trained and responded well to my commands. Before we left we were given a short demonstration on how to handle the horse. For those of us who were beginners this was really helpful.
We rode for about thirty minutes until we reached a view point overlooking Monteverde. Then we continued for another while along a mountain ridge with the most amazing views ever. The guide explained to us what we were looking at and then we rode back along a different path that took us to a local coffee stop where we could get something to drink/eat.
This was one of the best activities we did while traveling in Costa Rica and we therefore highly recommend it...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A really great outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was one of the most fun things we did while we stayed at St Elena. We don't know how to horse ride but our guide made everything nice and simple for our 2 teens and us. We did the 3 hour waterfall tour and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. Sabine and Guy are also great people and willing to answer questions about life in the region.
Don't hesitate, it's really worth it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our guide Jonny made this an amazing trip ! He was so knowledgable and was able to find a great variety of wildlife for us to see. My partner and I were fortunate enough to be the only people on this guided walk , and I think it makes a huge difference in the amount of wildlife you see compared to a big group. Definitely worth going here , don't forget your binoculars !!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabine's Smiling Horses also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Sabine's Smiling Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabine's Smiling Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sabine's Smiling Horses to your Saves list