We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for beginners too!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sabine's Smiling Horses

Sabine's Smiling Horses
1 km oeste del cementerio de Sta. Elena | follow road sign from cemetary to us, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
+506 2645 6894
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Horseback Riding Stables
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Sabine who speaks English, French, Spanish and German and offers a variety of horse treks, from $ 19 US per hour to day trips to specialty tours including a Full Moon Ride. Several multi-day treks are also on offer. Sabine's Smiling Horses is a true destination in Costa Rica.
Barbados
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great for beginners too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I spent a couple of hours out on horseback and really enjoyed it. I've only ever been on horses 2 or 3 times and that was about 10 years ago. Someone booked all our excursions before we arrived in Costa Rica so I wasn't too sure when I heard about going on a horse.
It was no problem for me, the guide was very good and made me feel very comfortable. I think the horses know exactly where they were going so I didn't have to do too much to be honest.
Was a very nice way to spend the morning.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    15
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful horses and smiling guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We took a 3 hour sunset ride with Sabine's horses and it was awesome, although our bums were a bit sore after since we are not used to riding :) The guide who came with us, couldn't speak english but was there to make sure we went the right way and to help if we needed. The first stop was at a beautiful little waterfall where we refreshed ourselves and then climbed back up the steep path to where our horses were waiting. All the horses were very well-behaved and although a bit on the slower side, we had no problems getting them to keep going! (it was fine with us that they walked a bit slower as we were beginners). The views from the top of the hills were amazing, all the way to pacific ocean and the other direction to monteverde.... The owners Sabine, and Guy were very friendly and helpful and we also rented their Treetop House for our accommodation while in this beautiful part of the world. I recommend Sabine's horses to future travellers to Monteverde/St. Elena!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, NB
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun trail ride with beautiful views.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Horses are well cared for and the trail ride was not boring. We did lots of trotting & loping. And the views are amazing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great ride through the Costa Rican hills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The owners are very friendly and the guide did a great job. Horses were very energetic and the hike to the waterfall, though a bit treacherous, was fun and well worth it. Nice little swimming hole.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a lovely two hour trail ride through the mountains on beautiful clean horses. We had beautiful views as well. The guide who went with us did not really guide us, that is talk to us or show us anything from a nature perspective--he was there to make sure we rode safely.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabine's Smiling Horses also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Sabine's Smiling Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabine's Smiling Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sabine's Smiling Horses to your Saves list