We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not just the horses that smile :))” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabine's Smiling Horses

Sabine's Smiling Horses
1 km oeste del cementerio de Sta. Elena | follow road sign from cemetary to us, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
+506 2645 6894
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sabine who speaks English, French, Spanish and German and offers a variety of horse treks, from $ 19 US per hour to day trips to specialty tours including a Full Moon Ride. Several multi-day treks are also on offer. Sabine's Smiling Horses is a true destination in Costa Rica.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“It's not just the horses that smile :))”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

You only have to take a look at the beautiful horses and ponies at Sabine's Smiling horses in order to see why it's by far the best stables in the area.

Add to this the welcoming smiles of Sabine and Guy and you are in for a treat and will leave with memories that will keep you smiling for years to come.

I would give them a six star rating if I could!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    17
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect ride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We took the 3 hour ride, accompanied by a friendly guide, as well as Tico, the german shepherd. The views were the most spectacular yet, and the horses were very well trained. A perfect ride!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent for first time and experienced riders...great people, beautiful trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I are newbies and were a bit nervous to ride, but my dad was really looking forward to a horse back adventure so we got the recommendation to Sabine's from our hotel and we could not be happier to have gone on such an awesome adventure. The scenery is absolutely stunning. We took the 2.5 hour tour. Our guide was great, not overbearing or lax but right in the middle. At first I was pretty nervous but quickly learned that the more relaxed you are the more the horse is relaxed and the more fun you will have. We were able to take many breaks to take pictures, and you stop at a hilltop above the clouds. The owners are super down to earth and nice. They also grow and roast coffee, and gave us a quick tour of their coffee farm. They even helped us push our car from a ditch when our 4 wheel drive stopped working. All in all, these folks are great and we would go back in a heartbeat.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great horses, beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We returned to Sabine's several times during our stay in Monteverde. (And we loved the hand-roasted coffee from her farm, too!)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Outstanding! Put this on the top of the list.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Without a doubt our ride with Sabine's Horses was one of the high points of our trip to Costa Rica. Sabine has well trained and well cared for horses. Her guides obviously love the horses as much as she does. You could see that our guide was enjoying his ride even though all of our group were novice riders and went fairly slowly. We had no trouble at all with the two hour ride (although the middle age members of our party were pretty sore later in the day). The views were spectacular, the trails and roads peaceful. Small children might find some of the steeper trails a bit scary, but our teens were thrilled and would have been fine even if they were much younger. Put this on the top of the list when you are in Santa Elena. I wish we had found Sabne's stables earlier in our visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabine's Smiling Horses also viewed

 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Sabine's Smiling Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabine's Smiling Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.