We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great horses, beautiful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabine's Smiling Horses

Sabine's Smiling Horses
1 km oeste del cementerio de Sta. Elena | follow road sign from cemetary to us, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
+506 2645 6894
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sabine who speaks English, French, Spanish and German and offers a variety of horse treks, from $ 19 US per hour to day trips to specialty tours including a Full Moon Ride. Several multi-day treks are also on offer. Sabine's Smiling Horses is a true destination in Costa Rica.
Ashland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great horses, beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We returned to Sabine's several times during our stay in Monteverde. (And we loved the hand-roasted coffee from her farm, too!)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    17
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Outstanding! Put this on the top of the list.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Without a doubt our ride with Sabine's Horses was one of the high points of our trip to Costa Rica. Sabine has well trained and well cared for horses. Her guides obviously love the horses as much as she does. You could see that our guide was enjoying his ride even though all of our group were novice riders and went fairly slowly. We had no trouble at all with the two hour ride (although the middle age members of our party were pretty sore later in the day). The views were spectacular, the trails and roads peaceful. Small children might find some of the steeper trails a bit scary, but our teens were thrilled and would have been fine even if they were much younger. Put this on the top of the list when you are in Santa Elena. I wish we had found Sabne's stables earlier in our visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Highly Professional and well organized”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

With grandchildren in tow, both my daughter and I were provided with horses which suited our abilities, and the guide allowed free reign in the method we choose to ride. Opportunities were provided to allow picture taking, galloping, cantering and thankfully later walking.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An exciting adventure in the beautiful mountains of Monteverde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Riding Sabine's smiling horses is quite a unique experience. Her horses are very well trained and good for all levels of riders. I have little experience riding horses, but was able to ride without any difficulty. The views Sabine's tour takes you to are breathtaking and very far to get to by foot. Horseback riding through the trails of monteverde allows you to see the multiple beautiful sights of monteverde on a time frame. I extremely reccomend Sabine's tours!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“6 hour ride/ waterfall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I are experienced riders and we thrilled to go on a longer ride with just a guide. What a ride! The views, the views and a waterfall!! This was my first experience with criollos, and I just loved their spark and willingness. We also hiked up to a gorgeous waterfall and enjoyed a swim. I will be back!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabine's Smiling Horses also viewed

 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Sabine's Smiling Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabine's Smiling Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.