We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Rica's Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel
Save Saved
You added Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
300m este del cruce Camino Sky Trek | Santa Elena, Monteverde, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Closed: Sept.16 to Nov.6
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Costa Rica's Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My girlfriend and I have just returned from an amazing trip to Costa Rica and the Hidden Canopies really was the highlight! From the moment we arrived we realised that two nights just wasn't going to be enough! We stayed in the Rising Sun treehouse which was stunning! A very secluded and spacious room set within the Cloud Forest itself which provided an even more perfect setting than we imagined.

Jenn, the owner, was the perfect host. The staff there couldn't do enough for us and the sunset tea really was quite wonderful and unique, offering fantastic views of both the Cloud Forest and the Gulf of Nicoya in the distance.

A stay here wouldn't be complete without a visit to the Argentinian Cafe where you can buy the most delicious truffles and take a chocolate tour with 'Bob'.

On our second and final night, Jen surprised us and had worked out how we could rearrange our plans and stay another night! We were absolutely overwhelmed and of course decided to stay. We were lucky enough to spend the third night in the Cloud Room, in the main house which again had wonderful views and was also very spacious and luxurious.

If you love cats and dogs, then this is definitely the place for you! The two dogs, Bonita and Gazu, will take you on a trail through the Cloud Forest, but be careful not to follow their own short cuts like we did! As for Pumpkin, Steven and Poppy the cats, well what can we say... they're all adorable!!

We both felt very fortunate to have been able to stay here and meet Jenn who has become a good friend, and who really is one of the most inspirational people we have ever met. We both wish her well in her continued vision of the Hidden Canopies.

If you are planning a trip Costa Rica and would like an unforgettable experience, then the Hidden Canopy is not to be missed.

A big thank you to Jenn, Gary, Natalia, Gio, Olman, Koky and the all of the staff for an unforgettable stay!!

Julie & Matt

Room Tip: We would definitely recommend staying in one of the treehouses!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    486
    24
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
80
343
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

So many good reviews, so many compliments on the host Jen the tours, the guides, the tea time and all of this is true. But there are also some points of criticism.... When you book this pace, you have to realise you are in the cloud forest. And this means you are literally in the cloud, it is misty and rainy, all the time. The views are misty too, only by the end of the day at sunset, it clears a bit, but soon after sunset you will be back in the rain cloud. The road up to the hotel is steep and muddy. the place is only accessible by car. if you don' t have one, you will always need a taxi to go in town or to go on a tour. you are in the tropics, however prepare yourself and bring enough warm clothes, it gets very cold up in the cloud. Bring a rain / wind jacket you do need it. As an experienced traveller I have stayed in many Boutique hotels all over the world. I would not categorise The Hidden Canopy Tree houses as a boutique hotel, it is a B&B where you have your private self standing tree house cabana. The tree houses are spacious with own private bathroom overlooking the trees, which is spectacular. However the fixtures, the furniture as well as the decoration are not of a very high standard. Although the bed was large, it was cracking, not fully flat and not very comfortable..... There is a small electric heater, but definitely not enough capacity to heat the spacious cabana. All over we had a great stay, but my expectations were very high based on the reviews and they did not all get satisfied.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carp, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife and I just came back from Costa Rica. It was our first visit to the country, and Hidden Canopy was our first stop. Well, the bar was set high! We stayed in the Glades. It was perfect. Not noisy at all (I feared this a bit when I booked, but Jenn reassured me). I actually cannot find anything negative to say about the place. The location is incredible. I loved the view of the Gulf of Nicoya. The staff was very helpful, including the guides that work with Jenn. Our room was quite large and roomy, very comfy. Breakfast was varied. Tea time was much appreciated.

Our only negatives had nothing to do with Jenn and her staff, or with the property itself. The trip from Liberia to the property was, for the most part, quite bumpy and not an enjoyable experience. Pino, our driver, was prudent though. Nature around the property is at its very best, but be warned that there are limited activities available. I would not plan more than a few days in Monteverde, unless you want to chill out. We found the dinner options (we ate in) to be limited, simple.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

The ultimate tree house experience
. Jenn is amazing, like a great mom, you take your shoes off, are not allowed to touch anything. Tea time is great with unlimited refills keep coming. Even when we came after the end of tea time we got served. Jenn has the recommendations, kiko took us on a trail and we saw groups of 4 cappuccino monkeys all around us. So many birds, each with their own stories. It is more important to explore the bat museum and the butterfly museum than to go on the zip lines. It does rain but go to the beach in Santa Teresa on the pacific coast afterwards.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

An incredible place, Jenn and her staff make you part of the family. The views are amazing and the "Eden" was the perfect place to surprise my wife for her 50th birthday. Jenn and the staff are quite accommodating, including arranging tours, guides and activities for you to experience the cloud forest. The guides are extremely knowledgeable and speak very good English. The late afternoon "tea" (includes beer, wine, and hot hors d'oeuvres) is a wonderful time to witness a memorable sunset over Nicoya Bay and reflect on your cloud forest experiences. The staff is also happy to arrange for dinner to be delivered directly to your room from town in case you sample too much evening "tea".

Room Tip: The tree houses are spectacular and a new one with 2 bedrooms should be ready in the next 4-6 weeks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our stay at The Hidden Canopy B&B was truly a warm experience. Even though the weather was not ideal Jen and her staff made us feel special and welcome in her home. And what a home! Spectacular views out amazing windows with open concept dinning. Loved the tree stump glass top tables.

We stayed in the Glade tree house and absolutely loved it. You really feel like you're in the cloud forest with more beautiful windows (even in the ceiling). Jen offered great advice for our stay in the Monteverde area and even gave us a tour of her newest (still under construction) treehouse. We did a hike on the property and our guide Bonita would only accept a scratch behind the ear as payment.

Thank you Jen, Gio, Olman, Natalia and the rest of the great staff for a fabulous stay.

Rick & Karen.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I found this place on Tripadvisor of course and knew based on how highly rated it is, we just had to stay. I booked several months early to ensure our spot. We stayed in the Eden treehouse. It was really neat. After a very long day of traveling and a seriously bumpy ride from the airport to Monteverde, we were so relieved to arrive and be greeted at the door by the staff. Conveniently, we arrived at Happy Hour/Tea Time and were taken right in to order drinks and meet a few people. Afterwards, we were given menus from local places that allowed us to order in and have it delivered to our room. This was nice since we were too tired to go out. The treehouses are really neat and unlike any other place we've ever been. Be warned though, this is at a high elevation and gets quite chilly and windy. We were pretty cold most of the time. Breakfast at Hidden Canopy is to die for; seriously the french toast is the best we'd ever eaten. Jenn is delightful and such an interesting individual. She is a true example of following one's heart and fulfilling dreams...rather inspirational. An extra bonus are the house pets.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel

Address: 300m este del cruce Camino Sky Trek | Santa Elena, Monteverde, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene atmosphere secluded in the forest canopy -- 5 luxurious treehouse chalets and 2 well-appointed rooms - all comfortably equipped with over-sized beds, living-room areas, fantasy waterfall showers, private balconies, coffee service, and mini-bar. Easy chalet access from platform walkways and ample opportunities for birding. Wireless Internet access, lending library and portable DVD players in the main house guest lounge. Full Costa Rican Breakfast and our renowned "Gulf-view Sunset Tea" with Sangria and snacks included in room price. Located near canopy tours and the Santa Elena Reserve. Reservation Hours - 9 AM to 7PM. Non-smoking property. PLEASE NOTE: We do not receive children under the age of 14 . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel Monteverde, Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.