We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality of tour better than their coffee” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Don Juan Coffee Tour

Don Juan Coffee Tour
2 Km noroeste de Plaza de futbol, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
+506 2645 6858
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monteverde Costa Rica is one of the best areas where you will have the chance to learn about the cultivation and the processes, of how an authentic coffee that was used as far back as our grandparent’s generation is made. The tour was developed in an environment that stands out as one of the best in our culture and tradition; a tradition that has made this country one of progress and peace. The tour lasts for about 2 hours and it includes typical snacks and the option of an authentic home-made lunch.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Quality of tour better than their coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The tour itself was excellent. Our guide spoke perfect English and provided an excellent explanation and demonstration of the coffee making process. Unfortunately, the taste of their coffee was a disappointment. I find that their coffee has this unpleasant bitter aftertaste. It's the same bitterness that I recognized from the coffee provided in our hotel rooms (also a Don Juan coffee). I had mentioned it to our Costa Rican tour guide (with Gate 1) and he shrugged and said that his favourite coffee is from Doka Estate. I got to try Doka coffee a few days later, and true enough, it was much nicer than Don Juan. I would not recommend the Don Juan Coffee tour because of the poor quality of their coffee.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    45
    6
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norton Shores, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Coffie tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was the best every. If you are in the area, please take a tour here. The coffee is wonderful and the tour was so fun and informative. My only regret is that I didn't buy enough coffee.
The cart ride was good too.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Fascinating Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had lunch here, followed by an extensive tour of the Coffee Farm, learning about the growing and processing of coffee, sugar cane, and chocolate.
Our guide was very personable, and many parts of the tour were hands-on, with us operating various primitive processing machines from the past. Recommended!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I went on this tour. It is extremely informative. The guides are knowledgable and funny. There is coffee, chocolate and sugar cane tastings.
I learned so much about coffee, and to see where the actually produce their coffee is pretty cool.
Must do.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Coffee is just the beginning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We learned about the cultivation, harvesting and processing of pure sun dried Costa Rican coffee.
We also learned about cocoa production and sugar cane! During the tour we made our own lemonade from freshly pressed sugar cane. We were also treated to chocolate covered bananas and fresh made chocolate milk

Our tour guide was really great- she did a super job. We also got a chance to meet Don Juan who founded the company that sells all of their products on site and also on the internet

***** Rating!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Juan Coffee Tour also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Don Juan Coffee Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Juan Coffee Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.