We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mariposa Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Mariposa Bed & Breakfast
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 5657, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

I chose Mariposa because of all the positive feedback I read on Trip Advisor but my partner and I were greatly disappointed.
We had just gotten back from Drake Bay on the Osa Peninsula where for $55.00 a night, we had a very romantic bangalow overlooking the jungle, which included a menu where you could choose a variety of breakfast items. We had a deck, a couple of hammocks, a huge beautiful bathroom, etc....
When we arrived at Mariposa, we were checked in by a 12 year old child who gave us a key. The cabin was very basic,all material used very cheap with no charm whatsover. My boyfriend wanted to take a shower but the water never warmed up; I run to the office where I was told that you had to let the shower run very slowly at first in order to get warm water; of course, it would have been helpful to be told that fact when we first checked in.
Breakfast was very basic, either 3 pancakes or a couple of scrambled eggs with 2 pieces of toast; I had to get up to ask for another cup of coffee.
I read that the family who owns the place is very friendly and helpful but we never expereienced that.
I wouldn't stay there again,
We stayed at Arenal in a youth hostel and had a wonderul experience compared to Mariposa; the 2 days stay was very impersonal.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    41
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
94
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

We spent our first two nights in Costa Rica at Mariposa. In all our travels, we have never experienced more gracious service. Esteban and his family were not only very friendly but extremely helpful with directions (we drove on our own) and also helped booked a fantastic guide named Ricardo for the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. We stayed in the two bedroom cottage which featured a spacious sitting area, a full kitchen and even a washing machine. Being outside of town in a peaceful location was also the right choice for a family with children.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

This is certainly a gem of a place. The Vargas family is just wonderful. Estban is the most gracious host you will ever meet.

The location is fantastic. The rooms are clean and basic. The breakfast great and the price is great.

TIP: When driving if you came in on the road from the Pan American through Santa Elena and are going back that way, take the road that comes in on the Monteverde Road just beyond this B&B back to the Pan American. There is a sign that says somthing about the University of Georgia. It is actually better than the main road ( slightly) and more scenic as well as not having to retrace the same road. It eventually reconnects with the main road to the Pan American.

If you are driving in some miles after the road becomes gravel, you will come to a fork. The road to the left goes to Santa Elena. To the right ( also with a sign for the University of Georgia) is the above mentioned road that goes directly to the Maroposa B&B.

The only thing I would do is put up a couple of coat hooks as there was no place to hang anything. No closets.

What a great place!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Mariposa during the "rainy" season. While the white knuckle ride from Arenal had me on edge (and the driver not being sure where Mariposa was located) I was immediately put at ease upon arrival. Esteban is the kindest and most helpful person we met during our travels. Prior to our arrival he was very responsive via email and eager to help us make the most of our time in Monteverde. The rooms are small but are clean and have everything you need for your stay. You are surrounded on all sides by lush gardens and trees. The howler monkeys are the only alarm clock you need! Esteban makes a great breakfast (get the pancakes!) and his wife is so charming as well. You feel right at home in the main building. They had endless brochures for the activities in the area and great restaurant suggestions. We went everywhere on foot, which was exciting and invigorating. Should you choose to take a cab, most destinations are a short trip away, and many attractions provide shuttle service to and from the hotel. I can't say enough about how great the Mariposa is. No frills, but they aren't needed. The surroundings and the staff are more than enough. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

we spent only one night in the Monteverde area and Mariposa was the perfect spot. Esteban was incredibly helpful and gracious, pointing us in all the right directions and working with us to work around our tight travel schedule. He was a delight and great help. The rooms were simple but perfectly fitting with the rainforest surrounding it. In January the winds are very strong in Costa Rica and we felt very cozy and safe in our cabin-like room. A good price for the lodging coupled with a great breakfast to start the day off right. As long as you remember you've come all that way to be amongst nature, you'll appreciate Mariposa for everything it is and anything it may not be.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Mariposa is a very small family operation, and Esteban and Sergio--the brothers with whom we interacted most of the time--are awesome. They're happy to call to arrange tours or talk to you about whatever else. Monteverde/Santa Elena is a very small town, and they grew up there and know everything and everybody. They don't have a website (Esteban said they're working on it), so you'll have to google to find out their email address. It's fairly inexpensive, maybe because it's not as easy to find as some of the places.

The breakfast was fairly basic and typical costa rica: pineapple and melon, pancakes or huevos revueltos, OJ, and gallo pinto. It was satisfying enough, although not the most memorable part of the visit.

The rooms are also very basic, but it was just right for our three-day trip to Monteverde. As far as I could see, they have the one house for rent, then a little building with three rooms in a row, and then the main house where breakfast is served (which seems to be the house where they live).

Mariposa is in walking distance (withing 20 mins) of: Bosque Nuboso reserve, Cheese Factory, Bat Cave Attraction/Cafe Cabure, Children's Eternal Rainforest. It's a few miles from Santa Elena, although there are several options to get to the town if you don't have a car.

Mariposa would normally be a bit rustic for us, but we might stay here again next time because of the location personal touch.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

This is the very first time I am writing a review, but this B&B deserves it. The Vargas family, who own the place is EXTREMELY nice and service is excellent. The rooms are clean. We were two couples traveling together and we stayed for 2 nghts in the 2-bedroom apartment whch is on the property. It has a nice wrap-around balcony with fantastic wooded view. They serve hot breakfast in the mornings. I could not believe the ates were so inexpensive for such an awesome place. We also had our clothes laundered for $8.00 per average load. Esteban even lets you use his computer for internet and emails.

We had a car so we could drive to town (5 mins) for our meals, but that could be something for anyone without a car to consider as there are no restaurants within walking distance. Otherwise, it is very very close to Monteverde reserve and Children's Eternal Rain Forest.

I VERY HIGHLY RECCOMMEND THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariposa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Bed & Breakfast

Address: Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 5657, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located at only 1.5 km or 1 mile from the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mariposa Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Mariposa Bed And Breakfast
Mariposa Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.