We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice Monteverde spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mariposa Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Mariposa Bed & Breakfast
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 5657, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
kensington ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice Monteverde spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

we enjoyed our stay at this friendly, economical and conveniently located hotel. It is one of the closest hotels to the actual reserve, and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We found that more than 2 days in Monteverde was too much fo rus, so we left 1 night sooner than we had planned. All in all, we were happy with our stay and visit.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    41
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
94
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

the rooms are clean and cozy, if you get to monteverde by car i will recommend it, , breakfast is not so good!
staff is very friendly, the monteverde reserve is ony 2 km from the hotel, and santa elena town is about 15 minutes drive, treehouse restaurant recommended in santa elena for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

If you want a mountain lodge feel, this is the place. It is very close to the park, although the town is a good 15 minute car ride. Esteban was very nice and always very accommodating. The room is very simple so if you are looking for amenities, go elsewhere. It would have helped if they at least would have supplied shampoo. Also, our bathroom was tiny, with no shelves or hooks anywhere. The hooks were outside in the bedroom (5) and there was no closet although there were some shelves available. A fridge in the room would have been great, but Esteban offered their fridge for our baby's food. Breakfast was good, not huge but adequate. There is wifi only in the reception area. Very nice and quiet!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My father and husband and I were looking for something a little more cozy and rustic, and this place is just great. There are two rooms in our apartment style rental, which has a kitchen. Everything is wooden and cozy and Eco friendly. Esteban greeted us and gave us many great recommendations for activities, and the food in the morning is wholesome and the coffee is great. We came at the end of the rainy season so it was a little chilly and damp everywhere including our rooms but that just can't be helped. We would happily come back here, perhaps for longer so we could better utilize having a full kitchen.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Mariposa B&B just for one night in November 2012. We are happy to have chosen Mariposa. Small and very personal. Esteban and all of the people were very nice and helpful. Breakfast was great, great price and value.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Mariposa Bed and Breakfast for 3 nights and fell in love with the place. The land-scaping is very pretty and the location is perfect. To go to Santa Elena town, a cab ride is only $3, $4 with tip. If you like to walk and enjoy the scenery, the town and pretty much everything else is within walking distance. Mariposa is a family-owned business. Esteban and his family were super nice and very polite. They helped us with booking activities and made sure that we felt comfortable. Rooms were kept clean and pretty every day. They changed the towels and made our beds everyday. Breakfast was great. I have nothing but good things to say about Mariposa. I highly recommend it and if i were to go back to Monteverde/Santa Elena, I'd definitely stay there again. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a sweet family run bed-and-breakfast. Very clean spacious rooms with a nice view of the jungle and hummingbirds. The $50 for the night was a bargain mainly because the breakfast consisted of some wonderful homemade bread toasted. One does not find that very often. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was small but spick and span. It is a short drive down to a wonderful Italian restaurant named Tramonte. Also nearby is a class act bakery called Stella's- do go there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariposa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Bed & Breakfast

Address: Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 5657, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located at only 1.5 km or 1 mile from the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mariposa Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Mariposa Bed And Breakfast
Mariposa Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.