We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zip lines” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Park and Hotel Vista Golfo

Save Saved
You added Adventure Park and Hotel Vista Golfo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adventure Park and Hotel Vista Golfo
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Tajo Alto, Miramar 5550, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Miramar B&B and Inns
1 review
“Zip lines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Excellent tour. Guides are great. Breath taking views. Very peacefull and wonderfully fun!!! The number of lines exceeds any other tour. The owners.are very nice and strive to make your stay the best possible. Would do it again in heart beat.

John and stacey

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    36
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
59
81
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Salonga, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We spent Thursday evening to Monday morning. We did about everything except the ATV ride.
To break it down
Zip lines: It was Amazing. We did it one time in St.Lucia and there is no comparison. Here you follow the river downstream. Crossing and re-crossing. The break in the middle at a waterfall-swimming hole was great fun and very welcome. For anyone who might be nervous, these guys are the BEST! The other places send their guys here to get trained. It is a month long course.
The High Ropes: These will challenge you to the level you want. It is 3 separate courses,each a bit harder. If you don't rely on your safety harness (You do have to have it hooked) it can be very hard. But,with some help even my 16 y.o. daughter did it. The Tarzan swing is great fun, You will do it more that once!
The Super Man : 1/2 mile long head first speed trip! We did it twice. The 2nd day we did it , there was no wind so I had to release a drag chute at the end to help slow me down.
Side note - EVERY Zipline here has a special breaking system that the owner original invented.
Cloud Forest : We had a great time. The views and pictures we got are amazing.
The Rooms: Folks,this is an eco type resort,not a 5 star Hilton. The rooms were VERY clean and the view can not be beat. The shower took a bit to figure out the hot water. There is a small electric heater attached to the shower head. You have to finesse between the amount of flow and the heat of the water. If you like to stand in a steamy hot shower, it's not gonna happen.
The Food. We found it to be very good. Not write home about,but always enjoyable and filling after a long day of adventure.
The Staff/Guides: Because we spent several days we got to know them . All were always very nice and friendly and checking for our safety.
One man was special - Cristian/Chris We met him on the Zip line and then he ended up being our guide to the Cloud Forest. It was great as it is was just the my Wife,Daughter and I ,with him. We had lunch with him at the little inn up top and he selected our lunch items, He described what each was. It really was one of our best meals over our while stay. He took time with us to point out interesting (and tasty) things. Took pictures with us and more. We made a new friend on our visit.
I have to talk about the horses from the one bad review of the self described novice. I talked to Barb about them. I went and looked at them all and saw how they were treated and cared for. Yes.The older horses may look skinny,older horses almost always are. These horses are FAR from being overworked or abused. They are used for only ONE trip a day.The trip is up the mountain but only about 45min. She never gets "rid" of an old horse. They are retired and used as companion animals for the foals after they are weaned from their mothers. Every horse had a name. NO over weight riders are allowed. I had to get on a scale and I'm not even close to the limit. One guy had to take the truck up.
To sum up.
Great fun, amazing views,clean rooms and friendly staff. Now book it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Getting to the hotel was a challenge for us since we forgot to print directions. Lucky for us there are signs on the side of the road pointing you in the correct direction (sadly they do not tell you how far to the hotel). When you start to think “are we still going the correct direction” another sign shows up encouraging to you to continue. Once we got to the place and went into the reception/restaurant area all of our frustrations of the drive melted away with the gorgeous view. We had purchased the Gold package with 2 additional nights. The package includes dinner one night, horseback to the top of the ziplines, the 25 zipline tour, lunch after the tour and breakfast in the morning.

We were told when we booked our package that the age requirement to ride the horses was 8yrs old and that the weight limit to ride was 200 pounds. This was a bit of an issue for us since our 7yr old son wanted to ride a horse to the top, no worries the staff was able to come up with a great compromise.

The night we checked in we had our dinner that was included in the package. There aren’t words enough to express how great this meal was. It was perfect and so very delicious. I would highly recommend the Marlin in Garlic. After dinner we went back to our room which was just across from the restaurant on the second floor. The room was very nice with a large bed for us (queen or king, not sure which), bunk beds for the kids in a nice large room and large bathroom. This room also comes with a huge deck that overlooks the horse prep area and the restaurant. Many people wouldn’t find this room “perfect” but we did. It allowed the children to watch every morning as the staff got the horses ready for the day. This was the highlight of our 7yr olds mornings. He would run out to the deck as soon as he heard the horses coming and would sit out there watching as the guys got the horses ready and talk to anyone that would answer him (remember our son doesn’t really speak Spanish and some of the staff doesn’t speak English).

He met a wonderful man named Al that tried to answer all of his questions while still getting his work done. Al was so wonderful to our family especially our boys. At breakfast our darling 7yr old requested “frampled eggs” instead of picking scrambled or fried. I thought for sure this was going to be an issue since in my opinion he was being difficult but Chris (one of the staff) took it in stride and asked the boy “what is that exactly” when our son said it was both fried and scrambled, Chris went off to the kitchen and explained what the boy wanted. I was so very amazed when Chris brought out his “frambled eggs” and they were exactly how my son wanted them.

After breakfast we got a safety talk from George about what we should or shouldn’t take on the zipline tour. We were so happy to find out that Chris would also be joining us as a guide on the tour. After everyone was given a horse that was going to ride up there were a few extra horses still in the corral. This was wonderful because our 7yr old was taken down to the horses and was allowed to ride around the corral a bit. This was wonderful since it was his first time on a horse and he was bummed before this that he wasn’t going to get to ride a horse. The horses are great and are not normal trail horses, they do follow the trail without issue but they also have a personality of their own that you do no normally see in trail horses. This was great for our family since our oldest child (11yrs) hadn’t been on a horse before either and this gave him a better idea of how a horse really is than a normal trail horse would have.

Once at the top of the ziplines we were geared up and given another light hearted safety talk. Afterwards, it was time to start the tour. Our 11yr old requested to go first and everyone allowed him to do so. Next was our 7yr old, after the 7yr old went all the rest of us decided we couldn’t back out if he could do it so could the rest of us. The guides were so wonderful, friendly and an overall joy to spend the day with. When we got back to the restaurant, there was a wonderful and filling lunch waiting for us.

The next two days there were also awesome (even if nothing else compared to the zipline tour), we did the low level course, played in the spring fed pool, walked a bunch of the trails and spent a night in the restaurant with others watching the basketball playoffs. Overall, this is place is a treasure to find. Thank you Barbara, Sasha, Al, George, Chris and everyone else for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

If you are capable of moderate physical activity, you have got to take this tour! Wow! My two teenage children and I went on the full day excursion and it was the best tour we took in Costa Rica. I credit this totally to the young men that were our tour guides and the zipline course itself. They were outstanding and made the day extremely fun, exciting, safe, and a learning experience!
We started out on horseback, which was not your typical follow-the-leader, boring ride that I've experienced before. The horses did follow eachother, but they had personality and we went up and down very steep hills to get to the entrance of the rainforest. All of our rear-ends were sore the next day. ha ha! My son was approaching the weight limit (very strict limit) and he had to ride in the truck instead of horseback. I was concerned that he would be disappointed, but actually, he said they had a great time!!
The ziplining crew were the best of the best! I cannot applaud them enough!! The actual course is in the thick of the rainforest and so beautiful, much more nature than I expected. The pictures in the Swiss travel brochure simply do not do this tour justice.
Thanks so much to the tour guides!!!!!!

Room Tip: We did not stay at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

It was my b-day so my parents and husband decided to surprise me with a adventure tour. We started with a horse ride, then we went to the most beautiful canopy tour I have ever done ( and I've done 3 or 4) that include rapel, waterfall views and you can even dive into a natural pool in the forest. We saw monkeys, toucans and butterfly. All the crew is very friendly and warm, definetly they handle themselves in a "pura vida" mood. Everything finish with a delicious costarrican lunch!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We came for 2 nights after a great Caravan tour, and it was the highlight of our vacation. We are 60+ and were so excited to zipline for the first time. Now we're spoiled! The staff was so helpful, encouraging and made everyone feel safe. The 11 waterfalls tour is really over falls the whole way! Our room had a wonderful view, the food was good, the horses were alert, and everyone who works here is warm and friendly. We expected the road to be rough, but it was very good!

Room Tip: I think they are all good, but rooms 1 and 2 have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

With easy pick up and drop off included, we chose the canopy and horseback tour and were so happy that we booked through these guys.

The adventures were epic and the staff were all so knowledgeable, experienced and certified, and so such FUN!! This was a highlight of our week spent in Costa Rica. The property is beautiful and we wished we would have booked our stay here as well.

The canopy tour was long, but so exciting! It's fast paced to get through all 25 ziplines and 11 waterfalls and the views are exceptional. The horseback riding is more free and rugged than I expected- loved that! The staff that went with us all had unique personalities and did their best to entertain us while maintaining the safety guidelines, lead by the man in charge, Jorge! He was so sweet and fun.

Thank you guys for the adventures and memories!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adventure Park and Hotel Vista Golfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Park and Hotel Vista Golfo

Address: Tajo Alto, Miramar 5550, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Miramar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Miramar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adventure Park and Hotel Vista Golfo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adventure Park and Hotel Vista Golfo is a gateway to adventure in Costa Rica. The peaceful resort with a magnificent view over the Gulf of Nicoya offers a great source of outdoor entertainment. Its unique Waterfall Canopy Tour over 11 Waterfalls is the attraction for adventure loving people. A second Canopy Tour includes one of the longest cables in Costa Rica,an ATV- Funpark, Horseback riding and the only High- Ropes Course in Costa Rica complete the range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Adventure Park and Hotel Vista Golfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Park And Hotel Vista Golfo Costa Rica/Miramar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Park and Hotel Vista Golfo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.