We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely out of the way retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge Ylang Ylang

Save Saved
You added Lodge Ylang Ylang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lodge Ylang Ylang
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Peninsula de Nicoya | De la cancha de deportes de Cóbano, 1 km al norte, Manzanillo 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely out of the way retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Beautiful rooms, swimming pool a lovely place to hang out. Owner Olivier is very friendly and helpful (fluent in French and Spanish). About 10 mins walk to a great (though shade free) beach. They do a nice dinner, or other places to eat just a few minutes' drive away. A bit hard to get to (only accessible by nearly an hours drive on a dirt track, need a 4x4) but lovely destination.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This review is not a rip on Ylang Ylang I just turly think my wife and I were a "case in circumstances". Everyone there was very nice and the food was excellent and was part of the package. The pool was fun, and is in a beautiful spot. This place is for someone who wants to be pampered 24/7. I had originally planned on staying on their other site El Sano Banano. The price was better and seemed nice just without all the accomidations. It was full, and so I decided to spend out of our range, spoil ourselves for our last 3 nights in CR, and booked a room in the beach front rooms which were beautiful. The last night we stayed in the fully accomidated tents for ~$165. The problem arose when it started raining and we layed in a tent that dripped water on our bed all night. When we told the staff all we got was, "Sorry, it hasn't rained for 6 months, we will get that fixed." Fortunatley for everyone else I know that will be taken care of. The disappointing part was we are backpackers and have two tents at home that would have withstood that 1 hr. rain storm. I feel a resort like this one would have offered some sort of compensation to us, then fixed the problem. We probably will stay somewhere else in Monteuma next trip for a lesser price.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are at the end of the property and have a very nice view for the price compare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prouteau, Public Relations Manager at Lodge Ylang Ylang, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Hello Travisab

You posted your comment in the wrong Ylang Ylang. This is the Lodge Ylang Ylang not the resort in Montezuma that has nothing to do with us.

We are located in Manzanillo, in a private and exclusive 12.3 acres property very close from Santa Teresa and Malpaìs. We have 5 bungalows, swimming pool, a suspension bridge, spa, restaurant a trail to the beach and much more all surrounded by lush vegetation

We`re sorry to hear your trip (stay) wasnt the best. Our Lodge has its doors open for you anytime.

Regards

Lodge Ylang Ylang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We have had a great stay at the Lodge Ylang Ylang and extended our stay from 2 to 5 nights as we were so amazed by this place. The bungalows are beautiful, the owner is very charming, the French cook prepares delicious dinners, the pool is lovely, nature is amazing - you will not want to leave this little paradise on earth!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Ever dreamed of living in your own tree house, in a jungle, near a secluded beach, but with all the comforts of a boutique hotel and the warm hospitality of staying with friends? Then Ylang Ylang lodge is for you too!
Stroll through the jungle with monkeys howling down to a long sandy beach, just the two of you, then walk on the warm, soft sand of this deserted beach, collecting sea shells and photographing crabs, ride gentle waves in warm waters before returning to your lodge for a dip in the pool. Retire to your own treehouse to watch the amazing sunset from the rocking chairs of your private balcony overlooking the forrest and the sea. Relax in your hamac, watch one of your favorite movies on the DVD in your room, then walk down to the main lodge for a gourmet candlelit dinner...It was paradise for us!
Everything at Ylang Ylang is romantic, secluded, the luxury so rare nowadays of being alone amidst quiet beauty, yet pampered...
In addition, our host drove us to an amazing sea lake to snorkle, and to the neighby village to have our four by four repaired, so helpful.
We will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We had a great stay at Ylang Ylang Lodge. Very charming with open air 2 floor bungalows. A bit of wildlife might get invited to your bungalow here and there, but dont worry nothing uncomfortable. FANTASTIC chef at night for dinner. Even if you dont stay there, go for dinner! Nice pool and beautifull sunset. Close to Santa Terese but far enough to keep it "exotic" and quiet. Thank you to Olivier for letting us feel at home!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2006

This place is amazing, situated in the perfect location on the coast. There are several bungalow style rooms that make the resort seem surreal. I would recommend this place because of the location (close to Mal Pais, but not in this overcrowded town), and the style of the lodge.

  • Liked — The bungalows and the staff was really cool
  • Disliked — It was far from san jose, but worth it!
  • Tips/Secrets — Go here! You'll love it!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lodge Ylang Ylang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Ylang Ylang

Address: Peninsula de Nicoya | De la cancha de deportes de Cóbano, 1 km al norte, Manzanillo 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge Ylang Ylang 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge Ylang Ylang ... the perfect place where quality, privacy and comfort combine to offer our guests an unforgettable experience surrounded by lush vegetation and one of the most beautiful beaches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Lodge Ylang Ylang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge Ylang Ylang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.