We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kapi Kapi

Kapi Kapi
Kilometer 5, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
777-5049
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Upscale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The food was very good and gourmet. Best to make reservations because it was the most crowded of all the restaurants we went to. Portions seemed smaller than the other restaurants but the atmosphere was really nice

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    371
    140
    62
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Nice view, but very empty, we were the only people there, and it was also very expensive. The food was alright, but not worth the money we paid. We ordered an appetizer, 2 main meals, and a dessert for over $100.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yummy sangria and chocolate souffle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had dinner at Kapi Kapi in June, so the restaurant was pretty quiet. However, the service was very nice -- elegant and professional, but still warm and friendly. Our food was very tasty. The hi-lights were the sangria and the chocolate souffle. We especially liked the way the restaurant was set back with soft lighting up the walkway and stairs to get to the restaurant - very romantic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersvile
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Meal We Had In Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We ate here on our first night in Costa Rica. I wish that we had waited a day or two, because it was hard for any of the other resteraunts to measure up. The seafood was fresh and tasty, Service was excellent. My daughter is a vegaterian and wanted Pad Thai, but which is usually made with fish sauce. They made a special order for her which she loved.

I highly recommend that anyone visiting Manuel Antonio eating here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dinner was fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here on Sept 20th. We asked our hotel to make a reservation but it wasn't really needed as this was low season. There as one other table occupied when we arrived on the Friday evening. We had the seafood cigars, good, kind of like a seafood egg roll, the seared tuna, it was ok and we had the calamari, this was the weakest dish. All in all the food was just ok, on par with our hotel, Arenas Del Mar.

Coming from Orange County Ca we have a lot of choices for fresh fish and while the ambiance was very nice and the service was excellent, we thought the food was just ok.

Costa Rica is not really known for it's food. So if I take the meal in the context of the surroundings then it was good.
It's a nice fancy place for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kapi Kapi also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Kapi Kapi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapi Kapi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.