We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hy Paradise Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hy Paradise Inn to your Saves list
Hy Paradise Inn
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Carretera Manuel Antonio Km 3 Frente Rest. Mar Luna | in front of Mar Luna 50 mts North of school, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Small room, but nicely decorated and lots of shelves for luggage. There's a small refrigerator and AC, although the AC was more like a fan. It didn't cool the room enough. I had a wonderful view of the jungle. My room was quiet, but my friends complained of being awakened by jungle animal sounds. I anticipated bugs in the room, but there weren't any. Yay! There is a great bar/restaurant right across the street, a nice grocery store and bakery up the hill, but otherwise you can't walk to anything. The hotel is half way between Quepos and Manuel Antonio. You'll want to spend time in both places. The "pool" at the hotel is big enough for three people.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicagojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Hello, The Hotel is really basic, but it has a good location and good service (recepcionist).

The room was really clean, and it is a good option if you going to Manuel Antonio, beacuse is really close, and the Hotel is only for sleeping!

If you stay here, go to Mar Luna, the bar just in front, great service, and really fun talking with the chef and bartender!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRJR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Nice place especially if your planning on visiting Manuel Antonio Park. If your not in your room much and only looking for a place to refresh and sleep this is the place. The rooms were actually very clean and our view was of the rain forest. There was a local spider monkey that lived next to the Inn that would howl every night..gave the place a nice jungle feel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Metropolitan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

My Husband and I stayed at BabaLoo Inn for two nights during a four week trip around Costa Rica. We turned up looking for a room and they only had one large apartment on the top floor left. As there were only two of us and when we promised to pay cash we were given a good discount. The apartment was large with a full kitchen, wrap around balcony, two beds (sleeping 3) and a good sized bathroom. The apartment was clean. As with some other accommodation in Costa Rica we found that maintenance was not given top priority and little things like blown light bulbs had not been replaced and a strange assortment of crockery was provided. As the apartment came with a full kitchen, breakfast was not provided. This is generally not a problem in Costa Rica but the small store in Manuel Antonio was unbelievably expensive and many things were not even priced. If you need provisions buy them in Quepos as you drive through! The major problem at BabaLoo Inn is the parking. Guests are expected to park in lines one behind the other. This is fine until someone wants to go out at the front of the line and the other drivers can’t be found. We offered our car keys to the front desk as we were going out for the evening and they weren’t even interested! I am sure many people get stuck in when they were intending on going out. A good choice for middle of the road accommodation at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moose-groupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

The location of the Babaloo Inn is great- within walking distance to the bus stop that can take you to Manuel Antonio National Park and the beaches. The bus also goes past all the restaurants on the main street.

There wasn't anything good about the rooms, but a place to sleep. There was a dead gecko outline on the bathroom door which was a little freaky-- didn't seem like anyone tried to clean it. You are in the jungle so geckos are everywhere, but they were a little too everywhere for my liking.

The pool is awful. Very small and not worth going to. If you're looking for a cheap place to stay w good location and no amenities, its ok.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ejltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Hook, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Just got back from a great trip to Costa Rica with a friend . I booked this hotel based on Lonely Planet and recomendations from here. Upon entering our room it was VERY musty. Since it had A.C. I figuered it would clear up when we got back from the beach.
After the beach we came back and showered ( No hot water). O.K. it was hot and humid so a cold shower wasn't that bad. We then went to dinner. Got back around 7:30. Found the A.C. was too noisy to run, The door to the balcony had no screen so only a small wondow was available for airflow. After 15- 20 min trying to read my book under a very harsh ceiling light, with the musty smell we asked to see a different room. it was the same. When i inquired about how much the room was for the night and he said $ 69
I knew we needed to find something else. We packed up to leave and while putting our things in the car the night guy called us over. He called the owner who offered to take off $10 dollars and move us to a suite. They were better but still a bit musty. the women Fay,
I found to be very rude. We left and found another place closer to the beach that was much nicer. ( It was a $120 room we got for the same $ 70 inc. breakfast). The bar at the place had a band and pool tables. Was a much better experience.

Summary.
Room was VERY musty, loud A.C. with wires hanging off, no Hot water, Glaring overhead light.
If you go during summer, ( rainy season) there were lots of vacancies so you can go
without a reservation and look around for a good deal.

To the owner,
Tear out the carpets- they are the problem
Put in a screen door for the deck
Make sure the hot water is on
Replace ancient A.C.
Put in a small reading lamp
lower price during low season

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

We were in Manuel Antonio one of the busiest weeks of the year, over Easter! We were lucky to find a room at Babloo Inn. Our room was great, I think #6. We over looked the woods and if you sat quietly on the porch you could a large amount of wildlife. We saw at least a dozen monkey eating the mangos early one morning. Iguana's throughout the day. It was great. Be careful at night the bugs will fly into your room if the lights are on in your room and it is dark outside when coming in from the porch! The refrigerators in the room are GREAT to have along with the coffee maker and Cafe Milagro coffee. Cafe Milagro is within walking distance for breakfast, hightly recommended! There is also a super market with in walking distance (Super Josef) where you can purchase drinks for the beach, etc. The restaurant across the street is very good, as is the tapas restaurant down the street near cafe milagro. All within walking distance. You can take the public bus to the beach.

While at the Babaloo Inn I left some things in a drawer, and THEY CONTACTED ME TO TELL ME!!! I have left things in other hotels and they have never been found again. They were happy to hold on to the things until I could have someone pick them up for me. THANK YOU SO MUCH! The staff is quiet friendly and helpful, but this was going out of the way. Watch out for falling mangos, they are delicious however!!!!

We went horsebackriding on the beach with iguana tours, would highly recommend this. Went on the vanilla farm tour, also very enjoyable if you like gardening or are a foodie!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank balancedliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#18 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio
Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Ant...
#21 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#16 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#8 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#35 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#25 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hy Paradise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hy Paradise Inn

Address: Carretera Manuel Antonio Km 3 Frente Rest. Mar Luna | in front of Mar Luna 50 mts North of school, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hy Paradise Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hy Paradise Inn, relax and enjoy both of our facilities, including swimming pool and gardens built in the jungle and the magnificent setting featuring Manuel Antonio and large animal diversity that occasionally comes to visit. As the monkeys or sloth that delight children and adults In the vicinity is very close to our hotel, bars with live music, cafes, restaurants, pizzerias, casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hy Paradise Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hy Paradise Inn Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing