We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet, friendly helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Villas Lirio

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Villas Lirio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Villas Lirio
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Next to Manuel Antonio School in Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 5000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet, friendly helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I decided to stay an extra night in Manuel Antonio but my original hotel had no rooms available. I switched to the Lirio because it had rooms. The staff was friend and very helpful. The rooms were nicely appointed and quiet. Some have pointed out that irons dark and the garden appears overgrown. I actually like it. It was a nice respite from the heat. As unmentioned the rooms were well appointed. Much better than the ocean view hotel I stayed at. I would definitely stop by again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
19
21
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The staff was wonderful and went out of their way to make sure that we were happy. The food and drinks were fantastic.The rooms spacious and clean. We were very pleased and I highly recommend this hotel. Manuel Antonio is a steep place and most hotels are not built on flat land, this hotel is not the exception. So if you have a hard time with stairs, I do not recommend it. Manuel Antonio is very crowded during the holiday season, choose a different time to come. We were so overwhelmed with the crowds that this hotel was a saving grace.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antioch, ca
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

After our stay in a beautiful, outdoorsy resort with views of Arenal Volcano, I felt we were trapped in darkness. The decor was Mediterranean and very attractive but there were no views, the back opened up into an enclosed, hot patio. The front window looked out onto a very pretty porch with comfortable seating, but the outlook was toward a planted "jungle" that surrounded the pool. There was no sunlight in the room and no view of the ocean, which was just across the street. For just a few dollars more, we could have stayed at a resort acorss the street, with views and outdoor amenities. With the exception of front desk, the personnel were typical of Costa Rica... charming and friendly!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

nice hotel with nice garden and pool, but it is on the main road with lots of buses and cars, and need taxi (expensive) or car/shuttle to reach the beach. I would rather stay on beach hotels next time

Room Tip: enjoy the park and the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The hotel has a very retro seventies tropical atmosphere. The rooms are pretty and spacious, but dark. The pool was refreshing, but the patio furniture was a bit shabby and the bar area needed dustng, really. The buffet breakfast was nice-- typically Costa Rican fare of eggs, rice and beans, toast, juice, fruit and coffee or tea. The restaurant staff were very attentive and helpful, but the front desk staff were a little scattered. If you stay for dinner, I highly recommend the tuna. A lot of construction was occurring during our stay and it looked like the place is being spruced up for the near future. Overall, a worthwhile stay if you are easy going and flexible.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Our tour group of 13 stayed at the property in March 2012 for two nights. The rooms were ok but dark and stuffy. We ran the air conditioner most of the time. The grounds seemed a bit overgrown and could use some thinning. Perhaps the idea was to create a jungle effect but I found that too dark as well. The pool area was nice. The breakfast was a joke. While good they served substandard portions. For example, they allow 4 items from the menu. I ordered a waffle which came out the size of a silver dollar. The bacon was about a quarter length of a normal piece. The fruit was on a skewer and the best option. Hash browns and toast were ok. I wish they would just up the price of the room a few dollars and give you a decent sized breakfast. There is a market about 300 meters away if needed. Again the restaurant was dark and stuffy and hot. We observed mosquitoes inside the bar area. Staff was friendly but the main reason why our tour group stayed here was the close proximity to Manuel Antonio National Park. Would recommend only for that reason.

Room Tip: I believe if you want to stay by the pool choose rooms 15 to 18. There is a small lap pool behind o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton, quebec
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I had lunch recently at the Canopy Restaurant - related to the hotel.
Beautiful surroundings greet you to a lovely setting. We had a pre-arranged lunch, so it was pretty basic. The waiters seemed confused but pleasant. I would like to return soon and try something else on their menu. I would recommend this place when you are visiting this area. Unfortunately low construction disrupted our lunch. I only lunched there not stayed there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Villas Lirio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Villas Lirio

Address: Next to Manuel Antonio School in Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 5000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Villas Lirio 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from it all! Tropical gardens adorning two crystalline pools. Villas Lirio offers 12 rooms with two queen-size beds and 12 rooms with a single queen bed. There are also 2 fully-equipped suites. The hotel offers restaurant service. Each room is tastefully decorated with queen-size beds, ceiling fans, air conditioning and private bathrooms with hot water. The area of Manuel Antonio/Quepos offers plenty of activities, including snorkeling, surfing, rafting, nature hikes, mangrove tours, sport fishing, and is known for its hot nightlife and excellent restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Villas Lirio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Lirio Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
BEST WESTERN Hotel Villas Lirio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Villas Lirio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.