We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cascading water and canopy to greet you” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Lirio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villas Lirio to your Saves list
Villas Lirio
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Next to Manuel Antonio School in Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 5000, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Villas Lirio)   |  
Hotel amenities
sutton, quebec
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cascading water and canopy to greet you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I had lunch recently at the Canopy Restaurant - related to the hotel.
Beautiful surroundings greet you to a lovely setting. We had a pre-arranged lunch, so it was pretty basic. The waiters seemed confused but pleasant. I would like to return soon and try something else on their menu. I would recommend this place when you are visiting this area. Unfortunately low construction disrupted our lunch. I only lunched there not stayed there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    37
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
25
35
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

My sister and I stayed here for three nights. After our long hot bus trip, a waiter greeted us with a most welcome frosty fruit smoothie. Our room faced the pool and there was a nice seating area just outside with an overhead fan. The pool was just a few steps away. The room had a small sink and fridge, air conditioning (was a little musty smelling), TV, and was quite roomy. There was also a back door to a small back patio with chair, probably for smokers. The grounds were somewhat overgrown. There were a lot steps up and down and curving pathways. There were some repairs being done and general maintenance such as offices being painted, but didn't really cause us any disruption. The restaurant however, was dark despite windows and skylights. Breakfast included a small fruit and cereal buffet, in combination with a hot meal of beans and rice, eggs, bacon, toast, and a frozen hash brown thingy - nothing special but okay. The menu had some good offerings as well as some more standardized north american fares. Service was earnest and good, although we did have a misunderstanding with a waitress over conversion of American dollars to colones - but that was partly due my misunderstanding the conversion rates. Note, the menu is in US dollars but the bills/charges are in colones. The main fault with the hotel was -- the lack of management ? What I mean is that the desk clerks who we dealt with (very young women) while polite and friendly, didn't provide us with information about the hotel or tours or the area; didn't give us a tour of the grounds (someone in another review mentioned a second pool - huh? what second pool?), didn't provide us with a towels for the pool or tell us the hours of restaurant operation. We were also told inaccurate information about the distance to the beach. Also, the security guard/porter (?) was not very friendly. In the hubbub of checking in, we did not tip him for bringing in our bags, so I was going to give him an extra tip when we were checking out - but he stuck our bags in a room behind a plastic tarp (workers were painting the room) while we ate lunch, and then when our ride arrived, he didn't offer to get the bags out. We had to drag them out ourselves over a threshold through debris and down several steps. One of the painters immediately stepped forward to help us - but not before my sister bruised herself - while the guard/porter just sat there chewing gum. Needless to say I did not tip him. I'm not sure if he was rude because we didn't tip him when we checked in or he was just a jerk in general. There was an older gentlemen who filled in for this guard and he was - in stark contrast, pleasant, helpful and respectful. Note: I am putting service as very good mainly because of the restaurant staff, not taking into consideration the rudeness of the security guard/porter or the inexperience and unhelpfulness of the front desk staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We spent three very nice days in Manuel Antonio, staying at Villa Lirio Hotel. This is a boutique, 22 rooms hotel, around a very exuberant landscaped garden, with a nice (although cold) swimming pool in the center.
We got breakfast in the pretty, tropical style restaurant, it was good although the service was a bit disorganized. It includes rice, beans, eggs and bacon with a toast, cooked fresh for every gust, instead of the typical buffet style, which I find a bit cheesy. They also serve tropical fruits, ham and cheese and juice.
Front desk employees were always very nice and warm, although some times their information was not 100% accurate (like saying that you cannot leave the Manuel Antonio Park and get in again later, or how often the public bus runs).
They organized the tour to the park for us in a very easy and efficient way, they always gave us fresh beach towels, etc.
The room was huge and very comfortable, with a nice patio outside to sit down and read.
The kids enjoyed playing ping pong next to the pool every time they wanted, while we relaxed on very comfortable lounge chairs by the pool.
The only con: the room smelled like insecticide all during our stay, and a bit moldy (of course we were in the middle of the CR forest).
Also, one of the fan ceilings was out of order, and they never got the motor to repair it.
You can take a taxis to the town of Quepos cost 5 dollars (be careful, if they realize you are American and don't speak Spanish the driver will try to charge 10!!) and 4 dollars to Manuel Antonio Park. There are always taxis available outside the hotel.
Nevertheless, if you want to save some bucks, you can take the public bus for just 50 cents per person, it stops 70 meters from the hotel and runs every 15-20 minutes. (it is a bit crowded during peak hours though).
We did not go with car, but I found the parking area inside the hotel a bit crowded and disorganized.
The hotel has a security guy standing outside the hotel all the time, which gives a feeling of security.

Room Tip: There are some rooms around the pool, with a nice covered patio to sit down and read. Nevertheless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed from Dec 25 to 28th, nice little villa, breakfast was nice. Both pools were nice, but with all the lovely overgrowth the water was actually a little cool, which was nice in the middle of day with the heat, but other times with some clouds made it hard to stay in the water long.

The front desk needs to keep more change for guests or if they have someone go and get some not just bring back the local money. Cleaning staff everyday had to be called to ask for soap, shampoo, tp.

The bar maid and breakfast waiter were very nice and helpful, the gate security guard also helped flag down a few cabs for us

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

This week my wife and I went to Manuel Antonio for business and stayed in Villas Lirio. If you see the hotel entrance you can`t imagine how nice is the place inside. The rooms have a special atmosphere with a colonial style, very comfortable and the bed excelent!
Something that really like us was the customer service offered by the staff in every moment. the breakfast was ok fruits, juice, coffee and gallo pinto (rice and beans mixed) eggs and bacon a little burned but ok.
The price is a little expensive but is ok if you looking for a cozy place with all the facilities of a good hotel hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Comfort, nice, familiar, excellent staff, great food, absolutly the the best place that we found in Manuel Antonio Beach Area. We recomend the hotel to all the world.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We visited the hotel in family trip, in matters of rooms and accommodations there is not much to say, is very nice, however i must say a had a very unpleasant experience regarding restaurant service, we were booked as all inclusive costumers who had breakfast, lunch and dinner included, when we arrived what were our surprise that the menu available for everyone else was not available to us, the restaurant staff only gave us 2 options of the menu, which generally were junk food, only one kind of drink available, which must of the time was not asked , finally by the end of the three days we stayed there we decided to eat outside even though we pay for it. when we tried to complaint there were no manager, no head chef no one to talk personally, to resume this is a experience which I personally do not recommend to anyone

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villas Lirio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Lirio

Address: Next to Manuel Antonio School in Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 5000, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Villas Lirio)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Lirio 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from it all! Tropical gardens adorning two crystalline pools. Villas Lirio offers 12 rooms with two queen-size beds and 12 rooms with a single queen bed. There are also 2 fully-equipped suites. The hotel offers restaurant service. Each room is tastefully decorated with queen-size beds, ceiling fans, air conditioning and private bathrooms with hot water. The area of Manuel Antonio/Quepos offers plenty of activities, including snorkeling, surfing, rafting, nature hikes, mangrove tours, sport fishing, and is known for its hot nightlife and excellent restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villas Lirio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Lirio Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Villas Lirio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Lirio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.