We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica to your Saves list
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay four - pay three
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Well located amongst the rainforest and the only hotel with Beach access in Manuel Antonio I think!. Food was ok, but not brilliant - but Costa Rica is like that! Staff were perfect and we loved our stay. Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    127
    33
    19
    7
See reviews for
316
665
21
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herriman, Utah
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Honestly, I do not know where to begin...so many positive things to say. The resort is absolutely beautiful and perfectly positioned to experience nature at its best (beach and jungle). My wife and I spent our honeymoon at the resort, choosing a suite in the building over-looking the pool with an amazing view of the ocean. Our suite was very large and well appointed. The resort is located above a small, private beach that was a favorite retreat of ours. The temperature of the ocean was perfect and the waves just the right size to play in. A much larger beach is also accessible via a short path from the resort and provides access to the nearby national park by foot if you choose. I should also note that the resort is built into a hill in the jungle above the ocean so walking can be a bit of a workout...not to fear though, staff are prepared to transport you by golf cart where ever and when ever you want to go.

Now I will talk about customer service. This resort set a new level of service that has been unmatched by any other resort I have stayed at in the 28 countries I have visited over the years. The entire staff remained focused on ensuring they were doing everything they could do to satisfy our every want. For example, my wife and I like to drink hot chocolate in the mornings - when we arrived in our room we noticed the absence of hot chocolate and asked if they could bring us some. The staff member checked, informed us that the resort does not provide hot chocolate for the rooms and apologized. We accepted his apology and took a trip to the beach. When we returned to the room later that evening we discovered hot chocolate mix had been placed in our room. I can only assume a staff member went to the local market and picked some up for us. Wow! :-) We also were very impressed with the high level of customer service in the restaurant. They quickly learned our favorite foods, drinks (watermelon drink is to die for), and table - even preparing our favorite meal (not on the menu that day) when requested the previous day. Wow! :-)

We chose to take many of the off-resort excursions recommended by the resort. All but one met or exceeded our expectations. The exception was addressed to our satisfaction by resort management.

Bottom line...we highly recommend staying at this resort and will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We recently stayed here for few days of relaxation and for the Eco tours. The hotel is well kept and beautiful. We had a great room with a spectacular view. Our misfortunate was that we had 2 tropical storms hanging over the area for the duration of our trip. Despite the weather, the staff was cheery and very knowleadgeable about all aspects of the hotel, town and the Manuel Antonio area. Although we had a glitch w/ the A/C in our room, they were very responsive and helpful and took great care with us to be sure we were made comfortable. The General Manager Jairo and his whole team were amazing as they tended to our needs. Breakfast was hearty and healthy. The monkeys and sloths are plentiful in the surrounding treees so be sure to have your camera with you at all times when walking the grounds or while be transported in the golf carts. We are already planning our return trip during DRY season.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

I stayed at this magnificent resort in September, I can not say enough good things about the resort, it's facilities, the service Staff from Cindy at the from desk who upgraded us to a great suite to Mariana at reservations, Rodnin who was always around when we needed anything, Andres at the restaurant facilities, Edwin the best and fastest bartender I have ever seen. All of you were terrific! What a pleasure is to travel and experience not only a beautiful resort, but great people and service as well.

Looking forward to our next visit,
Guido & Noemi

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights for the first half of our honeymoon. The service was excellent -- so warm and gracious. The staff seemed truly happy to work there. I can't remember everyone's names, but Cindy at reception, Luis and Julio at the restaurant, and all the employees, actually, contributed so much to our enjoyment of the resort. The location is really excellent compared to the other hotels in the area. It sits along a steep hillside and goes right down to the beach. We didn't feel isolated at all and had zero problems either walking or requesting a golf cart. We got off the property every day for an excursion, and after driving through the nearby town and main street where the other hotels were, we had no interest in exploring the surrounding area anyway. We were in the building closest to the reception (building 7). The building was the highest one on the bluff overlooking the beach, and we were happily upgraded from the Ocean Breeze Superior to an Ocean View Superior on the top floor, which had an unobstructed view of the ocean. The room itself was very good. Not necessarily luxurious, but very comfortable, and only showing a bit of wear and tear. We loved the veranda. The free daily breakfast at El Mirador was excellent -- not only do you have a full hot buffet of rotating items, but in addition you order off the a la carte menu. In general we really enjoyed the food. I loved the Playitas Poki at the beach (where capuchin monkeys visit every day). We stopped by several other hotels due to shuttle pickups for our day trips, and I definitely felt like Arenas Del Mar was the best place to stay in the Quepos/Manuel Antonio area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestserviceADM, General Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, responded to this review, October 4, 2010
Dear nec80,

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. Thanks for spending part of your honeymoon with us. We are happy that you liked the wildlife viewing at Playitas restaurant. We appreciate your nice comments about our staff. One note, right after your stay, we closed building 7 for maintenance and it has just reopened this week. Looks like new again and now the living area in the suites also has air-conditioning installed. For your next stay, maybe an anniversary!
Pura vida,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

If the following appeals to you, Arenas Del Mar will not disappoint:
-Troops of capuchin white face monkeys passing through trees just in front of your balcony
- Two resident sloths perched near a picturesque wood lobby tastefully integrated into surrounding rain forest, all on a cliff overlooking Playa Espadilla
- Sincere attempts at sustainability, earning among the highest ratings for sustainable tourism in Costa Rica: http://www.turismo-sostenible.co.cr/es/directorio/hoteles/por-nivel/nivel-5/index.php
- Seclusion and privacy without undue inaccessibility. The resort is partway between Quepos and Manuel Antonio, and the marked elevation change on the property has the effect of seemingly transporting you miles away from other guests.
- Impeccable service with a friendly smile.

Arenas isn't for everyone. But it is certainly among the finest upper echelon hotels in the region, and the value is reasonable when one factors the added costs of sustainable architecture and food products. My wife and I selected Arenas largely for the convenient location adjacent to the remote end of Playa Espadilla, approximately 1.5 km from the entrance to Manuel Antonio along the beach, as well as the excellent sustainability record of the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised with the intimate encounters with wildlife; minibars are often emptied from suites to avoid enticing passing-by capuchin monkeys, howler monkeys are regularly seen, and the comically named Jesuschrist Lizards are everywhere. In fact, we saw more wildlife in our first hour at Arenas than we did on a sunrise tour of Tortugeuro National Park. We were also impressed with the service. The cart drivers all knew our names within moments of arrival, and the receptionist kindly greeted us by name with each call. The on site restaurant is very good, and we found the room service reasonably priced, relatively rapidly delivered, and tasty.

If you are a younger person looking for a festive party scene accessible to lots of bars, this is not your lodging of choice (I would argue Manuel Antonio shouldn't be your destination of choice!). If you are looking for an inexpensive stay in a place that won't give you bedbugs, again, you may be disappointed. Finally, if you are looking for a powder white beach where it is sunny all the time, Arenas, and Manuel Antonio, are probably not ideal destinations, especially during the rainy season. That said, Playa Espadilla, and particularly the much more private Playitas, offer immaculate vistas of the Pacific with relatively fine grain light sand and access to surfable waves.

The area is a magical combination of rain forest and solid beach, and few (if any) hotels so skillfully incorporate the area's inherent advantages without blighting them by their very presence. At Arenas, they go a step further and ensure they are doing their part to preserve the area for future generations.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

If you don't mind a little pricey, I advise you search no further. This place felt like Jurassic Park (in a good way), surrounded by lush, wild greenery. In fact, our first night there, monkeys attacked our balcony refigerator and absconded with apples. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The bed and bed sheets were very comfortable; the restaurant stellar; drinks during Happy Hour excellent (try Monkey Business); and the private beach a nice addition.

My only complaint would be to construct better signage, both coming from Quepos and on the road leading (near Barba Roja restaurant). We came in when it was dark and pouring rain, and found it extremely difficult to actually locate the hotel. But I suppose that's the price of serenity.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, this hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views as it is nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging—the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to be awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront And Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.