We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be a 6 out of 5 if I could!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica to your Saves list
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would be a 6 out of 5 if I could!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We are actually waiting to check out...sadly. I would give a 6 out of 5 if I could! We really cannot think of any issues or complaints about the resort! We have even stayed for 6 nights and 7 days so there was plenty of time for us to truly experience the resort!

Our room, 503B provided us with the perfect ocean view we requested as we watched sunrise over Manuel Antonio and the beach and a glimpse of sunset along the semi private playa down the hill. Our room even in proximity to other rooms, felt very private the way all balconies are constructed for privacy. As other reviewers noted, the resort is very steep, and while we frequently enjoyed the walks to/from the pool and beach, a ride in the electric cart was always available immediately or at least within a few minutes.

The restaurants, while only one open at a time, offered a nice variety, large portions, fresh ingredients, local flavours and specialties and wonderful flavours! The breakfasts, the charred octopus, the snook, and the ceviche were particularly great! With 7 days between the 2 of us, we nearly tried everything, and never felt bored with the meals! We enjoyed new dishes each day and still enjoyed a few favourites a couple of times. Note: it can be more difficult to eat meals outside of the resort without a car (we enjoyed the seclusion).

From the hotel and our room, we even spotted most of the local wildlife including howler monkey, white faced monkey, sloth, agouti, lizards, iguanas, hawks, pelicans. At the top of the hill out of the resort we listened to and saw several black mandible toucans. We also enjoyed several tours away from the resort: zip lining with El Santuario and white water rafting with Amigos del Rio. Finally, we ended our stay with wonderful deep tissue and hot stone massages from the spa...very nice.

We spent non-active days lounging on our balcony, lounging at the semi private beach or at one of the two pools. I am not sure where everybody else went, but we truly felt that we had the resort to ourselves! The hotel seemed fully booked, yet we always felt we were alone at the pool or the beach!

Finally, the staff: all of them were wonderful from waitstaff, to front desk, to maintenance, to housekeeping to spa! They all called us by name, helped us in our very poor Spanish, asked us about our plans and experiences and were always open to sharing more about the culture of Costa Rica (one of our favourite reasons to travel!). So, to the staff, we are grateful!

Ok, that almost covers it...I could say more but I am going to enjoy my last half hour...

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    119
    29
    17
    7
See reviews for
284
599
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel was in a beautiful private setting with it's own private beach and access to a public beach right on site as well. The rooms and hotel were beautiful, one with nature and all the wonderful animals there. What a wonderful place to live. The food was exceptional and the staff were very friendly and english speaking. We caught some Mahi Mahi and snapper on our fishing trips and the kitchen prepared them in a variety of ways, all of which were wonderfully done. Compliments to the chef and his team. It was top notch. Nothing like sleeping with the sound of the ocean not on a machine but in real life. The staff was so friendly and attentive to all our needs and got to know us. We fished 3 days from the marina in town and transportation was set up to pick us up at the hotel. Free wi-fi, great air conditioner, Ecofriendly accomodations with all the amenties included. Breakfast was included and they prepared our breakfast on fishing days to go. Excellent service. Would definitely like to go back. Would like to especially thank the wonderful Manager Alex Gordon, who was so friendly, attentive and very personal with us. Felt like we had a friend for life with his honest, down to earth personality. Loved the fantastic cocktails prepared by all the bartenders, especially Angel, who was fun and easy to joke with. We really enjoyed our stay and would like to recommend this place to anyone looking at Manuel Antonio. Thank you again everyone at Arenas. Really especially enjoyed Allan, Angel and Alex. The A team I guess. Oh yeah, can not forget to mention the bed, it was awesome and the pillows, so comfortable, better than home. Rita and Cowboy Michael

Room Tip: Ocean view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We did a ton of research on Manuel Antonio-area resorts for the first part of our Costa Rican honeymoon, and decided that Arenas del Mar's combination of upscale amenities, beautiful jungle settings, and a (mostly) private beach couldn't be beat We're happy to report that our research definitely paid off and we were thrilled with the 5 nights we spent at Arenas.

From the golf cart drivers who were more than happy to cart you up and down the steep paths between the beaches and the lobby/restaurant area at a moment's notice, to the activity guides, waiters in the restaurant, front desk staff, housekeepers, and security guards, the customer service was sensational. The speed with which all the staff members learned our names was amazing, and their willingness to go above and beyond to provide whatever we needed, be it off-property restaurant recommendations, late-night chocolate milkshakes, or tips for spotting sloths was outstanding! We experienced better service at Arenas than we have at some of the major upscale brands that pride themselves on this, like Four Seasons and Ritz-Carlton.

Definitely splurge for a room with at least a partial ocean view, as the sunsets are spectacular, although we did have some atypical rain on the last few days of our stay. Even if you don't get a view from your room, the view from the upper pool and Mirador restaurant is amazing! The rooms themselves are well-appointed and comfortable, and the A/C worked great, even with the high humidity of the jungle surroundings. The free WiFi and international calls were a great bonus, and all the meals we had on property were excellent, with no complaints at all about the food or service.

Playitas Beach is beautiful, although the surf can occasionally be a bit rough for swimming. When it was, we were still very content to relax in the lounge chairs with our Kindles and drinks, pausing occasionally to admire the sleeping sloths that hang out overhead in the trees there.

Playa Espadilla is the larger public beach that heads south toward Manuel Antonio, but it's also an excellent and scenic spot for a leisurely late afternoon/sunset stroll, and people-watching as well.

We were missing Arenas the second we boarded our plane back to San Jose at the Quepos air strip, and we're already daydreaming of our return visit!

Room Tip: Rooms with higher floors have better ocean views, but the buildings closer the lobby are a better be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We just finished our 6th visit to Arenas Del Mar. The staff treat guests as royalty. Everyone worked hard to ensure that we had a great vacation. The dinner selection has improved over the past few years. Splurge for a premium suite with great views and a hot tub. Walk the property, including the hill entrance before the welcome center, and you will see an assortment of birds, monkeys, and perhaps other wildlife.

The only thing I wish they would do is bring back the breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: The premium suites are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Awesome resort, the staff was very attentive and fantastic hosts for our stay. The restaurant was great, and the bartenders were very friendly. We cant wait to get back and stay longer next time around.

Room Tip: the entire property looks great, didn't see a bad room or location
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arenas Del Mar is the greatest hotel resort on earth. We loved it so much we went for a second time. The staff is incredible. Baby Sloth, Pink Panther, Yogi Bear, Sable, Freddy Kreuger, and Anono are the best! The breakfast is amazing. The guests are amazing. The beaches are amazing. The rooms are amazing. The wildlife is incredible. You will see monkeys, sloths, and ... if you are as lucky as we were ... the hatching of dozens of little turtles! We cannot wait to go back!

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I were visiting Costa Rica from Nov 23rd - Dec 6th for our 30th anniversary and spent the last 4 days at Arenas Del Mar in Manuel Antonio. From the moment we arrived we were treated like VIP's and when the hotel found out about the reason for trip, they upgraded us to a suite with no upcharge!! The staff couldn't have been friendlier and made it their purpose to ensure we wanted for nothing! ! I am unable to eat pineapple and called myself "Juan no Piña" which the wait/bar staff found so amusing that they had a hotel shirt made with a pineapple buster with the same phrase and presented it to me!! The rooms are incredible with fantastic beach views, the food was wonderful and "Angel" the bartenders drinks were some of the best I've had!! Our last day all the staff made an effort to wish us "Pura Vida" and seems as sad as us that we were leaving. . I would strongly recommend a stay at this resort as part of anyone's trip to Costa Rica!!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, this hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views as it is nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging—the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to be awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront And Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.