We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic accommodations at Arenas del Mar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica to your Saves list
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Green Season Value
Cortlandt Manor, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic accommodations at Arenas del Mar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This is my first entry on trip advisor and even though we went to Costa Rica in June, I still have wonderful memories of our trip and have wanted to write this review since the day we came home. My family and I went to Costa Rica for the first time and we stayed at Arenas del Mar in June 2014. We all loved it so very much! The staff were amazing! All of the staff were so warm and friendly and so accommodating! We felt like family! We stayed at Arenas del mar during the World Cup and the hotel guests and the staff all watched the soccer games together and they painted our faces with the Costa Rican flag. We all cheered and hugged when the Costa Rican team won. The staff and management went out of their way to make our trip so memorable. Our room was immaculate as was the whole resort! The beach was beautiful and we enjoyed the waves and the kids loved their surfing lessons with Alex. Alex gave us a pineapple and the bartender gladly cut it up for us and we all shared it! We still talk about the fantastic food and fruit that we got on our trip!! We loved the nature tours, the beach and surfing, the food and the pools! I especially enjoyed the functional training workouts in the early mornings! At first I was disappointed because there was no fitness room, but these workouts were more challenging than any workout I could have done in a gym and they were lead by the hotel manager!! Thanks for everything! I would highly recommend Arenas del Mar to families, couples or single individuals!!! Beth and Frank

Room Tip: Every room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    117
    29
    17
    7
See reviews for
282
585
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We travelled with 2 of our kids aged 22 and 26. Had 2 rooms right next to the office. One was a suite with a jacuzzi and the other without. Perfect location and perfect for convenience. The staff is amazing and is available 24 hours a day for questions. We arranged prior to the trip our adventures for the nature walk(Hannia finds animals where you would see nothing without a guide, she is incredible), white water rafting( so much fun) and hang gliding ( superman is great-$40 extra lasts a minute but worth it ). The food doesn't disappoint either. Try outside the hotel at Kapi Kapi , Victoria's , Ronny's and Raphael's also. You never wait for a golf cart or the staff calls for a cart. The trip from start to finish is phenomenal.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed at Arenas Del Mar this past week of August 9th, 2014 - and the place was absolutely fantastic! As a family of four - the rooms (each with a deck with its own private hot tub!) were amazing - however, what was truly great, was the incredibly warm, and wonderful service we received each day from the staff. When our daughters commented how much they loved the "rambutan" fruits - (lychees?) one of the wonderful workers (Rodbin) sent a bag to our room!
The location, the beach, the views, the food, the staff all incredible! One of the best vacations and experiences I have ever had! We are already planning to come back - and this would be the place to stay! Claudia and Taub!

Room Tip: All rooms were fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ga
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We chose Arenas del Mar based on the great reviews we found on Trip advisor and the proximity to the beach. Needless to say that we were very pleased with the hotel amenities, service, location (Walking distance to the beach),food and the million $ views!!.
Rooms are very large and comfortable and we even had a jet tub in the balcony with an awesome view of the Pacific ocean. We watched iguanas, monkeys, lizards, etc., playing outside on the trees, in front of our room. Our daughter was thrilled! Warning: Be prepared to spend a lot of money as comfort, superb service and luxury accommodations don't come cheap; but it was all worth it! We'll be back to Costa Rica, pretty soon, as we fell in love with the country and Arenas del Mar made us feel like we were in our own vacation home. Happiness and relaxation are…. Priceless!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

After a totally blissful three nights at Kura Design Villas we had booked the last three nights of our Costa Rican holiday at the highly rated Arenas del Mar resort. The contrast between the two could not be greater.
The buildings at Arenas del Mar wouldn't look out of place on a third rate golf course. The suites are well appointed in a dull unimaginative way. No thought or flair put into the decoration and no Costa Rican flavour whatsoever. There was nothing Eco about this place at all apart from the beautiful jungle and beach that the buildings were dumped on.
After six hours we were seriously considering our options. After one meal we certainly vowed not to eat there again . The food was bland , poorly presented and vastly overpriced. The drinks similarly . The possible cause of this is that most of the clientele resemble extras from Housewives of New Jersey.
I'm certain it's possible to spend far less and have a far more authentic and satisfactory experience of a beach holiday on Costa Rica's wild and beautiful Pacific coast.
I would like to question the Eco credentials of the place and also question how this hotel can be part of the same group as Kura and Finca Rosa Blanca which are in a different league.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear NickS,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Of course, we were very disappointed to read that we were not able to meet your expectations, especially since you seemed to have had great stays at two other Cayuga Collection properties that share the same commitment to quality and sustainability. But we take your feedback as a challenge and opportunity to improve and get better. We are sorry that the style and décor of the resort was not quite yours and that the meal you had in our restaurant did not live up to your standards. We typically get rave reviews about the guest room experience and our food in the restaurant, but will continue to work hard in order to further improve in both categories. There is one part of your review, however, that surprised us. It seems that we have failed to better explain all our sustainability efforts to you. Most likely you were not on our “back of the house” sustainability tour, that we offer free of charge to all of our guests; we belive that, such an experience would have radically changed your concept of our sustainability program. Arenas del Mar has been built and operated since day one with the highest levels of sustainability in mind. We certainly realize that sustainability is a process and never fully achieved, but we are also very proud of what we have achieved in the past years. We were the first five star hotel in Costa Rica to be awarded the highest award of five sustainability leaves by the CST (Certification for Sustainable Tourism) and have received widespread praise for our continued conservation and community development efforts. Since you reside in Costa Rica, we invite you to come back at your convenience and will be happy to take you on a tour and explain all of our efforts in more detail. For future guests that might read this review, it is very important to note that we welcome guests from all countries of the world and all States of the US. We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you back at one of the many Cayuga Collection properties in Costa Rica or Nicaragua, including Arenas del Mar, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My daughter and I stayed for a weekend break from volunteer work. The hotel was beautiful. Perfect location on the beach and close to town and park. Rooms were large and beds were very comfortable. The best part however was the staff! They were attentive, knowledgable, helpful, and friendly. One of the best places to stay in the world!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We absolutely have loved Arenas del Mar. Have been twice before. 2012 & 2013. It is a unique combo of relaxation,
romance, and bliss combined with as much adventure as you desire.

This year we Added to our usual Pura Vida group and took our grand daughters. All in all, there were 15 of us, ages 8 to a 70th birthday celebrated in style, with help from the staff, at the resort.

What fun we had! We flew into SJO from Dallas, Orlando & Atlanta all arriving within minutes of each other, and were met by, David, our driver and a bus large enough for all 15 plus lots of luggage. All transportation during the week was set-up by Arenas. It was all prompt, clean and felt very safe.

As usual, we were greeted in the resort lobby by a very enthusiastic group of employees with our special welcome fruit drinks. They are such a nice group of personable young adults and I can guarantee will know your names, where you are from and your personal preferences within 24 hours.

The rooms are just outstanding,
Spread out on the ridge with views of Manuel Antonio Park all the way down to the smaller Playitas beach and pool. Large, spacious accommodations with beautiful balconies, views and hot tubs. We opted for the lower pool rooms knowing that area would quickly become the center of most of the kids time, lots of beach play with great lounges set up by staff as soon as you step towards the beach.We all especially liked the Playitas restaurant with lunch tables set on the beach.

We booked 2 zip line tours, had been to Canopy Tours before
and wanted to take the newcomers. All had so much fun we tried the newer zip line company too. Both were great adventures and enjoyed by the 8 thru 70 crowd. When traveling to both of these sites vans travel thru the coconut palm farms and guides do a great job of explaining the farm workings and even seeing the oxen carts picking up the fruits of their labor.

Arenas del Mar is very helpful setting up all the adventures and give honest reviews
trying to match the guests with whatever type of adventure desired. Several enjoyed a full day of deep sea fishing and their catches were prepared for our feast at dinner the next evening.

Meals are great. Breakfasts can be enjoyed by the lobby pool with complimentary juice and rolls accompanied by some of the world's greatest coffee. We enjoyed the beachside Playitas Restaurant most days for lunch and had all our dinners at the main restaurant. Thankfully they have a great selection for the kids to add to the gourmet regular menu selections.

We all enjoyed the complimentary Sustainability tour which is conducted by the resort each day and explains their recycling and efforts to save the rainforest and protect the environment. Another favorite tour for all ages was the nighttime walk, finding the frogs. having a fiddler crab race on the dark beach and tasting the termites as they emerge from their nests!

You can't help but enjoy the antics of the monkeys, whether swinging thru the trees or scampering over the lobby roof.
Sloths were seen everyday and iguanas were also abundant.

Our week passed so quickly. Lots of new experiences for the young ones and certainly not the adults typical play in the morning and enjoy the lounges and beverages served on the beach afternoons, for sure! But this trip was filled with body surfing, zipping and continuous fun and adventures for all. What memories, a true learning experience for the young ones and pure enjoyment for the lucky grand parents. This trip proves that no matter the age Arenas del Mar has something for everyone and they make sure it's done with style!
Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, this hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views as it is nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging—the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to be awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront And Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.