We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Green Season Value
La Grange Park, il USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pura Vida!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for six nights after three nights in their sister property Finca Rosa Blanca. They helped us prearrange a private transfer between properties. Once we arrived we were greeted at the reception area and given a brief overview of the hotel before a golf cart ride took us up to the concierge area. Check in was easy and right away we were blown away by the fantastic views of the Pacific Ocean!
We were staying in the Ocean View Premium Suite which was amazing! We had two bathrooms, a wrap around balcony, lounge area and nice sized bedroom. We couldn't get enough of the view from our balcony looking towards Manuel Antonio National Park.
We had great service all around, we went on two fishing charters and the guys driving the golf carts would always ask us how we did and they would remember from day to day that we had an interest in fishing. We also had great service at both restaurants the one by the concierge and the one down by the other pool and playita. We were on a first name basis with most which made us feel welcomed. Juan Diego made some awesome mojitos, Ricardo and Christian were very attentive, Alex and all the others who drove the golf carts were very kind.
We got to talking with Harold a great waiter and we told him we would like some red snapper for dinner he said no problem come to dinner tomorrow night and I will have it for you. The next night the hotel was having a Calypso band playing at the Playita where you could eat on the beach. Harold came thru with some amazing snapper and we enjoyed the band as well.
Just sitting in the pool by concierge we saw Sloth, iguanas and white face monkeys! By the reception area we saw squirrel monkeys.
We did a half day tour of Manuel Antonio with our guide Ana, she was very knowledgable and pointed out wildlife to us that the average eye would walk right past.
We decided after dinner one night to see if there was availability for a canopy tour which we read about in the book in our room that provided all the info on the tours. We called concierge and they said no problem and we were all set for the next morning. That was an amazing time!
One night we decided to try another restaurant in town and they had no problem helping us arrange transportation to and from the other place.
Overall we had a great time at Arenas Del Mar and we would recommend this place to everyone looking for a great place on the Pacific Ocean. We enjoyed practicing Spanish and conversing with everyone we met. Pura Vida!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    798
    113
    28
    16
    7
See reviews for
257
548
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My seventeen year old daughter and I returned, last night, from a six day stay at Arenas del Mar. I've read some of the positive and negative comments. And, I'm very sorry that those negative things happened. I agree with the positive comments. In our six days we had great service, a pretty view, an extremely clean room with nightly turn down service, free phone calls, delicious free breakfasts, a bottle of complimentary of wine in our room on arrival, delicious food and beautiful beaches while being nestled in a rain forest.

This is our second trip to Costa Rica in four months. We've stayed at the Westin at Playa Conchal and the Springs and Arenal. I'm happy to report that each of those hotels offers excellent and unique opportunities. Arenas del Mar was also what we had hoped. The beach is fantastic and the rain forest is all around the hotel. Being a "green hotel", it is very natural. For example, they don't use plastic straws, they use bamboo. And, everything is open air. The larger, main lobby, restaurant has no windows (no bugs or other animals bother you despite the openness) and the restaurant at the small beach has tables on the beach (again no insect repellent required day or night).

We paid for and got a Garden Room because that was all they had left when we made the reservation. Typically, we ask for more expensive rooms in hotels, however, this was not a disappointment. I'm so glad we got the room we did. It was small, I admit. It had a king-size bed, two nightstands, two small closets, a nice bathroom with a large shower and a nice large porch. On the porch was a refrigerator with juice and snacks free of charge. Oh, and the phone in the room is free of charge for local or international calls. Although we expected a garden view, we could see the ocean through the trees. So, we had rainforest and beach all in our view. It was great. I agree with the person who said there are no gardens. We'd seen lovely gardens at other hotels. However, it seemed obvious to us that this, being a natural hotel, was focused on the indigenous plant species. Gardens are imported. That would have been out of sync with the hotel.

No matter where you go in the resort you hear the waves of the ocean crashing against the shore. On a few nights, we turned off the air conditioner, opened the screen door, and slept to the sounds of the Pacific. The waves in Manuel Antonio are great for jumping and surfing. There are two beaches at Arenas del Mar. The smaller beach and the larger beach. The larger beach is connected to public beaches. If you walk down the beach you end up in the village of Manuel Antonio and at the Manuel Antonio National Park. They offer surf lessons (charged to your room) at the hotel-end of the larger beach. However, we took three lessons at the Manuel Antonio Surf School which was a little walk away. The surf closer to the hotel is more for the professionals.

It's true that unless you like to hike hills, you need to call for a golf cart to come and take you to different parts of the resort. Our room (101B) was adjacent to the smaller pool, and about 30 yards from the smaller beach where there is a restaurant, life guard, waiters to bring drinks as you relax in the shade of trees or in the sun, towels and all. So, we spent the first day at that beach. To go to the larger beach, we called the cart. In fact, to go to the main lobby restaurant or to see the concierge, we called the cart. Here's the thing with the cart . . . although we were far from the main lobby, if we didn't go right outside after calling the concierge for the cart, that cart driver would be waiting for us. I honestly don't know how they got there so quickly. They were quite fast, friendly and interested in learning about us. I have to say that calling for the cart sometimes took three minutes, but that was only if all of the three concierge phone lines were busy. This happened a couple of times, but, it was only for about three minutes. The cart drivers would remember our names and always wanted to know what our plans for the day were, or if we were having a good time, and if everything was bueno. Si. Everything was bueno.

When we wanted to arrange an activity (parasailing) with the concierge, they had it taken care of in minutes. Then, when we postponed, they took care of that as well. And, one day I wanted to call the Manuel Antonio Surf School, but I didn't have the number. So, I called the concierge to ask for the number. He didn't remind me that there was a surf school connected to the hotel. He happily provided the phone number I requested.

There are two pools. The larger one is up at the main lobby (where the concierge sits) and the smaller one was right outside our room. We never went into a pool but noticed that people with small children were having a great time there. Near the smaller pool are big round cushioned seats-for-two sitting under the shade of trees as well as regular seats in the sun. I like those little details.

Although the hotel was filled to capacity, there were always plenty of beach chairs. No need to go claim a chair prior to breakfast! And, we recommend the breakfast (free) is not to be missed.

All in all, we had an excellent experience at Arenas del Mar. I would recommend it to a friend. One thing, I would not have wanted to be located in one of the buildings half-way between the main lobby and the small beach where we were staying. It was nice to be able to walk out the door and be on the threshold of the pool or the beach. However, I think those buildings had excellent views of the ocean.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Seetheworld1958,
greetings from sunny Manuel Antonio and Arenas del Mar. Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and rave review of your recent stay with us. As you can imagine, it was really nice to read after the previous review, where just about everything that could go wrong went wrong. So thank you for pointing all the great things and I am sure your review will be very helpful to future guests. That does not mean that we are not concerned about the mistakes that happened and we are working hard on correcting them. But thank you for pointing our how great the location of our resort is next to the beach and nestled into the rain forest. Also about the food, the value added amenities such as the Tico Bar, the free calls, etc. We hope to have you come back soon so you can continue to improve your surf. All the best and Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Crest, New Mexico
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
361 helpful votes 361 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Hard to write negatives about this lovely place but the constant variety of mostly "little frustrations" accumulated over the course of our 5 night stay to a level that we felt was unacceptable at a hotel of this quality. First, some real positives....The location is spectacular and the staff is for the most part exceedingly friendly and helpful. Check in was a breeze. The beach area at the end of the walk/road is fantastic with excellent service and we enjoyed delicious lunches and drinks every day we were there.

Now the problems...The first one was huge, but resolved. Unfortunately, when we entered our ocean view superior room, we immediately smelled what seemed to be sewer gas. This was UNACCEPTABLE. The young man who accompanied us to the room said that he'd get right back to us. 45 minutes later, waiting for a response and getting somewhat frustrated, I walked up to the front desk (concierge) and asked what was being done. The young woman I talked with just looked at me and said there wasn't anything else open. I became upset since this was supposed to be a luxury hotel and said we could not stay in that room, we would pay for an upgrade to get out of the room. Minimal response from the concierge and then the young woman sitting at the next computer took over and was extremely accommodating, finding availability in 2 gorgeous oceanfront suites (2 nights in each). We had to stay that first night in the foul smelling room but we had no choice and kept the bathroom door shut. The second, very helpful woman stated that we would not be billed for the accommodation change. What bothered both of us was that during the conversation with the concierges, we were told there had been this problem with our initial room in the past?!?!? Really?

The following is a partial list of ongoing frustrations we experienced:
-There was no information in any of the 3 units about the hotel and it's services...
-Several times I called the front desk and no one answered, so I'd walk up there and literally no one was at the desk nor could anyone else help me.
-There was DAILY promoting of the restaurant by various staff. Within an hour of arrival we were encouraged to promote the restaurant on Trip Advisor and another person asked us where we were having dinner that first evening and bad-mouthed the place we were going and suggested we should cancel the reservation we'd made and eat at the hotel. This behavior continued throughout our stay.
-Showers were huge, very nice but the placement of the soap and shampoo was on the opposite side of the large circular shower in permanently placed bottles which was exceedingly inconvenient.
-Bath linens were minimal
-Garbage (colorful food wrappers and a bottle) remained on the ground in front of our ocean front balconies the entire time we were there.
-There were no gardens (we'd just come from Nayara in Arenal where the flowers were spectacular). There were obvious patches where it appeared there had been gardens at one time....Now there were weeds and overgrowth. I asked why there were no flowers (except in one large pot by the pool) and the person hesitated and said they didn't know but there used to be flowers.
-One morning, almost an hour after ordering breakfast and asking several times when it would be coming (others were being served) we got up to leave for a tour we had booked, hungry and frustrated putting it mildly. Our server said he'd have our food boxed to go for us immediately and brought us two boxes (neither contained what we ordered) and couldn't find any eating utensils to go....so my husband ate his pancake with his fingers. I had a couple pieces of fruit.
-The final straw was when our toilet wouldn't flush. Looking under the cover of the tank, we could see that the flush handle had been tied internally to the bulb stem with DENTAL FLOSS, which had broken..

It is our opinion that something is seriously wrong with quality control at this hotel and that is definitely a management problem. While we were there, we were told that a representative from Cayuga Sustainable Hospitality, SA was there doing a periodic assessment. We stayed at two other resorts run by this company (Lapa Rios and Finca Rosa Blanca) and they were superb in every way. Something is amiss at Arenas del Mar. Would we stay there again? No. Would we recommend it to our friends? I realize other folks did not have our experience but given our 5 nights here...No, we would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Anniejet,
thank you for taking the time to write such a complete review about your stay with us. Since we take a lot of pride in what we do, it is very hard for us to read all the things that did not work right during your stay. But instead of making excuses, we see this as an opportunity to improve. Unfortunately, you experienced a series of infrastructure and service failures that are by no means acceptable to us as management of Arenas del Mar nor Cayuga Sustainable Hospitality and should not happen to any guests. We had a management meeting right after reading your review and have taken serious action. The smell in the bathroom, the unavailability of our staff at certain time, the garden cleanliness and plant issues and the inefficencies you experienced during breakfast service are being solved as you read this response. Thank you for writing such a fair review and also pointing our the positives such as our spectacular beachfront and rainforest location, the great lunches and drinks you had and of course the kindness and service orientation by our staff. We hope you will give us a second chance and hopefully be able to write a rave review like many other of our very happy guests. Thanks again for your help to improve the experience for future guests. Greetings from Manuel Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

After a busy tour of Costa Rica it was wonderful to relax in this Pacific Paradise. We had tried to book an Ocean Breeze room but were given a garden room which was close to the reception area and contained a large, comfy bed, curtained off from a living area with bed settee, kitchenette and table and chairs. The mini bar contained free soft drinks, snacks and a closed jug of fresh water which was topped up daily. A coffee maker and coffee was also provided. Patio doors opened onto a terrace with cane furniture and jacuzzi. We were warned to keep the doors fully locked at night to avoid a raccoon invasion. The bathroom was well equipped with towels, robes and a large walk in closet with safe (and cute, live pet crab that scuttled out to visit me regularly!) Good quality organic shower gel, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion are provided and you are asked to use these products to help avoid adding chemicals to the ecosystem.

Breakfasts were absolutely fabulous - fresh tropical fruits, smoothies, coffee and light healthy options such as oatmeal and berries as well as heartier fare such as burritos and pancakes. The restaurant has some tables outside by the pool, overlooking the pacific, where you will be joined by resident iguanas and serenaded by tanagers and grackles. Evening meals could be taken in the Mirador restaurant or, twice during our short stay, on the beach with live music accompaniment. Food is sourced from local organic farmers and fishermen.

Staff were great - friendly and helpful, constantly topping us up with free iced water, keen to point out wild life. I would have missed the delightful mother and baby sloth had it not been for one of the groundsmen beckoning me over.

So, what stopped me awarding 5 stars? Four minor niggles. 1) There were no guides to the hotel available written in English and I had to ask several times for a map of the hotel as, confusingly we had to go uphill then downhill to the main entrance and spot the walk through the forest to the public beach; and downhill the opposite direction to the hotel's "private beach" and pool. There are golf carts and drivers available and these were essential for my partner, but personally I prefer to walk. I eventually found I was able to translate the spanish guide and realised, on our final day, that the hotel had ipads and a Kindle fire available to loan to guests. This would have been extremely useful to have known upon checking in! I learnt on checking out that the hotel had received a delivery of English guides the day after we arrived. It is a shame no one thought to provide us with one. 2) I enjoyed an amazing early morning bird walking tour with the hotel's bird guide, Anya. I had assumed this was a free service, like the dance classes and was surprised to find a charge of $50 dollars added to my bill at check out. This was reduced to $25 when I pointed out that my partner had not accompanied me. It was certainly worth the money - I just would have like to have known about the cost involved. 3) During one of our evening meals taken inside the Mirador restaurant I had to ask for us to be moved as we could not hear ourselves think for the sound of cutlery being clattered by staff into cutlery trays a few feet away. The waiter told us other people had complained about the noise at this table - I wonder why the table, which, being beside the service corridor must be the worst position in the entire restaurant, isn't simply removed? 4) Because of our disappointment at not getting an Ocean Breeze room, we had been advised by our tour company that we would have something special in our room, I mentioned this to our hotel's "experience manager" whom we were introduced to on our first day but never saw again, and she assured us it would be in our room on our final night. It wasn't and we have no idea what it would have been! Kind thought but...

Although a few issues prevented our overall experience from being excellent, I can highly recommend this beautiful place and its stunning location.

Room Tip: We were in block 5 which was close to reception but no sea view and far from both beaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Woodmere, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and to the Arenas del Mar and I know we will be back. From the moment we entered the property we definitely received the 5* treatment. I was a little concerned about our room because we booked late and concerned we would not have a good view of the ocean for we were on the first floor. Not true! We actually loved our room. It was in the building closest to the pool. lobby and restuarant. The view from our veranda was perfect. Although the room is not huge is it certainly large enough for 2 people with a nice veranda and bar. The bathroom is nice with a huge shower. The bed was very, very comfortable with great linens and pillows. The food was excellent. The complimentary breakfast is not buffet but cooked to order and was delicious. Sliced fresh fruit and a different fresh fruit juice every morning. Since we were only there for 3 nights we never even ventured out to eat dinner in the local restaurants. We ate in the hotel restaurant, El Mirador every night and the food was DELICIOUS! Mahi Mahi, filet mignon, a watermelon tomato gazpacho soup, passion fruit cheese cake were just a few of my favorites.
The staff are extremely friendly and can not do enough for you. They transport you around the grounds in golf carts and always pointing out the monkeys, slouths, and lizards. In fact we saw more wildlife in Arenas than in Manuel Antonio National Park!
The private beach is lovely and especially after visiting Manuel Antonio where there are herds of people. The concierge Laura (I believe that was her name) was extremely helpful about tours we were interested in taking. The waiter, Oscar was so kind, professional, friendly and helpful, he definitely represented what staying in the Arenas del Mar is all about. We had just left another hotel in the Arenal Volcano area in which I felt the staff never smiled. At the Arenas del Mar it was just the opposite.
Next trip we will stay more than 3 nights. It was a great experience.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to lobby,pool and restaurant stay in building 7 or 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We found this place 3 years ago and have made it our destination each year since. We just spent two weeks there and although the food before was excellent they have really kicked it up a notch with their new chef. They have two restaurants and we found the new menus excellent. The property is a great place to see wildlife. Lots of sloths and monkeys! Much better than going to Manuel Antonio park!

Room Tip: It is worth the money to get an ocean front room. The views are really spectacular,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife and I spent three nights at Arenas del Mar in one of the beachside units in an “Ocean Breeze” room (#102b). It’s a stunningly beautiful property with solid service, an amazing location and decent food.

The room: Our room was on the second floor with a view of the ocean from a small private balcony. I’d say it was on the smallish side for the price ($390), but it was clean and everything was up to date. The bed was great, as were the pillows and linens. There was a nice sitting area on the balcony as well as a counter, sink and small refrigerator.

The property: The jungle rises steeply from the beaches around Manuel Antonio. This property is basically carved into the side of an extremely steep hill that overlooks the ocean. The setting is breathtaking, with views of the Pacific all around. We chose this hotel because we wanted good beach access, and it didn’t disappoint. It was awesome to step out of our room and be on the beach in under a minute, with the lush jungle rising behind us. The walk from the beach (at the bottom of the hill) to reception (at the top of the hill) is probably just under 10 minutes. The hotel has a small fleet of golf carts that will ferry you up and down the steep climb, which can be long or short depending on where you’re coming from and where you’re going. We mostly walked but you can flag down anyone who works at the resort and they will call a cart for you, which generally seemed to arrive in just a couple of minutes. There are several buildings on the property, so where you are on the hill depends on which set of rooms you’re in. We were looking to spend some time on the beach after hiking in Arenal, so being in one of the buildings down by the ocean was great.

The service: The same service theme ran through a number of our experiences on this trip: a lot of little things got fumbled but when it really mattered the staff came through. There were some mix-ups about the tours we booked, though nothing that really made a difference in the end, and a few other things that could have been handled more seamlessly. However, when our car got a flat tire in the parking lot it was fixed before we even knew it was flat, and when my wife left her sweater behind in the closet, the manager had it shipped home to us free of charge.

The food: Breakfast was a la carte, a nice change of pace from the buffet situation you find at most resorts. And it was good. There were a couple of variations on local breakfast dishes (beans and rice, eggs and tortillas) that were definitely the best resort food we ate on the trip. The only dinner we ate at the resort was on our second night when there was special seating on the beach. The setting was great, but the food was just so-so. Dinner in the main restaurant might be better, but we didn’t get a chance to try it.

The location: This is where the property really shines. The grounds are amazing but you also have direct access to two beaches. The first, Playitas, is a wide sandy beach tucked into a small cove at the base of the resort. While technically a public beach, Arenas has more or less absorbed it. They have a bar on the beach, tons of lounge chairs (more than enough for all of the guests), hammocks and drink service. The swimming here was great, though the size of the waves and the potential for strong riptides might not make it the best for small children. This beach is separated from the next one to the south, Playa Espadilla, by a small rocky headland. It’s an easy scramble at low tide, but you can also take a trail down from reception to get to the beach. This is a much larger public beach that extends all the way to the Manuel Antonio national park. So, yes, you can walk to the park from the hotel (it’s about twenty minutes). Espadilla is another gorgeous beach with large rock outcroppings that form tide pools at low tide. There are surfboard rentals, a handful of low-key little restaurants and lounge chairs and umbrellas for rent. It’s a pretty lively scene during the day, but clears out pretty quickly after sunset. There are only a handful of resorts in the area (Tulemar and Parador, most notably) that have both a private resort setting and access to the beach. I didn’t visit the beach at those resorts so I can’t compare – they seem a little more “private” but also don’t’ allow you to walk to the national park or Espadilla. A lot of the nice resorts are further inland, and you’ll need a quick cab ride to get down to the beach. There are also some hotels that are walking distance to Espadilla, but based on my research none of them offer a resort experience. We really wanted to stay somewhere with a “beach resort” feel, and I think Arenas is the best option if you also want good access to Espadilla and Manuel Antonio. Note that the seclusion and proximity to the beach comes at the price of easy access to stuff in Quepos or on the road down to Manuel Antonio. If being within short walking distance lots of restaurants and shops is important to you, this might not be the best option (it’s quite a hike up to the main road and if you really want to go anywhere in town you’ll have to drive or call a cab).

Summary: Stay here if you want a secluded resort experience with direct access to a great beach, a beautiful jungle setting and the ability to walk to other beaches and the Manuel Antonio park. It might seem pricey on paper, but based on our experience you just can’t beat the location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, this hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views as it is nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging—the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to be awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront And Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.