We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Green Season Value
Burlington, VT
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Magic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I am guilty of using Trip Advisor extensively - but not writing reviews. It is impossible for me, in good conscious, not to take the time after this most spectacular trip -Feb 22-Mar 3. Our family of three, including our 9 year old daughter traveled to Arenas for 9 nights. Most people we met travel around Costa Rica, but we wanted to unpack once. We chose the area because of the Rainforest and immediate access to beaches. We chose the hotel because of the reviews on Trip Advisor. Reading the reviews you might think, "it just can't be thaaat marvelous..." But it is. It is Paradise. Having ended up at enough stuffy, pretentious hotels thinking they were "the best," I now have experienced the best - and it wasn't stuffy and pretentious. The hotel has a limited number of rooms - so even fully booked, you almost always feel like you have the place to yourself. Nobody wakes up at 5 am to block loungers that they won't use all day. I was concerned about the beaches being rough for my 9 year old, based on reviews. However, after being taught how and when to "jump or go under waves," I realized how friendly this beach actually is! You go under a wave, and no problem- at least when we were there. The reviews talk about the staff and it truly is impossible to put into words. Each person is more passionate, kind, engaging then the next. EVERYONE. Ersel is an AMAZING nature guide. The spa was great. The tours, kindly arranged for us by the hotel, were perfect. Of special note is the support the hotel does in the community. Having read on the website how they support a local school (see equilibrium dot com,) we inquired. As the stars aligned, the hotel staff were going to visit the school to deliver uniforms, shoes and school books to the children (funds raised by guest donations). Our family was invited to participate. The genuine love and joy of the employees that guests see - it is no act. Can you believe the staff rebuilt bathrooms and built a lunch room for the children? And the children! Beautiful, appreciative children. What an unbelievable gift to share with my 9 year old- thank you Arenas. Costa Rica is the best place on earth our family has ever visited. The absolute best family vacation we have ever had. If you have the opportunity to enjoy Arenas - don't hesitate. (Rooms, bed, views, location, cleanliness, etc - all absolutely terrific.) Special shout out to Stevie- keep that fire in your heart.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear SnGnS,
Wow... what a review. We almost got tears in our eyes when we read it. We try to really make vacation time very special for all the guests that come to our resort, but we are really flattered by your review and truly moved by how much this trip meant to you and your family. First of all, thanks for visiting us and believing all the great things that other reviewers have talked about. We loved having you with us and hope you come back real soon. We are very happy that your experience at the resort in terms of the rooms, food, service and amenties exceeded your expectations. But we are especially happy that you had the chance to be part of the sustainability work that we do through the hotel and Equilibrium. Thank you for all of your support. We hope that more and more guests take part in those activities and are able to really connect with the local people and make a difference. All the best and greetings to Vermont from warm and sunny Manuel Antonio. A big hug to all of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    791
    113
    28
    16
    7
See reviews for
253
546
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Arenas Del Mar in Manual Antonio March 1-6 2014.
We stayed in a Garden Unit by the Lower Pool area.
I am 60 years old and have done a fair amount of traveling. This hotel is by far one of our best experiences.
Architecturally the hotel was well thought out. It is carved into the jungle to allow the maximum wildlife experience. Manual Antonio National Park is adjacent to the property, but to be honest we saw much more wildlife at the hotel. Monkeys, Sloths, Birds, etc. The Hotel also has several expert guides that will take you anywhere you wish and also provide information on site.
Beaches in Costa Rica are 100 percent public. Arenas del Mar has direct access to 2 spectacular locations that were very private and safe.
I saw several of the other 5 star hotels we had investigated and although I'm sure their quality is comparable, the arena location is by far the best.
The food was excellent. Dinners were gourmet style equal to 4 star Northeast USA Restaurants. I found prices very reasonable based on the quality.
At the end of the day a successful business is based on its people and this is where Arena del Mar was head and shoulders above anywhere I have ever stayed.
Whether it be the wait staff, the guides, the golf cart drivers or front desk personnel. It was clear that there was nothing more important than a guest having a pleasant experience. It was very common for personnel to call you out by name and ask how everything was going. My wife and I had wonderful conversations with several on site employees and quite frankly by the end of our stay it was similar to saying good bye to friends. With any evaluation it is always good to provide feedback for improvement. At the end of my stay I spoke with a manager Gabriel and my only advise to him was on their Website. I felt that the Website did not depict the quality of the Hotel. Had the Frommer's review not have been so positive I may have chosen elsewhere.
Gary & Christine - Connecticut, USA

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Talk about being one with nature! Awesome views! Perfecto staff! Great food! The staff was always helpful with activities and pointing out local wildlife! Loved hearing the waves at night. The rooms and beds were very comfortable! We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemont, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Don't be mislead by the use of "base camp"! This really is a very beautiful hotel with a great staff. The hotel has a couple of naturalists onsite (Ersel and Anya) that are passionate about their work and can't do enough to help you see things you want to see. The hotel also sets up trips to Manuel Antonio and other nearby areas. What the hotel doesn't have, they work with other vendors in the area to make sure you experience everything you want to see/do.

There are two beaches, a large public beach, where you can take surf lessons, and a smaller private beach. A nice bar is located at the private beach. Also a couple of pools on site.

Our room was one of the ocean breeze suites and was very sapcious. A whirlpool is located on the deck. We had a very nice view of the ocean. Two bathrooms, small refrigerator, flat screen t.v. in bedroom. Wi-fi access throughout hotel grounds.

The lodge actually occupies some 11 acres and has several trails you can utilize. Vegetation is cleared from the immediate area of the rooms, probably to discourage "critters" from "visiting", but even so, be sure to keep your patio doors closed and locked. One of the couples in our group was visited by a racoon, who knew how to open the cabinet that contained the refrigerator and subsequently opened the fridge and virtually cleaned out everything. He did leave the money on the counter behind!!!

The only downside was the food! We felt the food was a bit pricey and service in the restaurant was slow. Room service hamburger and fries for $12 was really good.

Not sure about the value as this was part of another great prepaid package we arranged through Vaya Adventures and the hotel prices don't seem to be posted on the hotel website.

I used the term "base camp" as we actually spent very little time at the hotel, rather we took advantage of the various side trips, all of which were associated with the hotel or arranged through the excellent concierge staff. Having said that, I think this is a great hotel for folks who want to simply relax by a nice pool or enjoy a private beach and for sure it is an awesome “base camp”! Purda vida!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel is probably the best place I have ever stayed on vacation. The combination of fantastic setting and impeccable service makes it world class. It is conveniently located near the town of Manuel Antonio, but the property is just far enough from town to be perfectly private.

There is ample beach access to two areas that are both quite private. The staff went above and beyond expectations on a regular basis. The restaurants were both great. Added bonus of having breakfast included is always nice.

Arenas del Mar is truly one-of-a-kind: I will look forward to my next visit there, hopefully soon.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I travel a fair amount. This country and hotel was by far one of the greatest places we have ever stayed. From the accommodations to the friendliness of the team members it was top notch. The service was impeccable. Everyone there could not do enough to help you from the concierges to the cooks. The food was great, rooms spacious and beautiful with great views, activities were fun. Manuel Antonio is a little beach town adjacent to the National Park. The location of the hotel was great and near both. The trails from the hotel beach to the lobby and rooms are very steep. We walked every day, but there are golf carts non stop if you need a ride up or down. The food at the restaurants was excellent. Fresh fish (and I mean fresh!!!) was available at lunch and dinner along with local fruits and vegetables. We never used the spa because we were too busy with all of the activities the area has to offer. The concierges were extremely helpful setting up tours and restaurant reservations. The nature guides were great and informative. Ask for Aracel. He is extremely knowledgeable and a great tour guide for the park. The beach was beautiful and quiet. If you want busy, just walk a mile down to the beach town and you can find surf lessons, parasailing and beach vendors. When you are downtown have lunch and order the fish tacos. So good. Have fun if you go, because there is no way you won't.

Room Tip: Rooms down by the beach are great. There is a pool, restaurant and quiet beach. Views aren't as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed here for four nights while we visited the National Park, etc. The hotel has a beautiful property which they work hard to preserve for the wildlife, which is very nice to see.
We were given a room upgrade, which literally never happens for us, so that was exciting. We had a huge terrace with an amazing view of the beach.
A few points to note-the included breakfast is ordered off a menu. My husband asked for a bit of yoghurt one morning, and he was told there would be an extra charge for that, even though yoghurt was part of another item on the menu. So, we thought for a property like this, presumably higher end, that was a bit nickel and dime.
Also, aside from the included breakfast, I wouldn't recommend the hotel restaurant for any other meals. We just weren't very impressed.
At this hotel, our impression was that any service had an additional charge. They will shuttle you out to the main road, where you need to get to if you want to eat anywhere but the hotel. But the shuttle is not complimentary. And, you can walk, but it is quite a hike, and probably not even safe after dark.
Our impression of the whole area was one of massive over development, which is really sad. They are trying to preserve this little bit of wilderness, these fragile species, and right at the edge of the park there is just frenzied development, restaurants, bars, etc. Just not right. We will not go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, this hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views as it is nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging—the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to be awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront And Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.