We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does not get any better !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica to your Saves list
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay four - pay three
Amstelveen
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It does not get any better !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Staff:

Very friendly, very helpful, they knew our names within a day ! Even doing something extra is not too much to ask. We stayed her for our honeymoon for five nights and one night I asked them to put candles on our balcony, fill the Jacuzzi and put a bottle of champagne on ice outside. No extra charge other than for the bottle of Champagne.

Rooms:

We had book and Ocean view room but got upgraded to a suite when we arrived. The Suite was clean, the bathroom was maybe a little out dated (but I understood they are renovating those as we speak) and the ocean view balcony we had was big (with Jacuzzi) and had a stunning view.

Restaurant:

The restaurant is ok and I guess if yo stay away from wine it is not too expensive. The choice on the menu is maybe a little limited compared to what they serve at the beach bar during lunch but everything we had tasted good. It would be nice if it would be possible to have dinner in the poolbar so that this gives you the option of ordering a pizza for dinner rather than having one for lunch.

ECO-Hotel:

Well the hotel promotes itself as promoting the environment. I also do believe that that is truelly their mission, and here I would like to offer some suggestions:

- When we arrived in our suite, the door to the balcony was open, both air conditioning units were on, as well as the ceiling fans.... not very eco
- As in any hotels you now-a-days see have the signs about recycling your towels. We put them up to dry every day as we do not need an new towel every day...... And yet they got changed every day
- The hotel promotes not feeding the animals and I do beleive that that is a good thing. Feeding monkeys will only lead into increasingly agressiveness towards humans. Yet an one point we saw hotel staff luring monkeys with food. Ok they did not hand over the food but the fact they learn them to come onto hotel grounds as there may be some food out there is not a good thing. I reported this to the reception and they took immediate action..... I hope the message came through....

SPA;

We took a couple massage for about 50 min and paid about 160 USD. Although the massage was nice I think this is a bit overpriced....

Overall:
The hotel may look a bit steep compared to others in the area but it is very very well worth booking this hotel. We had an amazing end of our honeymoon due to the hotel's location, views and service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    120
    29
    17
    7
See reviews for
285
602
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This resort was great! The views were spectacular! I visited with my Mom, sister and 2 aunts and we all had a great time. The breakfast was delicious! Our rooms were comfortable and everyone at the hotel was very friendly and accommidating. The dinner and lunches were good, not much of a selection when it came to Tico food but they had good choices. A little pricey for dinner...but we opted to go out on the town with recommendations from the staff for authentic Tico food which was great! The hotel drove us one night and the other they set up a taxi ride for us. The hotel is on a mountain and there are hills on premesis, but if you cannot walk up these steep inclines, they have 24 hr service to pick you up in a golf-cart! We went on a sustainability tour and tortilla making tour which was so cool! Would definitely go again!

Room Tip: My sister and I stayed in an ocean view room which was amazing! We woke up to the sound of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We enjoyed our 2012 visit so much we decided to return to paradise one more time, and hopefully many more in the future too.
By far this resort is the best we have visited. The rooms are large and luxurious. Staff is remarkably friendly, knowledgable and remember your name from first time you meet them, some even from last year! You can be as lazy and relaxed as you want to be, under the palms on the beach, or adventurous as your body will allow. This year we zip-lined, kayaked thru the mangroves, visited a butterfly garden and went whale watching on jet skis! Also, As a former science teacher, really enjoyed the Sustainability tour of the resort itself and the extreme measures they take to earn and keep their 5 Leaf, like stars, environmental awards. Of course left time every other day, and most afternoons, for our daily rejuvenation on the beach. This place is way far and above "Top of the class". Will definitely be back, can't wait!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Ichowig,
greetings from Manuel Antonio and Arenas del Mar. It was a great pleasure to have you back for a second visit this year. We appreciate your nice comments about your second stay with us. Thanks for your nice words about our sustainability program at the hotel. We are very proud to be Costa Rica's first hotel that achieved 5 Stars AND 5 Sustainability Leaves. And of course, there is nothing like our beach just a few steps from our room. I am glad you left time for some beach time every day. We very much look forward to your next visit with us. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was the perfect resort and area of Costa Rica to end our trip. The staff was wonderfully gracious, the food was superb, the scenery breathtaking, the accommodations delightful, and the spa/massages a touch of class. We highly recommend Arenas del Mar...wonderful location and beautiful place.

Room Tip: Choose the closest building to the main pool-3rd floor for the best view. For most privacy, furthes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place is the best. We have been here 4 times now and will be back again and again. The best is breakfast in the morning overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean and trees and monkeys and colorful birds. Wow, wish we could just stay there.
The excursions are about anything you could want. We went to the "Vanilla Farm" and picked the bark off a tree for Cinnamon, then had a lesson on how to make chocolate then went to the top of a building to see all around for miles and had delicious chocolate cooking and hot chocolate too.
We went on a safari and saw so much on this trip with our guide that it is impossible to describe.
Back to the Hotel where the accommodations are luxurious, having a hugh shower with surround tile and a balcony overlooking the ocean with all the sights and sounds.
In the dining room is an array of wonderful choices every evening to choose from with activities for young and old alike.
If you have not been here, you must treat yourself at least once (you'll be back)

Room Tip: The third floor has the best view. It is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This resort should be on the top of anybody's list of Costa Rican destinations. Overlooking the Manue Antonio National Park and beach, the views from the reception, pool and restaurant areas are spectacular. It is a very plesant walk between the resort and Manuel Antonio Park. My wife and I and friends have been to Arenas Del Mar 4 times. The rooms are spacious and most include verandas with hot tub, lounging area and incredible views. The property is located on a very steep road (but negotiable) and is centered in the rain forest. You can walk between resort activities if you want to, but electric carts are manned at all hours to quitely transport guests between beach, reception, pool etc. Monkeys, birds, butterflies and an overwhelming array of rain forest flora are everywhere. This is no accident since the hotel is one of a few 4-Leaf rated ecology resorts in Costa Rica.
There is a very nice SPA and open air restaurant, as well as a bar and restaurant at the beach. The food is very good and artfully presented.
While these amenities are all first class, it is the outstanding staff that sets this resort apart. To a person, they are helpful, friendly, speak very good english (which is hepful to some Americans) and are knowledgeable and effecient at their jobs. The staff will gladly make arrangements for some of the best fishing in Central America, kayaking through the mangroves, a jetski ride, zip-lining, whitewater rafting or what have you. All are generally nearby. If you want to stay in paradise, help a country that helps itself (the resort helps support a local school and environmental efforts) and kick back with some exciting overtones... this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

If you are into a sustainable life style or not, this place is a treasure. I don't think my husband and I have ever had a better vacation in a resort. Not only is the location incredible- not over stating- but the staff is the best I have ever encountered. Going to sleep at night listening to the ocean was the best, even with the doors closed. The wildlife is everywhere and amazing to watch. The naturalist Ercil ( hope I spelled that correctly) is so enthusiastic. Don't miss a tour with him. We saw a toucan nest, monkeys, a flock of macaws and a viper. Not to mention beautiful flora and fauna. Just go. You will love it.

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, this hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views as it is nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging—the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to be awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront And Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.