We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica to your Saves list
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Green Season Value
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have to say I was disappointed by this hotel. All of the reviews had be excited but when we compared it to the other hotels we stayed at in Costa Rica this one just missed the mark in a few ways.

The positives are that it is one of if not the only hotel in Quepos that is right on the bach which was a nice plus. There are two pools which was also a nice bonus.
Our room seemed clean enough and the beds were very comfortable. One key thing to note is that they DO have black out curtains which was a godsend given the sun comes up so early in Costa Rica.

We enjoyed our afternoon visit by a little cheeky monkey who was out hunting for treats left by other guests on their balconies.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly especially the guys that drive you around in the golf carts.

The negatives would be 1) the food at the hotel is ok. There is nothing wrong with it but its just ok. Nothing we ate was delicoius but it wasn't horrible either. 2) the bathrooms are a bit dated -perhaps it was just the color scheme? 3) no fitness center

Because the hotel is close to the beach you have to walk up and down the hills or take a golf cart to get around. Your car is left at the main gate so its not very convenient to pop out at night to a nearby restaurant or bar as we didn't want to drink and drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Islander 005,
we would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write this review. While we love the reviews that are named Paradise, Beautiful Resort and Pure Indulgence, we know that we can learn a lot from constructive criticism like yours. First of all, thanks for the nice comments on our beachfront and rain forest location as well as the friendliness of the staff. We are sorry that the food did not quite meet your expectations. We are currently working on a new menu to be implemented in November that should really impress you on a future visit. We were a bit surprised about the comments of the blackout. All of our bedrooms have blackout curtains and allow for sleeping in. Not sure what happened there. You will also be happy that by December 1st, all the bathrooms of the hotels will be remodeled and like new. Please come back in 2014 to check them out. Once again, thanks for the great feedback. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    116
    28
    17
    7
See reviews for
282
582
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Arenas del Mar was one of the best resorts we've ever had the pleasure of staying. From the moment of our arrival to the checkout a week later, we were treated like royalty. The staff was amazing, learning all of our names by the 2nd day. The food was delicious and the chef would even take special requests. There were 5 people in our party, 4 adults and a 12 year old boy and we all had the greatest time. The resort is in the rainforest, and on a beautiful private beach. The rooms are very large and decorated impeccably with incredible views of the Pacific Ocean. There were a variety of excursions near by like zip lining, learning to surf, etc. when we weren't enjoying the pool, beach and Manuel Antonio Park. We can't wait to go back and we are recommending it to all our friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We recently got back from Costa Rica, and stayed at this resort for 4 nights. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, the staff goes above and beyond, and the location could not be any better. The rainforest is outside your doorstep, and the beach is a short walk down the hill. Food was fantastic for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Great happy hour every night! We saw monkeys, sloths, lizards, butterflies, etc every day on this resort. We were traveling with my sister, brother in law, and new nephew (1 yr old). The hotel staff was very warm, welcoming, and truly made this resort feel like home. They were fantastic!!!!! We cannot wait to go back:)

Room Tip: The upgraded rooms are worth the $ especially if traveling with a family of 3 or more. The decks we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on out 7 night trip. We spent the week in 3 locations, Playa Hermosa in Guanacaste, Hotel Royal Corin in La Fortuna and Arenas Del Mar near Manuel Antonio National Park. In retrospect we would have given up the 2 days in Playa Hermosa to spend 2 extra days in Arenas Del Mar.

This was a beautiful hotel in a beautiful part of the country. It was a 5 hour drive from Arenal Volcano (la Fortuna). We were tired upon our arrival but we greeted with smiles and great attitutudes. The hotel is about 5 mins off the main road. You park in the lot and they call a golf cart down to pick you up.

On our ride up to reception in the golf cart, our driver Paul stopped to show us a sloth! The while looking at the sloth another staff member pointed out a closer sloth! We had spent 4 days looking for wild life (we saw howler monkeys and a coati on our way to La Fortuna) but this was the first time that we actually shared the same environment with the wild life. It was amazing.

Check in was easy then another ride in the cart to our room. We had room #302b. It was somewhat small but nice. The balcony had an ocean view. There was a small pool below and the smaller beach was a short walk away. They have a larger pool near reception and a larger beach which can be accessed via golf cart.

Golf carts were available 24 hours to take you back to the car or to the beach etc. We walked to reception and the bar when we could to work off some of our meals. It's a small hike but not too bad.

Breakfast was good. We ordered ceviche (a little salty) and sliders ( a burger cut into 4 pieces for $12). The food was ok, on par with Costa Rican standards. Drinks were $6 and good.

We purchased a mango at one of the fruit stands and our bartender graciously cut it up for us! Service was impeccable.

The lotion provided in the room was a little smelly and the towels a little worn. Other than that

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Small details make the biggest impression for me, so when we drove through the lobby of the Arenas del Mar I knew we would not be disappointed. We splurged the last night of our vacation and since my husband wanted to go to the Antonio Manuel National Park this hotel was the perfect fit. The grounds, the private beach, pools, restaurants, staff, service and food were all 5 stars. We spent most of our time at the private beach. We swam, took pictures of monkeys and had lunch on the beach. Dinner and dessert were delicious. Happy hour at the bar had a calypso band and yummy interesting cocktails. My son was a huge fan of the chocolate shake!
The room was AMAZING! We booked on hotels.com and somehow received an upgrade. We did not complain. Our deck had a sunken in Jacuzzi with 180 degree views. Heaven! You are transported all around the property in electric carts. Loved the smoothie upon check-in, nice touch.
Book this hotel...you will not be disappointed. Congrats to the staff for making such a memorable experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Put this vacation on your bucket list! Picturesque property where the rainforest meets the Pacific Ocean. A breathtaking view overlooking the ocean. Surrounded by natural rainforest wildlife. The resort is top-shelf. The staff makes you feel welcome from the minute you arrive. It would be impossible for them to be more accommodating. The food was always fresh and delicious. My kids aged 9, 11 and 12 and are picky eaters. They loved the food! The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The pools were refreshing and the beach access was super convenient. The waves crashing so close to the room was extremely relaxing. The staff arranged outings to a hanging bridges tour and to zip lining. I can’t emphasize enough what a fun, care-free, safe, active and educational adventure vacation this was for my family of 5. The memories are priceless. We rate Arenas Del Mar 5 stars, 5 leaves and 5 smiles!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarzana CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful places on earth and the hotel itself, the grounds, the staff and the wildlife that lives on the property make it all the more special. I cannot single out any of the staff, they were all incredible. One of the guides, however, who works at the resort is exceptionally special. His name is Ersel, and if you want a very exceptional tour through the rain forest, please ask for him personally. We did both the morning and evening "hikes" with Ersel and both were terrific. You can check him out on YouTube. Enter Erselcostarica.
Back to the hotel: our room was close to the lobby (that was very handy, although if you are farther away, the golf cart will pick you up anytime 24/7). If you want to be in town, choose another place. Cab ride is $10 each way (no problem getting a cab). For us, it was worth it in spades. Several good restaurants in town, all prices and easy to get to (for $10). Other excursions we did were white water rafting and zip lining, both booked through the hotel and both excellent. Biggest problem: you will not want to come home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, this hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views as it is nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging—the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to be awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront And Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.