We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica to your Saves list
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay four - pay three
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on out 7 night trip. We spent the week in 3 locations, Playa Hermosa in Guanacaste, Hotel Royal Corin in La Fortuna and Arenas Del Mar near Manuel Antonio National Park. In retrospect we would have given up the 2 days in Playa Hermosa to spend 2 extra days in Arenas Del Mar.

This was a beautiful hotel in a beautiful part of the country. It was a 5 hour drive from Arenal Volcano (la Fortuna). We were tired upon our arrival but we greeted with smiles and great attitutudes. The hotel is about 5 mins off the main road. You park in the lot and they call a golf cart down to pick you up.

On our ride up to reception in the golf cart, our driver Paul stopped to show us a sloth! The while looking at the sloth another staff member pointed out a closer sloth! We had spent 4 days looking for wild life (we saw howler monkeys and a coati on our way to La Fortuna) but this was the first time that we actually shared the same environment with the wild life. It was amazing.

Check in was easy then another ride in the cart to our room. We had room #302b. It was somewhat small but nice. The balcony had an ocean view. There was a small pool below and the smaller beach was a short walk away. They have a larger pool near reception and a larger beach which can be accessed via golf cart.

Golf carts were available 24 hours to take you back to the car or to the beach etc. We walked to reception and the bar when we could to work off some of our meals. It's a small hike but not too bad.

Breakfast was good. We ordered ceviche (a little salty) and sliders ( a burger cut into 4 pieces for $12). The food was ok, on par with Costa Rican standards. Drinks were $6 and good.

We purchased a mango at one of the fruit stands and our bartender graciously cut it up for us! Service was impeccable.

The lotion provided in the room was a little smelly and the towels a little worn. Other than that

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    120
    29
    17
    7
See reviews for
285
602
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Small details make the biggest impression for me, so when we drove through the lobby of the Arenas del Mar I knew we would not be disappointed. We splurged the last night of our vacation and since my husband wanted to go to the Antonio Manuel National Park this hotel was the perfect fit. The grounds, the private beach, pools, restaurants, staff, service and food were all 5 stars. We spent most of our time at the private beach. We swam, took pictures of monkeys and had lunch on the beach. Dinner and dessert were delicious. Happy hour at the bar had a calypso band and yummy interesting cocktails. My son was a huge fan of the chocolate shake!
The room was AMAZING! We booked on hotels.com and somehow received an upgrade. We did not complain. Our deck had a sunken in Jacuzzi with 180 degree views. Heaven! You are transported all around the property in electric carts. Loved the smoothie upon check-in, nice touch.
Book this hotel...you will not be disappointed. Congrats to the staff for making such a memorable experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Put this vacation on your bucket list! Picturesque property where the rainforest meets the Pacific Ocean. A breathtaking view overlooking the ocean. Surrounded by natural rainforest wildlife. The resort is top-shelf. The staff makes you feel welcome from the minute you arrive. It would be impossible for them to be more accommodating. The food was always fresh and delicious. My kids aged 9, 11 and 12 and are picky eaters. They loved the food! The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The pools were refreshing and the beach access was super convenient. The waves crashing so close to the room was extremely relaxing. The staff arranged outings to a hanging bridges tour and to zip lining. I can’t emphasize enough what a fun, care-free, safe, active and educational adventure vacation this was for my family of 5. The memories are priceless. We rate Arenas Del Mar 5 stars, 5 leaves and 5 smiles!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarzana CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful places on earth and the hotel itself, the grounds, the staff and the wildlife that lives on the property make it all the more special. I cannot single out any of the staff, they were all incredible. One of the guides, however, who works at the resort is exceptionally special. His name is Ersel, and if you want a very exceptional tour through the rain forest, please ask for him personally. We did both the morning and evening "hikes" with Ersel and both were terrific. You can check him out on YouTube. Enter Erselcostarica.
Back to the hotel: our room was close to the lobby (that was very handy, although if you are farther away, the golf cart will pick you up anytime 24/7). If you want to be in town, choose another place. Cab ride is $10 each way (no problem getting a cab). For us, it was worth it in spades. Several good restaurants in town, all prices and easy to get to (for $10). Other excursions we did were white water rafting and zip lining, both booked through the hotel and both excellent. Biggest problem: you will not want to come home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our experience at Arenas del Mar was phenomenal. Not only was the hotel staff friendly and wonderful, the hotel itself is incredible--right in the middle of a rainforest. We literally saw monkeys every day, and we were there for 5 days! The staff was very helpful, and fun to talk to. One of the members of staff even brought us home-made ceviche when we expressed interest in his recipe. I can not recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Anaiskicking,
greetings from Manuel Antonio and Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort. Thanks for spending your honeymoon with us. We are thrilled to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations. Your review points out what we consider our great strengths. The location in the rain forest with direct beach access and Ocean views and of course our local staff that will not only try to provide the best service, but also allow you connect with our local culture and customs. In your case, you were able to try some local ceviche. Other guests have been invited to join us for a soccer game at the beach or take part in our salsa dancing lessons. We hope you come back again soon or send your friends and family. Your comments are a great motivator for us to do things even better in the future. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel was amazing. Fantastic views of the ocean through the jungle. Every where we looked there were sloths and iguanas. Wanted to see a few more monkeys but it is nature and that cannot be controlled. The pool and restaurants were fantastic. The service was wonderful. I did have some trouble booking the hotel because their online payment system was down. They allowed me to pay in person after arrival but only after weeks of trying to confirm the reservation which was frustrating. The rooms were okay. Everything felt damp. The bathroom was old. The rooms need to be redone and a dehumidifier system should be put in because even the clothes we did not wear were damp and gross after a couple days. I would still recommend this hotel because of the location, amenities, and service of the hotel but we tried to spend as little time as possible in the room because of the damp environment.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We truly had the best vacation of our lives at Arenas Del Mar. I will limit our many compliments to the key highlights:
1) The property itself is very special. Many (maybe most) hotels in the Manuel Antonio area do not have beach access. Arenas del Mar is right on the beach, including a restaurant with tables on the sand. The lobby/main restaurant and some of the rooms are on a ridge maybe 150 feet above the beach with fantastic ocean views. Other rooms and the beach facilities are below and have great views of the beach and surf. There is an ample staff of very friendly, very helpful assistants that shuttle the guests up and down the hill on golf carts at a moments notice. We found this to be very convenient and very friendly - they often pointed out monkeys, sloths and other wildlife that was around the property at the moment.
2) The animal life is exciting, but not intrusive. We saw sloths, monkeys, iguanas and our favorite - agouties (look it up!) There was also a porcupine that liked to hang out at the beach bar. During our stay we did excursions for zip lining, hanging bridges, and whitewater rafting. All were great fun, and the Arenas staff was able to arrange all of it, including finding us an excellent baby sitter when given only 2 hours notice. I'm sure there are many good ones, but we recommend the head in-house tour guide, Ursell, for visits to the Manuel Antonio Park or the hanging bridges. The rafting on the Savegre river was a particular highlight. We highly recommend a rafting guide at Iguana Tours that goes by the name of "MEGA". He was a good balance of fun and safety.
2) The food is very good, including breakfast, which has complimentary fresh juice, baked treats and fruit. Our 6 year old son asked for Froot Loops cereal since there is a toucan on the box and real toucans live near the resort. The next day, the waiter was pleased to report to him that they had bought some Froot Loops for him!
Overall, a fun, relaxing place with high-level service that is also family-friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, this hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views as it is nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging—the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to be awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront And Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.