We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit more expensive, but you certainly get what you pay for.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Save Saved
You added Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Green Season Value
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A bit more expensive, but you certainly get what you pay for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Another quiet and peaceful location and from our top floor room we looked out on the Pacific Ocean and south the Manuel Antonio National Park. The grounds are busy with wildlife - white faced capuchins, sloths, Halloween crabs, iguanas and lots of butterflies with frigate birds flying between the shore and the off-shore islands.

Food and service is very good and the rooms are very well appointed in fact it is a place for quite a bit of self indulgence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    790
    113
    28
    16
    7
See reviews for
252
546
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Don't know where to start with talking about this wonderful place. The staff is incredible and they made us feel like family. The customer service was better than we have ever experienced anywhere in the world. When there was something to see on the grounds, they would stop and tell us about what was going on and what the animals were doing. They seemed as excited about the wildlife and the area as we were.
We stayed in building 5 with a jungle view. It was quiet, private and so comfortable. Snacks/drinks/water were provided free of charge in our room, turn down service was really a second room cleaning, never had that happen before! The sheets were so soft, it was hard to get out of bed. The room (not a word I would use for it) was spacious with 2 sitting areas (sofa area and table area), curtained off bedroom, huge bathroom, walk in closet, patio, private outdoor tub. Amazing
The trails through the property were great for bird watching and wildlife viewing. Easy, but hilly walk to either of 2 beaches on the property, but you don't have to walk, they'll take you there in a cart.
Restaurant had really great food. Nice selection for breakfast and dinner. The tuna was outstanding and also the sea bass. Great views of the ocean from the restaurant. Nice bar area with happy hour every night.
Tours were set up for us with a private company kayak tour in the mangroves. On another tour one of the hotel's naturalists, Ersel gave us a wonderful tour of Manuel Antonio Park. He was so knowledgeable and made the tour very special. He had videos of things he had seen in the park prior to our visit which he shared with us, just amazing.
This is a top-notch resort that has trained its staff well. They are all warm, helpful, knowledgeable and strive to make you really hate to leave.
One bit of warning: The driveway down into the resort entrance is a cliff!! The sign for the resort isn't very good, so trust your GPS, turn down into that steep path and it will lead to the hotel welcome gate. It is a scary driveway!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent a week at Arenas del Mar and could have stayed another week. You will not run out of things to do here! There are numerous activities to choose from like zip lining, bird watching, park tours, surfing, horseback riding and more. Plus, you have to get in your requisite pool and relaxation time. There are two pools at this hotel and the pool located near the restaurant was barely used. We felt like we had our own private pool with an ocean view.

One of our favorite parts of the day was breakfast. Each morning, there's a different type of fresh juice made and a plate of fresh fruit is brought to the table. The mango pancakes are so delicious, you'll want to eat them every morning. The service is rather remarkable. They'll accommodate any request you may have whether it's how you want your eggs cooked or a special type of bird you're looking to see.

The resort itself is beautifully built: gorgeous rooms with comfy beds and balconies with cozy couches you can curl up on for an afternoon nap. Each room has a refrigerator with some local snacks that are free of charge. The showers are huge and luxurious - the perfect way to relax after a long day of hiking and seeing the park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We loved this hotel and location so much that we are going back. The staff were super sweet, rooms lovely and location was spot on.You were truly in a rainforest and will meet monkeys and sloths. We celebrated our anniversary on the beach with dinner from the resort.
The beach is gorgeous and so is the location with lots of explore.

Room Tip: They are all good. But the once's in the garden are directly by the private beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, FL
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Driving down the STEEP driveway to the entrance we were not sure what we had gotten into! But after entering the resort and seeing the views we were very happy!! The staff has been great and very helpful. We had an ocean view room in building 4. This is about halfway between the lobby and beach area. Our visit was during the green season (rainy) but that did not interfere much. Visited the park and a zip line during our long weekend stay for a wedding. We did not eat in the restaurant other then breakfast which was very good.

Room Tip: We chose an ocean view superior room. Our view was across trees to the beach. Not a direct view bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I just got back from staying at this beautiful resort. It was our Honeymoon. We had been traveling around Costa Rica and staying at different hotels and except for staying with our friends in San Jose, this hotel was the best place ever. Of course before we left, we felt that the staff was our personal friends, they made us feel right at home. Loved everything about the place. Our room had a beautiful view of the Pacific, the food was great and the service was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My whole experience at Arenas del Mar was just wonderful! Situated on the cliffs in the rainforest, the location is fabulous and accommodations are spacious and comfortable. On our first night we were treated to a special dinner served at tables set up on one of their private beaches with clown crabs racing around the beach. The cuisine that evening and in the restaurant the rest of the week was simply delicious. The staff are friendly, attentive and genuinely happy to be there. With my limited Spanish vocabulary it was comforting that the staff spoke and wanted to speak English. Breakfast was served around the pool as the birds flew in and out and the howler monkeys made their way through the trees. The guides on staff are excellent and accommodated our requests for special sightings and photos. A truly lovely resort that I would visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, this hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views as it is nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging—the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to be awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront And Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.