We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica to your Saves list
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Barbara
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best nature trip ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

View from balcony was spectacular. You could see Manuel Antonio Nat'l Park. Beautiful birds everywhere. Sloths, white faced monkeys and howler monkeys made daily appearances. Breakfast by the pool and lunch by the ocean were unbeatable. The staff was always attentive, friendly and happy to be there. They appreciated the nature as much as us tourists. Ersel the nature guide was the best. We went with him on birding tours daily and he never disappointed. I got to see the rare Resplendent Quetzal on my 50th bday thanks to him. Something I'll never forget. We had a blast! You know you experienced a special vacation when you are sad to leave.

I would have preferred a room in the A group. They are more spacious and have a tiled spa tub on the balcony. Our fault we booked late. The room was nice and clean.

If you go, you have to book a trip or two or three with Ersel. He really made the trip an unforgettable one. Tell him Susan from Utah sent you and that you want to see a white-crested coquette (a rare hummingbird). You might not see one but it will be fun trying.

We would return and I don't say that very often. In fact I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Get a room with a tiled spa tub on the balcony. They are larger. I think the building closest to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    119
    29
    17
    7
See reviews for
284
598
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

this was a great hotel. staff here (specially the front desk, reception and the cart drivers) were very friendly. they made us feel like this was our 2nd home. there are lots of animals to see. breakfast was great. for dinner, we ended up going to other restaurants in town such as gaia hotel, victorias italian - amazing food. lots of activities to do in the area. beach at the end of april when we went was nice but we felt guanacaste (north west) beaches were nicer. beaches here are more for surfing i felt.

Room Tip: we had the ocean view room.. amazing!!! i highly recommend this one room type.. beautiful view.. hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughquag, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I travel quite a bit for business and pleasure, so my standards are high. Our trip to Costa Rica and in particular, our stay at the Arenas del Mar was out of this world. The hotel, the food, the environs, and most importantly the staff, made this our best vacation ever. We will return!

Room Tip: Building 4 seams to have the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear ddenisoff,
Greetings from Arenas del Mar and Manuel Antonio National Park. Thanks for taking the time to write such a "to the point" review of your stay with us. We are sure that this is appreciated by many travelers. We are very proud that we were able to meet your very high standards of a seasoned traveler. This is a great motivation for us to work even harder on getting all the details right every time. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and the hotel, but are especially excited about your comments about the staff. We agree that service makes all the difference in the world. We hope that your busy travel schedule allows you to come back and stay with us again in the near future. All the best and Pura Vida!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

situated on the edge of Manuel Antonio park, and in the jungle at the water's edge, with spectacular sunsets over the water, This hotel/resort has everything. There are monkeys on the property, sloths in the trees, beautiful birds - and no bugs. Iguanas patrol the patio. Breakfasts are wonderful around the pool, with ocean views. Service is excellent. It is easy to walk along the beach into town, and to the park - a wonderful nature preserve. The hotel itself is excellent with excellent amentities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Arenas del Mar is a wonderful boutique hotel that offered our family (kids 17 and 14) a place to truly reconnect. The rooms were spacious enough, clean and well maintained. The unbelievable view of the ocean from our balcony was quite stunning. The staff was warm and truly professional. The meals were exquisitely prepared, offering a good variety of typical local food with a sophisticated twist.
Playing in the rough waves was by far the most memorable parts of our stay there. Pure delectable fun that brings out the kid in you...
The lunches at the beach were very enjoyable as well...we felt like we were alone...far far away from everything. We cannot wait to return....

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the the last floor with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for several days for our 10th anniversary. Everything was wonderful. The staff, present 24 hours a day, are instantly available. Both restaurants offer a large regional variety of great food. The northern beach is private and secluded whereas the southern beach has people, culture and a town nearby. Very romantic and great for kids too.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Not much to add to the reviews for this resort that have not been said before about this lovely resort. We stayed in an Ocean Breeze Suite which was extremely comfortable with everything you could possibly want – large bed, two bathrooms, fridge, coffee making facilities and of course the huge terrace with the hot tub. The only minor fault with the room was the lack of drawer space but other than that, it was certainly one of the best rooms I have stayed in.

All staff were great but the guys that drove the golf carts seemed to be the most genuine and it was them we usually asked for tips on places to visit. Location was perfect – we were glad we chose to stay on the beach as it made for a lovely lazy holiday and from the hotel you can easily walk to the National Park and back (approx. 20 / 30 mins walk along the beach). On an evening taxis are fairly reasonable but we found the hotel and resort to be very quiet on an evening with minimal nightlife - most places were deserted after 10pm.

Getting to the hotel is a bit of an experience – the first time we drove over the bump and down the steep hill to the hotel I had my eyes closed!

To sum it up, this place is excellent for a bit of relaxation in very comfortable accommodation with beautiful surroundings. I could quite happily go back if it wasn’t so far away from the UK.

Room Tip: We were in the building near the beach which was great for the convenience of being able to pop back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, this hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views as it is nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging—the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to be awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront And Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.