We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica to your Saves list
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Green Season Value
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A sanctuary...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Arenas del Mar is a wonderful boutique hotel that offered our family (kids 17 and 14) a place to truly reconnect. The rooms were spacious enough, clean and well maintained. The unbelievable view of the ocean from our balcony was quite stunning. The staff was warm and truly professional. The meals were exquisitely prepared, offering a good variety of typical local food with a sophisticated twist.
Playing in the rough waves was by far the most memorable parts of our stay there. Pure delectable fun that brings out the kid in you...
The lunches at the beach were very enjoyable as well...we felt like we were alone...far far away from everything. We cannot wait to return....

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the the last floor with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    114
    28
    17
    7
See reviews for
278
569
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for several days for our 10th anniversary. Everything was wonderful. The staff, present 24 hours a day, are instantly available. Both restaurants offer a large regional variety of great food. The northern beach is private and secluded whereas the southern beach has people, culture and a town nearby. Very romantic and great for kids too.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Not much to add to the reviews for this resort that have not been said before about this lovely resort. We stayed in an Ocean Breeze Suite which was extremely comfortable with everything you could possibly want – large bed, two bathrooms, fridge, coffee making facilities and of course the huge terrace with the hot tub. The only minor fault with the room was the lack of drawer space but other than that, it was certainly one of the best rooms I have stayed in.

All staff were great but the guys that drove the golf carts seemed to be the most genuine and it was them we usually asked for tips on places to visit. Location was perfect – we were glad we chose to stay on the beach as it made for a lovely lazy holiday and from the hotel you can easily walk to the National Park and back (approx. 20 / 30 mins walk along the beach). On an evening taxis are fairly reasonable but we found the hotel and resort to be very quiet on an evening with minimal nightlife - most places were deserted after 10pm.

Getting to the hotel is a bit of an experience – the first time we drove over the bump and down the steep hill to the hotel I had my eyes closed!

To sum it up, this place is excellent for a bit of relaxation in very comfortable accommodation with beautiful surroundings. I could quite happily go back if it wasn’t so far away from the UK.

Room Tip: We were in the building near the beach which was great for the convenience of being able to pop back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The staff was welcoming and extremely attentive without being over bearing throughout the five days we were there. Everyone knew our names by the second day. Concierge was very helpful with recommendations and helped us plan out excursion trips such as zip-lining and rainforest tour.
Room was comfortably designed and having a private veranda was a bonus. Very soft sheets, relaxing bed and a huge shower also came with the room. Food in both restaurants were excellent with a local flair (which is seafood). The private beach was steps away from our room and that was truly amazing. We were there everyday even though the waves were powerful.
I highly recommend Arenas Del Mar and cannot wait to be back in the near future. It truly was one of the most memorable vacations I've had.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park Center, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent 6 days in April 2013 at the fabulous resort. We arrived at the airport 4 hours late due to a problem on our plane, but there was Bernie waiting for us as we cleared customs. He was very gracious and made our drive to the resort very pleasant. He stopped at Crocodile Bridge and told us so much about Costa Rica. When we arrived at the resort it was late and we were greeted with a cold refreshing drink. Heiner kindly offered to let us postpone the check in procedure until the morning but we chose to do it right away. We were then brought to our suite- 401. It was spacious and very well decorated. We ordered room service as we were hungry and tired and it was brought to us very promptly.
When we woke up and went out on the balcony we were greeted by a spectacular view of the ocean and the rainforest. We had our own private jacuzzi and two sitting areas. We had our first visit by a group of monkeys on our balcony that morning as well as a variety of iguanas and other lizards.
We chose this resort because we just wanted a peaceful, restful vacation and to see monkeys- and this was the perfect place. The grounds were beautiful and Playita Beach was fabulous. We always walked down to the beach but took advantage of the cart ride back up the hill. Thanks to Alexander, Brandon and Paul for all their help and kindness as they drove us around the property.
Thanks also to Jorge for his friendly chats and advice whenever we saw him. Thanks also to Alan for helping us arrange for transportation to Quepos and Manuel Antonio.
We had a great breakfast every morning which was included and we had two fabulous dinners at the resort. We had a great dinner at Kappi Kappi and another at sunset at El Avion which was excellent. We also had dinner at El Gran Escape in Quepos which was very good, so there are plenty of places to eat near the resort.
We spent hours sitting at the beautiful beach in the shade of a tropical tree, walking along the beach and reading. Everyday the monkeys came to the beach and were so much fun to watch. There was a sloth in a tree right above us at the beach. The water was too rough to swim but we could go in a little ways which was fine with me. There are two beautiful pools to be enjoyed- one of which is an infinity pool near the ocean.
I would highly recommend this resort... the seclusion,spectacular views,plants and wildlife, the delicious food and beverages, along with the wonderful, friendly service and attention to detail, makes this a fabulous destination.
Lastly we would like to thank Bernie for all he did for us to make our stay special. He picked us up at the airport, he took us in the hotel van each night where we wanted to go and came back to pick us up. He always seemed genuinely interested in seeing we had a good time, offering suggestions and advice. He made our trip back to the airport fun as he stopped at a nice shopping area for one last chance to buy some nice souvenirs. Thanks Bernie.
I know there were others that made our stay wonderful so may I just say... Thanks to all for making our stay wonderful... And we would love to come back soon. God bless. Barbara and Neil

Room Tip: Room 401 had ocean and rainforest views, and a private jacuzzi on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Vermont
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We just spent 5 nights at the property, and found it to be an outstanding property. If you don't know much about Costa Rica or this property (and we didn't, prior to arrival), here are some points to consider:

* Costa Rica is a really beautiful country, and the area around this hotel (near Manuel Antonio park) is especially impressive--- beautiful area near the coastline, with amazing hill views of the ocean

* the local town (Quepos) is ok but not super interesting; there are however other interesting hotel properties in the area

* Arenas del Mar combines a really pleasant set of buildings (we stayed in Building 1, down by the beach, and it is a great location with an impressive view of the beach, as well as a very luxorious and functional room); we would especially recommend Room 102A--- fantastic view of the ocean, right up on the beach.

* Probably the most noteworthy aspect of Arenas del Mar is the service provided by the staff and the overall attitude--- extremely helpful, very positive and proactive approach, everybody speaks English well. Just as an example, staff members came to find us to tell our 10 and 13 year olds that there were monkeys to be seen up by the main lodge.

* The food at the restaurant is certainly good, but is a bit on the "homestyle" side; the best choices seemed to be the local items (e.g., fish) and Costa Rican recipes. Again, the key aspect is service and outstanding attitude; but if you come here expecting Michelin 1-star quality meals, you will be disappointed,

* There are a number of tours available through the hotel--- your stay will be materially enhanced by taking one or more. We did the zipline (canopy) tour, and while it was fun, I would not recommend it for folks who don't really like heights. We also did a nice walking tour of Manuel Antonio with a nature guide--- really interesting if you like that sort of thing.

Overall, our expectations were met and materially exceeded here. We would happily return (tomorrow). It is a long trip from the east Coast of the U.S.--- basically one full day door to door for us.

Room Tip: Try the ocean suites (down by the beach)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The three nights our family spent here in April left us wanting for more! This was our first stop in Costa Rica and was a great introduction to the country. We dealt directly with the hotel and they were extremely helpful with driving directions, accommodation choices and local recommendations.

We stayed in an Ocean Breeze suite, and this was perfect with our teenager. The accommodations are huge! Our teen had his own bed on a pull out couch in a large sitting room and his own bathroom, and my husband and I enjoyed the master suite and gigantic master bath! Our room faced the ocean and had a large patio that encompassed both the sitting room and master suite. The patio was completely furnished with comfy chairs, couches and table. A sunken hot tub was in the middle of the patio and was a great place to enjoy the sunrise and sunset. Did I forget to mention the iguanas that sunbathed right in front of the railing!

The staff was friendly, and genuinely interested in customer service. The property is quite hilly, and the car park is probably 1/8 of a mile from the hotel itself. Extensive use is made of golf carts to transport guests from the welcome pavilion/car park area to the hotel proper. At first we felt funny calling for carts, but the staff was so generous that it became another chance to get to talk to 'Tico's', or take a walk

Our only constructive comment is with regards to the breakfast service. The food was quite good, but one needs to allow one hour. This is non-negotiable. The kitchen just needs one hour for everything. Most of the tours leave quite early, so the 'leisurely' breakfast pace needs to be planned into your time frame. We didn't figure this out until the day we left and it made for stressful breakfasts. It would help if the staff would advise guests upon check-in that an hour is needed. We ate lunch down at the Playitas Grill and the pace was fine. An alternative would be to figure out how to speed up breakfast service or provide a buffet option

The location of the hotel is great for activities in the Manuel Antonio area. The town of Manuel Antonio can be walked to along the beach and taxis are plentiful for a night time return. We used both beaches and liked them both. The beaches here have good waves for body surfing, but are a little rougher if you want to paddle around in calm water. The water temperature was divine!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, this hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views as it is nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging—the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to be awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront And Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.