We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Green Season Value
Lincoln, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed 5 nights here in Feb 2013 and I would highly recommend this property to anyone. This was by far our favorite stop in Costa Rica. The hotel is quiet, relaxing, family friendly and offers spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and Manuel Antonio.
We stayed in a premium suite on the hilltop and loved our room. The balconies on the premium suites are very large and offer multiple views as they wrap around the building. Our balcony was nicely furnished with comfortable furniture and had great spots to cozy up with a book, while monkeys and birds passed by regularly. In fact while we were watching one monkey in a tree his partner ran in our room and attempted to raid the refrigerator. The room furnishings and bathrooms are not ultra luxurious but are tastefully decorated and the views and balcony are so spectacular that it is not an issue. The beds are very comfortable with quality linens and comforters. All of the electrical wiring and fixtures are US style so voltage converters are not required.
The swimming pools are small but very conducive to small children and peaceful relaxation as they are never crowded.
The resort uses golf carts to transport people so there are no cars beyond a certain point. This helps to maintain the jungle feel of the property. The grounds surrounding the property are kept very natural and lend to the natural beauty of the resort. The amount of wildlife that can be seen from the property is outstanding. We had great sightings every day. The Iguana makes regular visits to unsuspecting diners at breakfast!
The beaches are quiet and beautiful. The surf can be a little rough for small children however for a change of pace we visited a protected cove a short ride away (end of the long driveway). The hotel shuttle dropped us off and picked us up. This water is almost tide and current free and has snorkeling rentals on site.
We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast each morning. The dinner on the beach was also a worthwhile treat. The main restaurant for dinner was ok but not my favorite. We ate better food at restaurants in town a short cab ride away. Using cabs we felt completely safe traveling with a six year old. As a side note we only encountered wonderful helpful people in our entire stay in Costa Rica. We ate lunch at the lower restaurant on the beach a couple days and it was ok.
As amazing as the scenery and property is the staff members just may be the crown jewel, they really deliver above and beyond with great sincerity. They are all incredibly friendly and helpful. Roger is amazing and is worth seeking out for a natural tour. The tortilla tour is a local tour and is great fun. My daughter and momma really took a liking to one another. If your travels bring you to this area I highly recommend staying here. You will be hard pressed to find a better place to stay. It is with partial reluctance that I rave so highly about this place…Please save a room for me when I return.

Room Tip: We had a premium suite with an ocean view and I would do the same again. However I think the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    820
    113
    28
    17
    7
See reviews for
271
554
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scituate, MA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I have traveled all around the world and have found one of the best places on the planet. The staff (especially Ersel, Rodbin, Roger and Alexander) could easily meet Four Seasons standards. They just really want you to feel comfortable and welcome and will go to any lengths to make. We are checking out this am and a knock came to the door at 6:30. Rodbin knew we liked coffee in the morning and that we were checking out so he just brought it to us. Amazing. This is an ecolodge with monkeys, iguanas and various other wildlife above the roaring Pacific with two beaches. You walk down the (almost deserted) beach to get to Manuel Antonia and the nature park.
I like luxury and the best hotels, but often feel they can be too stiff and not relaxed enough. This is different. Beautiful rooms with a huge veranda and breathtaking views. The food is good but not great (kind of a more general issue in Costa Rica) but there are lots of other choices a short cab ride away. Arenas del Mar is a top-notch, must-try keeper.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great location with amazing views of two beaches - a private one and a public beach. Located in a quite area but close enough to access local restaurants in town, not that you need to as the food at the hotel was fantastic. Some of the best we had in all of Costa Rica. Breakfast choice limited to al a carte as abundance of monkeys prevents a buffet - a more extensive menu choice would be good though. Good choice of wines and beers as well.
Service was second to none from all staff - very friendly, always keen to help, and always with a smile. The national park is also worth a visit, although if you have seen other rainforest areas in Costa Rica, then this one might be a little disappointing. Spa a little on the expensive side.
Would I go back to Arenas del Mar - without hesitation!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms on second floor up have a balcony with great views. One room in each of the blocks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Everything is perfect, except the surf for the inexperienced was unapproachable at the small beach closest to our unit. We had a wonderful Ocean front suite and highly recommend that.
Food was good. We arranged with the hotel for private tours to the national park and hanging bridges and to go kayaking in the mangroves and were well pleased.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We loved this hotel! Beautiful grounds, great breakfast, and wonderful service. Highly recommended! You get both the beach and the jungle.. We saw monkeys, slothes, and iguanas on resort grounds. Free fresh coconut on the beach and breakfast was soooo good. You get fresh pastries, fruits, and choice of one item from the menu.

Room Tip: Ask for suite with partial ocean view, steps to pool and small beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is probably the most amazing hotel I've ever been to. The grounds, rooms, and beach are beautiful, quiet, and comfortable. There are tons of giant iguanas hanging around and at times troops of monkeys romping around (early in the morning, aka 6am, we saw about 15 monkeys swinging through the trees in front of our room then parading across the roof of the reception area and restaurant. I also saw an iguana literally steal a croissant from someone's breakfast table by the pool…although I think there was a little boy who set it out as bait and encouraged the iguana to come get it.
The staff here is SO friendly and accommodating. Yes, you need a golf cart to take you down to the beach (if your room is at the top of the hill), but there are always several at the reception area waiting to take you down. The beach is beautiful, private, classy (wicker beach chairs!) and there were always chairs available (even though the hotel was at capacity). The beach service and service at the restaurant close to the beach is pretty slow, but that's the only complaint I have about this place.
We stayed in an ocean view superior room in building seven (at the very top of the hill next to the pool/restaurant/reception area…there are 6 buildings that are planted going down the hill) which I loved because our room was on the top level and above all the other buildings so there was complete privacy (which lended itself quite nicely to naked sunbathing on our balcony!). The room was beautifully furnished and the mattresses were SO comfortable. While the room itself isn't huge, the wrap-around balcony with amazing ocean views was GREAT. There's a sink, countertop, coffee maker, mini fridge, comfy couches and a mini table outside on the balcony. They restock the mini fridge with fun local snacks and beverages every day…which is included in the price!
The food at the restaurant is good but the dinner menu doesn't have very many options for people who don't like seafood.
I was so pleasantly surprised by the fact that the breakfast, which is included, was NOT a buffet, but in fact you're given a menu with a ton of options, all of which are DELICIOUS.
I wouldn't recommend the spa because it's really expensive and my mani/pedi didn't last very long.
Also, if you're thinking of doing the candlelit dinner on the beach when it's offered, don't. It isn't well lit, there aren't very many menu choices, and there's fist-sized crabs running around (which I found to be terrifying). The service was also pretty slow for that meal.
All in all, this was the most amazing hotel I've ever been to. It definitely has the best location of all the other hotels in the area. I will totally be back one day!!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view superior room. Totally worth the extra money. The view of the ocean was fabulo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We loved this place! Staff was extremely accommodating. Our "room" which was really 2 rooms with 1 large bath and 1 small one, was perfect for our family - including 2 teens. We had a large balcony as well looking out at the beach, the trees, sometimes full with monkeys, and partial ocean view. We loved being able to walk right out to the beach. (there are rooms up by the restaurant and main building as well). Food was good and concierge was great. So many things to do in the area and then come back and chill. Great vacation spot!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, this hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views as it is nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging—the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to be awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront And Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.