We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica to your Saves list
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Green Season Value
Watertown, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing at it's best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I concluded our trip to Costa Rica with a 5 night stay. After a cool and rainy period in the northern area rain and cloudforest, we looked forward to the warmth and sun at the beach. We stayed in an Ocean Breeze Suite on the top floor of Building 1 down near the private beach. This was a very convenient location. We loved listening to the ocean surf at night. The staff is top notch and remembers everyone's names and activities and alway asked how our day and latest adventure went. The beds were extremely comfortable. The food was just OK. Breakfast was made to order, however, we would have preferred some kind of buffet style. The complimentary snacks in the room min-bar were a nice touch, but getting water or any kind of beverages (other than coffee which we do not drink) was challenging. We definitely would have purchased beer or soft drinks from the mini-bar if they were available. We saw monkeys outside out room as well as slothes in the trees. We saw a couple of amazing sunsets and had a wonderful experience on a morning beach walk witnessing a mother turtle who had just layed her eggs making her way back to the sea. The private beach and being close to the National Park Manuel Antionio make this hotel a very good choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    114
    28
    17
    7
See reviews for
278
571
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

*******One of my favorite views of Manuel Antonio, I could feel in the clouds, so close to heaven.
You can enjoy oceanfront with "house burger" (playitas) and then rest in comfortable beds.
The sound of the stronge waves at high tide offering good karma /:)
and to dismiss the day, a walk among the trails, is just perfect.

A fact of among view, excellent food, private beach, good service, comfortable rooms and a special boutique, all at a price level of Manuel Antonio.


Arenas del Mar is of course a place in the world that you want to return*******

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I chose Arenas del Mar for a last minute weekend vacation trip. While we had an enjoyable and memorable trip (thanks to a beach walk by moonlight), we are not yearning to return. A good hotel but not wow!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 5 days at Arenas Del Mar. Location is great and staff is top notch - everyone we met was super friendly and helpful. For the price paid we felt the rooms were a little tired and could use a refresh but they were perfectly fine and the beds comfortable. Certainly not a deal breaker. We enjoyed walking around exploring the grounds and watching the monkeys from our balcony in the evening. The beaches were beautiful and the water super warm.

We booked a tour of Manuel Antonio through the hotel. I highly recommend asking for Roger, he was a great guide!

A few small things: You are kind of isolated so I really wish the mini-fridge was better stocked (I would have been happy to pay) with bottled water, maybe some Imperials, and snacks. Sometimes you just want to grab something and go, not have to wait around and order from room service or at the restaurant, etc. Also, you better like eggs for breakfast as 75% of the menu contains eggs of some form (fine by me but my wife doesn't care for them). It would also be nice if they had a small gym - just a couple of treadmills would do.

Tip: Halfway through our stay we walked down to the public beach where they have some grocery stores. Maybe a 20 minute walk. It was 10am and already blazing hot but worth it. We picked up snacks, bottled water, and beer (one store had a surprisingly large wine selection too).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Arenas del Mar is an excellent small {39 rooms} luxury place right on the beach...It has its own grounds for birding and its own monkeys that will come to your balcony to use your jacuzzi. We had a wonderful small suite overlooking the smaller and nicer of the hotels two beaches. There are two small but adequate swimming pools, a very accommodating staff who zip you to and from your room on golf carts , a great bird guide, Roger. who you can hire to go on private tours, a wonderful driver, Bernie, who will spot birds for you as you drive. I would have given it 5 stars but for the fact that the food at dinner is only O.K. There are many places in the Manuel Antonio area to dine at a short drive away so stay here and enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our last location while visiting Costa Rica. It was perfect in every way. The location was nestled into the rainforest and right on the beach. Our room overlooked the ocean and we were treated to beautiful sunsets. We enjoyed relaxing on the beach under the shade of the almond trees. It is a great spot to just relax or take advantage of seeing the beautiful flora and fauna.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you are looking for a fantastically beautiful, yet quiet, vacation, this is a great place to visit. Surrounded by rain forest and animal life (not in intrusive way), right on the beach, and walking distance to the national park, with staff who are extremely helpful and pleasant. Ceviche is must, and breakfast was wonderful! Can't wait to go back and take children.

Room Tip: Always nice to face beach, but unique to face rain forest as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear BRMCc3,
greetings from sunny Manuel Antionio and Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort. Thanks for your great and concise to the point review of our hotel. In a few words you said it all. Beachfront, secluded, wildlife and rain forest and walking distance to the Manuel Antonio National Park. We truly have a very privileged location. We are especially happy to hear your positive comments about the service and staff and agree with you that the ceviche is not to be missed. But then again, when you sit at the beach under the palm trees with your feet in the sand, everthing tastes like glory, right? We look forward to having you back with your family real soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, this hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views as it is nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging—the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to be awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront And Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.