We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Green Season Value
connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“wonderful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Arenas del Mar is an excellent small {39 rooms} luxury place right on the beach...It has its own grounds for birding and its own monkeys that will come to your balcony to use your jacuzzi. We had a wonderful small suite overlooking the smaller and nicer of the hotels two beaches. There are two small but adequate swimming pools, a very accommodating staff who zip you to and from your room on golf carts , a great bird guide, Roger. who you can hire to go on private tours, a wonderful driver, Bernie, who will spot birds for you as you drive. I would have given it 5 stars but for the fact that the food at dinner is only O.K. There are many places in the Manuel Antonio area to dine at a short drive away so stay here and enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    792
    113
    28
    16
    7
See reviews for
253
547
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our last location while visiting Costa Rica. It was perfect in every way. The location was nestled into the rainforest and right on the beach. Our room overlooked the ocean and we were treated to beautiful sunsets. We enjoyed relaxing on the beach under the shade of the almond trees. It is a great spot to just relax or take advantage of seeing the beautiful flora and fauna.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you are looking for a fantastically beautiful, yet quiet, vacation, this is a great place to visit. Surrounded by rain forest and animal life (not in intrusive way), right on the beach, and walking distance to the national park, with staff who are extremely helpful and pleasant. Ceviche is must, and breakfast was wonderful! Can't wait to go back and take children.

Room Tip: Always nice to face beach, but unique to face rain forest as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear BRMCc3,
greetings from sunny Manuel Antionio and Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort. Thanks for your great and concise to the point review of our hotel. In a few words you said it all. Beachfront, secluded, wildlife and rain forest and walking distance to the Manuel Antonio National Park. We truly have a very privileged location. We are especially happy to hear your positive comments about the service and staff and agree with you that the ceviche is not to be missed. But then again, when you sit at the beach under the palm trees with your feet in the sand, everthing tastes like glory, right? We look forward to having you back with your family real soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This place is heaven on earth. The only hotel where you can walk on the beach with direct access. Staff at your beck and call (loved Robbie and Alex, our golf cart drivers). Monkeys playing overhead, the sound of surf from your balcony. Private beach (no-one selling maracas and parasailing).
They even helped get us a doc when we had an injury, and handled our credit card transaction when the banks/docs would not take cards. These people are so service oriented, and the view from every place on site is just incredible. I cannot IMAGINE how anyone could give this place less than 5 stars. We have been all over the world and NEVER say "we would totally come back here" and we would here...this place is THAT good. Pura Vida.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited in January. When we arrived at arenas del mar we were immediately greeted by hotel staff. We then were taken to lobby where Ronny explain the resort. He was amazingly helpful, smart and funny. We were then taken to our room, beautiful, spacious and clean. From our first hour at arenas del mar to the last second, was a dream come true. Hotel is located on the beautiful beach with two pools. Great people, beautiful hotel, and great customer service. We will be back! Thank you, Ronny Sergio Alex Gabriel and Ariel. Our trip would not have been the same without you. Ryan an Tina demilio

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I agree with most of the five star reviews but have a few small items that prevent me from giving a five.
I booked direct with the resort and had no troubles, they arranged our transfer from Quepos air strip.
Arrival- WOW. Resort is beautiful and the staff are terrific. We loved meeting all the managers, guest service employees etc. we arrived at 11:00am and our room was ready right away.

Room- we booked the ocean breeze room(not suite). Ended up in room 202b. Probably the worst room on the property. It looks straight out on to the cart and walking path. No privacy at all! You could not even leave the drapes open because everyone could see in. After complaining to various levels of management we were relocated to a better room. 303b, same style. Way more private, looking out on jungle and some beach through the trees.

Service - mostly outstanding. All staff aim to please and will go above and beyond to satisfy. Having said this, on several occasions the service was very slow. Lunch took over an hour to arrive at our table, drinks on the beach took a long time and one day we did not receive any beach service at all. We did end up having to move rooms each day ( because we complained) but the staff made it very easy or us.

Food- IMO excellent. Nothing unusual but consistently good. Romantic dinner at the beach highly recommended!

Tours- we booked a private tour of Manuel Antonio ( tour guide Errsol) this was very good. Errsol is well informed, interesting and easy to understand. We enjoyed Errsol so much we booked a Hanging Bridges with him for the next day. This too was excellent. I enjoyed this tour more but there are less animals to see.

Spa- HD a couples massage -wonderful

Overall, we did love it minus the few items. We will return and will recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: 202b - terrible. I realize someone must stay in this room, I hope it is not me. 303b - much bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were SO disappointed in our room, I can't tell you. This is a 5-star property and yet, our room was small and dumpy -- frumpy is more like it. I don't know what they can do about the small rooms (I've traveled all over the world and all over Costa Rica and my room here was by far, the smallest I've ever encountered). For the price of the rooms, this is unacceptable. Other than the room, the rest of the resort is wonderful. The beach is great, the property itself is lovely, and the service is terrific. The staff couldn't be nicer and more accommodating. I had a facial at the spa and it was wonderful. Unfortunately, the size and condition of the room itself would keep me from coming back here.

Room Tip: Despite the high price for rooms at this place, I'd pay the extra money and opt for one of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear bOnnieb00p,
we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor as well as answering our follow up letter from the hotel directly. We are so sorry to hear that the size of your room negatively influenced the otherwise stellar experience that you had. We are currently in the process of doing a furniture reconfiguration in order to make the rooms more spacious. We know we cannot turn back time but just sincerely apologize. For future visits, we recommend that if you plan to spend a lot of time in your room to book an Ocean View or Ocean Breeze Suite. Most of our guests that book the room type that you stayed in are very happy with the experience since they spend most of their time on tours or our two secluded beaches and pools. A special thanks for pointing out how much you enjoyed the beaches and facilities as well as the service at our hotel. We hope to be able to offer you an upgrade on your next visit so you can have the experience that you were expecting. Greetings from Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, this hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views as it is nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging—the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to be awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront And Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.