We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica to your Saves list
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 5 - pay 4
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A marvelous place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This really is a marvelous place to stay in Manuel Antonio National Park. You merely have to look outside your room to see the wildlife, monkeys and sloths and iguanas and myriad exotic, colourful birds. The staff are friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms are bright and clean. The food is delicious with a wonderful selection including of course plenty of the local fruits. Beaches are close by. Is is a short walk into the National Park and the jungle with its exotic flora and fauna. We went as a couple but this would be a great place to stay with children too because there is so much natural beauty for them to enjoy. We had left behind a miserable winter in Amsterdam and our spirits were so uplifted by this lovely hotel in its sunny, relaxed environment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    129
    33
    19
    7
See reviews for
323
683
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holmdel, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here on the 2nd leg of our Costa Rica vacation. And we loved every minute of it. The staff at this hotel are extremely friendly and helpful. Plenty of monkeys & iguanas and the occasional sloth were spotted by my children daily. To be noted: this hotel is a series of small structures built into a steep slope overlooking the ocean. Golf carts, which come very quickly when called, are needed to get from your room to the restaurant or to the front gate to meet your van/tour. side note: we walked back behind the hotel past the staff housing... thats where we saw the sloth(s)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a wonderful adventure with three couples who have travelled together far and wide. We rated our stay at Arenas del Mar as even more relaxing than our usual cruises, and that's saying a lot! Loved the staff, all very friendly and helpful, by the second day they all know your names and seem like longtime friends. Rooms were gorgeous and very clean, even saw a mama humpback whale with her new baby rolling in the surf from the spacious balcony on our first day. Sloths, spider monkeys, howler monkey and iguanas came to visit us right at the resort. Choice of two lovely beaches, one secluded and extremely relaxing with great food, drinks and lounge chairs.under the trees. The other beach was perfect for the walk to Manuel Antonio Park, the hotel staff even waited for us at this beach entrance as it was dark when we finally strolled back. The front desk was very helpful with side trips, we enjoyed a sailing adventure where we saw more whales, a swinging bridge park tour with the hotel nature guide, and the national park, they gave great advice and took care of all the essentials. Others with us went on a succesful deep-sea fishing adventure and the hotel Chef graciously created a masterpiece with the bounty. A very nice spa is on the property with big windows overlooking the jungle to watch the monkeys playing while enjoying the ultimate relaxing massage. We honestly can say we will return at every opportunity. So much to do and experience with superb surroundings to just relax and veg out, whatever your heart desires. This trip will certainly be near the top of all the great adventures!

Room Tip: Seven buildings choice of great ocean views or more secluded jungle settings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel is a jewel! The rooms are great, clean, comfortable beds. Service is wonderful, stuff is friendly, eager to help and acomodate any request. Spa treatments are exeptional ( ask for Andrea,magic hands). You do not even have to leave hotel to see monkeys, birds, iguanas or racoons...Kids friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington NC
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here after a stay at Nayara in Arenal. To be very fair, if we had stayed here first the rating would be higher, but the comparison with a true 5 star hotel lowers the score a bit. We arrived and were met with a cool drink at check in, which was professional and quick. We were given an unexpected upgrade to oceanfront suite instead of oceanfront room, which was very nice. The accommodations were nice, and the deck and view were beautiful. There was a tv in the bedroom, but not the living room, which seemed a little odd to us. The fridge was stocked with drinks and snacks, but these disappeared before we used them. The bed is extremely comfortable and we loved the large feather pillows. The pool, bar and restaurant areas are very nice with outstanding views. The food was ok. Breakfast selections are somewhat limited, but tasty. Dinner was okay, but there are some better choices in the area. The wine list was not up to par, with limited selections. Staff in all areas were friendly and did their best to help with your needs. The cart drivers are a good bunch (Sergio). The van is a nice touch as an alternative to taxis (Bernie is great). The hotel offers their own tours, and the Manuel Antonio Park tour with Ercel was excellent and highly recommended. The "behind the scenes" tortilla tour is very informative. All in all, a nice place right on the ocean, with two semi-private beaches and lovely sunsets.

Room Tip: The direct oceanfront have lovely views. We stayed in 701A and it was a perfect location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Arenas del Mar rounded out the last few days of our honeymoon to CR. In short, this is the most magnificent hotel we have ever experienced. The service was impeccable--we constantly felt as though we were the only guests, and we were impressed with how the staff anticipated and exceeded our needs at every turn. The staff was beyond personable--they treated us as though we were guests in their home. Their pride in their country and culture and their willingness to share it with us was what made our time at Arenas so memorable. The private beach and lush rainforest settings in which the buildings are nested allow you to commune with nature, where it's hard to see where a "hotel" stops and nature begins. In fact, we had better access to animal sightings (e.g., monkeys, sloths, etc.) here than we did at the National Park. Make sure to read the in-room guide book when you first arrive so you can make sure to take advantage of some unique options such as the Sustainability Tour (so impressive!), hiking trips, and other excursions. If you're looking for a truly unique and memorable experience, Arenas is the place to be!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon in August of 2011. They were very accomodating and we had a lovely time. The food is great- especially the black bean soup and the delicious fruit. They sent us a complimentary bottle of wine and fruit simply because it was our honeymoon. The property is lovely. They offer golf carts to guests but we really enjoyed walking around it. The beach is beautiful and the pool and lounge area is nice. We really enjoyed our tour of Manuel Antonio National Park as well. Unfortunately, the park is quite crowded but our tour guide did a great job of helping us find animals and explaining things to us. We really enjoyed the staff who taught dancing one night and they let us practice our Spanish with them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, this hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views as it is nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging—the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to be awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront And Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.