We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Green Season Value
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for the first three nights of our honeymoon in Costa Rica and it was perfect. The grounds were beautiful and our beachfront room with outdoor hot tub was spacious and extremely relaxing. The beaches were amazing and the food and staff at Arenas Del Mar far exceeded our expectations. Roger was a fantastic tour guide for Manuel Antonio National Park!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    792
    113
    28
    16
    7
See reviews for
253
547
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I’m very late in writing this, but because our experience at Arenas del Mar was so wonderful, I want to thank the resort staff. Everything about the resort is incredible-the refreshing welcome drink, beaches, property, rooms, food, and most of all, the staff. Ersel, the naturalist, is so knowledgeable about the wildlife that can be found all over the grounds. He was so kind and shared lots of interesting information. There were a couple of sloths that were easily visible (once Ersel pointed them out and explained the type of tree they like) during our stay and it was a lot of fun watching them move ever so slowly. The property sits on a steep hill but the bellmen are always right there when you need a ride.

We began each morning with a wonderful breakfast on the patio next to the pool, watching the iguana in the tree and listening to the birds singing. Each day ended with a soak in the jacuzzi tub on our patio watching the stars and listening to the ocean. Our room was an ocean view premium suite and it was absolutely amazing.

We spent an afternoon at Playitas, the small, private beach, and enjoyed watching the monkeys playing in the trees and on the beach. We were also treated to fresh coconuts….so refreshing and sweet! The current is very strong at this beach so be careful if you take a dip.

I can’t wait for my next visit to Arenas del Mar!

Room Tip: Go with an ocean view premium suite in the building next to the pool area if you can - you won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We loved our stay at Arenas del Mar, where we spent 5 nights at the end of October! We agree with the highlights other reviewers have mentioned - friendly and helfup staff, beautiful property, amazing beach location, great food, peaceful and tranquil environment, comfortable rooms, great views.

But perhaps what most impressed us most is that this hotel is unique in Costa Rica because it is both 5 "star" and 5 "leaf" (I think the first, and until recently the only one with that status). The 5-star rating is well deseverd, with excellent service and all the comforts one could hope for. Initially less evident to the casual observer is what it means to be a 5 "leaf" hotel in Costa Rica - we highly recommend taking the free "sustainabilty tour" offered to understand and see first-hand what this means.

Piero, the sustainability manager, gave us an amazing tour of the property and insights into what "sustainability" means for Arenas del Mar - from reducing waste and recycling, use of biodegradable products, a pool-cleaning system that does not use chlorine and thus enables local birds to drink from it, an innovative laundry system that reduces water use, and purification of waste water to irrigate the property, to providing additional benefits to employees and direct support to address needs of local communities living in poverty. Most of this had been invisible to us prior to taking the tour, and it made us appreciate our stay much more!

Here are some of the highlights that we most enjoyed during our stay at Arenas del Mar:
- Starting each day with a great breakfast that begins with fresh fruit, fruit juices, pastries and wonderful coffee outside on the pool deck with an amazing view of the ocean from the top of the cliff;
- watching the sloths in the trees on the hotel property at the "playitas" beach (the friendly hotel guard at the beach was always happy to point out where to find wildlife);
- an incredibly comforable bed;
- great food, at both the main restaurant and the smaller one at the beach (we love seafood, and enjoyed many of the selections, but the tuna is definitely a highlight);
- daily happy hour at the outdoor bar in the lobby area (passion fruit moijitos and mango daquiris were amazing);
- walking down the beach to the Manuel Antonio park (we took a tour to the park once, but went back ourselves another day at our own pace - it's nice not to have to depend on a vehicle, and it's a lot quicker to walk the beach to get there!);

We stayed in an ocean breeze suite and enjoyed using the jacuzzi on the deck and hanging out in the ocean breeze. While we had a view of the ocean, we were on the ground level and soon realized we needed to heed the instructions to keep our sliding door to the patio locked to avoid sharing our suite with the local raccoons - indeed, we watched how a brave racoon was able to open the sliding screen only to find the glass door obstructing his entry! We appreciated that we were in wildlife terrain, so resigned ourselves to keeping the glassdoor shut and turning on the air conditioner instead of inviting the ocean breeze into our bedroom.

We took a couple of the tours recommended and arranged by hotel staff, and enjoyed them and found the guides to be excellent - very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Arenas del Mar. This was the second hotel we stayed in that was run by Cayuga - the company that manages small eco-friendly hotels in Costa Rica. The other was in the Osa peninsula, an amazing rainforest that was our favorite spot in the country. We highly recommend both!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed for eight days at the beginning of December. It is hard to add to what has already been said by others. The resort has a wonderful location and the staff is incredibly friendly and constantly goes out of their way to assist in any way possible. We had an Ocean View Premium Suite (room 603A), which had a large veranda and an excellent view of the ocean. Even with the bedroom door to the deck closed at night, you could still hear the ocean. We were visited one morning by white faced capuchins at breakfast and another morning we were awakened by the howler monkeys. We did a number of activities, all arranged through the hotel. We particularly enjoyed the hanging bridges tour and the visit to the Villa Vanilla farm. The highlight was a dinner on the beach, which we received as part of the romance package. The beach restaurant closes at 5:00 pm, so we had the whole beach to ourselves, save for our server. Overall, we highly, highly recommend Arenas del Mar!

Room Tip: The Ocean View Premium Suites are pricey, but have great decks and fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beeville, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is a beautiful beach front resort and was our second stop in Costa Rica, I preferred the rain forest. The resturants at this place were amazing. The presentation of the food was a piece of art and it was even better when you realized it tasted just as great as it looked. The staff was very pleasant and wanted very much to make sure our stay was one to remember. Great view from our room with some extras like breakfast, calls, internet. Very Nice

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have stayed at Arenas del Mar three times and have already reserved our room for next year. Arenas Del Mar is an exceptional resort located between Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park. The resort overlooks the ocean with two beaches. The staff is extra-ordinarily attentive to guests, and they go out of their way to help guests in all situations.
The best guide (Roger is numero Uno) and best driver (Bernie is numero Uno) have eagle eyes and can spot just about any type of wildlife you wish to see. Definitely ask for them if you go on a tour. For us the best tours are Hacienda Baru, Rainmaker (where there are also hanging bridges), and the early morning bird tour with Roger.
We have found over the past few years that the Manuel Antonio National Park tour is not worth it compared to other tours. The park is overly crowded with one group of people there just for the beach and others for birds and wildlife. It is unbelievable the numbers of people making noise while others are trying to bird watch. There is nothing that you can see at the park that you would not see on the three tours I mentioned above.
All of the waiters/waitresses provide excellent service although we do have an affinity for Luis. Minor, William, Yahaira, David, and Amparro are close behind. Ramero and Diego, two trainees with years of experience at other restaurants, were also extremely helpful.
The reception area staff, particularly Alan, Sergio, Lara, Alexander, Romdben, and so many others treated us as if we were royalty.
The restaurant, Mirador, provides a variety of food. The Tuna Tataki appetizer and Casado with Sea Bass were extremely good. The tuna poke for lunch is also very good.
Introduce yourself to the staff and get to know them as it will pay off.
The only fault we have with Arena Del Mar is that they eliminated their breakfast buffet a few years ago. They still have a variety that you can order from the menu, which is all included in the price. The buffet was great because it allowed us to have only exactly what we wanted, and as much as we wanted, which was fresh fruit every morning.
Nevertheless, the place is great, and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: splurge for the premium ocean view with hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was our first stop on a weeklong trip to Costa Rica. WOW, this place is amazing. The property is gorgeous, a mini paradise tucked in the rainforest. The rooms are beautifully appointed, very comfortable beds, a/c, lovely bathrooms and porches and they give free internet and international calls which is unheard of. The service is great and were very helpful in choosing day excursions. The restaurant and bar are in a lovely setting and the food in large part is quite good. We had two dinners and a lunch at the hotel. Lunch was actually our favorite meal with the Tuna poki. The private beach at the hotel is wonderful, warm water and a nice secluded area. Manuel Antonio is a very touristy town and quite built up but at Arenas you have no idea what is going on. It is a quiet paradise, I can not say enough good things about it. We would love to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, this hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views as it is nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging—the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to be awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront And Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.