We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, beautiful + monkeys!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica to your Saves list
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Green Season Values 2015
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic, beautiful + monkeys!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed at Arenas del Mar and loved it. Our room overlooked the ocean and it was huge! Loved the jacuzzi in the balcony and relaxing on the lounge chairs listening to the sound of the waves.
The Tico Bar (free minibar filled with Costa Rican specialties) was a really cool touch.
Had lunch on the private beach and it was great. Of course, had the ceviche.
Did the sustainability tour at the hotel (free) and it was really interesting to see all the things the hotel does to be green. It was fun to get a behind-the-scenes view.
The hotel is quite removed from the main road so you'll have to take a taxi if you want to go into town but that also adds to the experience!
Saw monkeys on the trees bythe pool: cappuchin and ti-ti plus lots of iguanas.
Overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,110
    139
    36
    19
    7
See reviews for
362
725
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Arenas del Mar was not our originally planned central Pacific hotel, but after being drastically disappointed by our first destination (see Clandestino Beach Resort review), we made a quick decision to travel further south to Manuel Antonio National Park. Frustrated by our first pick because it had awesome reviews on TripAdvisor, we selected a "Fodor's Choice" on a whim and hoped for the best. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Being the off-season, we were lucky to book a room on such short notice (with a great deal!). We ended up with a suite which included a living area, private porch with a beautiful ocean-view and two-person jacuzzi, as well as the most comfortable king-sized bed I have ever slept in. We slept with the glass doors open with screens that latched so animals couldn't sneak in, and fell asleep to the ocean waves and jungle sounds. Service was unbelievable, as every staff member greeted you with a smile and asked what they could do for you. Golf cart rides were convenient being the hills are very steep, even to walk. Both beaches were beautiful and abundant with wild life. We saw lizards, crabs, tropical birds, monkeys (a lot of monkeys!), armadillos, and raccoons. We did have a few crabs in the room throughout our stay. Good thing I wasn't afraid of them and easily escorted them back to the outdoors. Latches on the screen doors were necessary since we were on the first floor and the raccoons tried to break in several times a day. I liked the animal visits so it didn't bother me at all. The couples massage we booked at the spa was amazing as well as reasonably priced. I can't rave enough about the food!! Breakfast is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G. They have a complementary breakfast, and the first meal of the day is traditionally a large meal in Costa Rica. You get coffee, fresh fruit juice, fresh cut fruit, 3 different types of breads that change every morning, and a main meal (like pancakes with bananas and cashews). So good. It was my favorite meal of the day. We also had lunch at Playitas Snack Bar and the hotel restaurant multiple times and loved everything. It's so fresh. The grounds are beautiful, food is tasty, and the service is wonderful. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite. It's so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear
Warm greetings from Arenas del Mar and Manuel Antonio. Thank you very much for your nice and detailed review of your recent stay with us. We are happy that we were able to turn things around for you on your Costa Rican Vacation. Thanks for pointing out all the great hotel features as the comfortable king size bed, the Jacuzzi with a view (yes, you are right it is worth the upgrade to a suite) and especially the food. I am sure your comments on the wildlife that is very present at our resort as we are located in the rainforest next to two secluded beaches will be very helpful for future guests. We are glad that you can’t wait to come back. Your positive feedback is a great motivation for all the staff at Arenas del Mar. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Imagine following a winding road, uphill, through tropical flora and fauna, feeling the warm embrace of the air, listening to the sound of birds calling and inhaling the scent of the ocean…. at the top of the hill, you come to an oasis, tucked away and so beautifully constructed that it fits naturally into it's surroundings…that describes my introduction to Arenas Del Mar! Arenas Del Mar is a sumptuous paradise of a resort with onsite access to two lovely beaches, a swimming pool, spa and two tasty restaurants. I was fortunate to be there the week of a chef event with Chef Chip Roman of Philadelphia and got to enjoy three exciting evenings of specially prepared meals. Each meal highlighted local flavors and spices including fish caught in the morning by Chef Roman himself! Aside from the meals prepared by the Chef, the food was delicious. The dining areas are outdoors with beach views (so you don't miss a moment of the splendor surrounding you!) and are well covered and easily converted in case of inclement weather. The menus are short and sweet focusing on serving fresh local fare.

It is apparent that every inch of Arenas Del Mar was perfectly planned taking into consideration the natural beauty of the area. The entire hotel was built with sustainability in mind and just flows into it's surroundings….the Iguanas, Sloths, Capuchins, etc. clearly are not disturbed by it's presence! I stayed in a room with a breathtaking ocean view that felt like a secluded bungalow and included a spacious bathroom with a magnificent shower and an ever useful bidet. The staff at Arenas Del Mar is outstanding…genuinely gracious and incredibly accommodating. I inquired about local yoga classes and within an hour was scheduled for a private class right there at the hotel! Almost anything you desire is yours for the asking and when you leave you will feel like you truly have new friends.

I visited during the "green" season and was so thrilled by the whole experience that I was undaunted by the rain. The warm tropical air made it comfortable enough to get out and explore…to hike through a rainforest, go ziplining, visit a local town, etc. The trip was a superb escape that left me with many fond memories. I'm looking forward to visiting again someday!

Room Tip: Note that some rooms have jacuzzi on their balconies while others do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The short story: 1. A Garden of Eden location with spectacular beach, rainforest, and exotic wildlife and fauna. 2. A five star resort with first class accommodations and an eco friendly focus. 3. A local staff with a passion for Costa Rica and a desire to make your visit comfortable and memorable.
The details. I had been to Manuel Antonio five years ago and was excited to return to this truly beautiful part of the world. The beaches here are so natural and unspoiled it's like you're the first to discover them. Arenas Del Mar captures the laid back, natural spirit and atmosphere of the area wonderfully, while their staff treats you like a long lost friend the process. It is literally hidden inside a tropical rain forest and only steps from the beach. While the resort is nothing but five star, it's the staff that sets it apart. They are mostly local to the area and excude the relaxed, friendly desire to please and serve that is common in Costa Rica. They take the time to remember you, your name, and even your food and drink preferences! They were also extremely helpful in setting up our off property activities including zip lines, rain forest tours, and private yoga classes. Our room had a spectacular view of the ocean and we slept to the sounds of the surf and awoke to local exotic song birds. While on the multi-acre property we saw multiple sloths, monkeys, iguanas, beautiful birds, and flora. The property is set up in private, six room buildings that give you a very personal feel. Our spacious room, luxurious bed, large balcony with furniture and mini-kitchen, and huge shower were terrific. If you can't relax here then you just can't relax! The property also has two great restaurants with delicious, fresh local flavors and two beautiful pools with awesome ocean views. Not to mention two separate beach areas with wait service, towels, board rentals, etc. They even have outdoor private baths and showers we were able to use the day we checked out so we could enjoy the beach before we left. We were lucky enough to be there while the resort had a guest chef from Philadelphia who prepared three nights of outstanding dinners with a local flare. A real and unexpected treat! While the week's weather, during the "green" season, wasn't always perfect, Arenas Del Mar nearly was. We only hope we can plan a return trip soon!!!

Room Tip: While "A" suites are larger with outdoor tubs and larger balconies, our "B" room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambler
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I just returned from this Costa Rican paradise. We were invited to share in a special guest Chef week. The Chef, Chip Roman, of Blackfish,Mica, and ELA, here in Philadelphia, is one of our favorites! From our very first communication with "Hans" we knew that we would be delighted.
Arriving at the Welcome Center set the stage for an amazing adventure. We were offered ice cold water and a quick ride up to the Lobby in a golf cart. There we were greeted warmly an offered a delicious tropical drink.The staff could not have been more accommodating, friendly, gracious,warm,and informative. From early coffee to late dinner and drinks...each guide, each driver, each staff member,all seem to not only be effective in his or her work, but each person we came to know seemed to enjoy interacting with the guests.
We were offered and enthusiastically accepted, a tour "behind the scene" of the official hotel. We were welcomed into the "home" of the staff. We learned how the Cayuga organization works. The incentives to the staff, their commitment to the preservation of the environment,their passion for living a sustainable lifestyle, their love of nature, their love and respect for each other.
Chip's meals were extraordinary! The three other Chef's on staff delighted in sharing special cooking demonstrations which truly enhanced our appreciation of local fruits,vegetables, fish, and seasonings.
Our suite was spectacular...views of the Pacific, amazing huge shower...lots of hot water! The terrace included a spacious hot tub...comfortable furniture...and an abundance of wildlife! The king size bed was great...exceptionally luxurious linens...wonderful sleeping!
I had a marvelous massage in the Spa!

When Arenas Del Mar says PURA VIDA, they mean it!

Room Tip: you can choose ocean view or rain forest...rooms by beach or up on the main level...each affords dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed at Arenas del Mar for 3 nights with my girlfriend, we found it last minute on Jetsetter and i'm so glad we chose this property. We got a fabulous off season deal, and we felt spoiled rotten every single second of our stay. The room was fantastic, we used the balcony jacuzzi every night and it was so amazing sitting in our private little tub sipping wine and listening to the ocean and rain and jungle. The aesthetic of the room is nice, sort of like island italian, not totally my taste but i certainly had nothing to complain about. The bed was SO GOOD. Really high quality linens, and i slept so well. But, where this property really, truly shines is the staff and the amenities. I can not say enough good things about the incredible staff at this place. There are golf carts to take you anywhere you want to go, 24hs a day. And the guys who drive these carts are seriously wonderful They are always smiling, they all remember your name and where your room is, they have witty conversation and they are just lovely! I wish i could take them all home. The bartenders and servers are also awesome, same with the people at the front desk and the people at the Spa. The free breakfast is MASSIVE and delicious with tons of options. The spa services were GLORIOUS. We also had lunch at the beach cafe and dinner one night and all was perfection. I can not think of one thing that could have possible been better and i am really picky. I would go back here in a heartbeat, especially if i really needed a vacation where i am pampered and catered to every single second of the day, and isn't' that sort of the whole point of vacation? Every person working at this hotel should be given raises, huge massive raises. They are wonderful. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Go for the suite, totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just returned from a week long stay at the Arenas Del Mar property in Quepos, Costa Rica. Went there with two other couples. Couldn't wait to share our wonderful experience with return and future travelers. Everything was wonderful at this beachfront/rainforest property. The location was like being on a Fantasy Island. The staff were amazing and fun. William Bernie, Ariel, et al., treated us like favorite family members. The food and specialty drinks were fantastic. Food presentation, quality and taste were excellent. Again the staff, who seem to be there 24-7 were so good natured and eager to help. The view of the Pacific and Manuel Antonio National Park from the lovely room made the decision to go out and do anything difficult. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Our balcony with the semi circular hot tub is a delightful touch. The second pool and secluded restaurant at beach level were very much enjoyed. the beachfront chaises made vegging out an addiction. Whatever we wanted to do off-property was arranged by the front desk, and all the details were exact. The property is well maintained and kept very clean. Tucked back into the hill overlooking the Pacific we were treated to many sightings of monkeys (and serenaded by the uber-cool Howler Monkeys daily), as well as sloths, aguti, iguana, birds, etc., etc. Took advantage of the spa on site and was not disappointed. First rate treatments and affordable. There is a small shop behind registration that had local handicrafts. We compared prices when we visited the town of Quepos and the shop's prices were very competitive. The property is delightful and the staff are off-the-chart professional and accommodating. Off property we did some deep sea fishing (1 blue marlin, 3 sailfish, 3 Mahi-Mahi - thank you Captain Franklin and first mate, Jackson on the Big Eye 2), We did a rainforsest tour to a waterfall and swimming hole with Ersel (Arenas Del Mar ecologist), We went river rapids rafting and had a ball. Can't wait to return to Arenas Del Mar with more friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#4 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
#10 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Mariposa
Hotel La Mariposa
#12 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 933 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#7 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront And Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.