We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica to your Saves list
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay four - pay three
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A hidden paradise found!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The short story: 1. A Garden of Eden location with spectacular beach, rainforest, and exotic wildlife and fauna. 2. A five star resort with first class accommodations and an eco friendly focus. 3. A local staff with a passion for Costa Rica and a desire to make your visit comfortable and memorable.
The details. I had been to Manuel Antonio five years ago and was excited to return to this truly beautiful part of the world. The beaches here are so natural and unspoiled it's like you're the first to discover them. Arenas Del Mar captures the laid back, natural spirit and atmosphere of the area wonderfully, while their staff treats you like a long lost friend the process. It is literally hidden inside a tropical rain forest and only steps from the beach. While the resort is nothing but five star, it's the staff that sets it apart. They are mostly local to the area and excude the relaxed, friendly desire to please and serve that is common in Costa Rica. They take the time to remember you, your name, and even your food and drink preferences! They were also extremely helpful in setting up our off property activities including zip lines, rain forest tours, and private yoga classes. Our room had a spectacular view of the ocean and we slept to the sounds of the surf and awoke to local exotic song birds. While on the multi-acre property we saw multiple sloths, monkeys, iguanas, beautiful birds, and flora. The property is set up in private, six room buildings that give you a very personal feel. Our spacious room, luxurious bed, large balcony with furniture and mini-kitchen, and huge shower were terrific. If you can't relax here then you just can't relax! The property also has two great restaurants with delicious, fresh local flavors and two beautiful pools with awesome ocean views. Not to mention two separate beach areas with wait service, towels, board rentals, etc. They even have outdoor private baths and showers we were able to use the day we checked out so we could enjoy the beach before we left. We were lucky enough to be there while the resort had a guest chef from Philadelphia who prepared three nights of outstanding dinners with a local flare. A real and unexpected treat! While the week's weather, during the "green" season, wasn't always perfect, Arenas Del Mar nearly was. We only hope we can plan a return trip soon!!!

Room Tip: While "A" suites are larger with outdoor tubs and larger balconies, our "B" room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    120
    29
    17
    7
See reviews for
285
602
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ambler
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I just returned from this Costa Rican paradise. We were invited to share in a special guest Chef week. The Chef, Chip Roman, of Blackfish,Mica, and ELA, here in Philadelphia, is one of our favorites! From our very first communication with "Hans" we knew that we would be delighted.
Arriving at the Welcome Center set the stage for an amazing adventure. We were offered ice cold water and a quick ride up to the Lobby in a golf cart. There we were greeted warmly an offered a delicious tropical drink.The staff could not have been more accommodating, friendly, gracious,warm,and informative. From early coffee to late dinner and drinks...each guide, each driver, each staff member,all seem to not only be effective in his or her work, but each person we came to know seemed to enjoy interacting with the guests.
We were offered and enthusiastically accepted, a tour "behind the scene" of the official hotel. We were welcomed into the "home" of the staff. We learned how the Cayuga organization works. The incentives to the staff, their commitment to the preservation of the environment,their passion for living a sustainable lifestyle, their love of nature, their love and respect for each other.
Chip's meals were extraordinary! The three other Chef's on staff delighted in sharing special cooking demonstrations which truly enhanced our appreciation of local fruits,vegetables, fish, and seasonings.
Our suite was spectacular...views of the Pacific, amazing huge shower...lots of hot water! The terrace included a spacious hot tub...comfortable furniture...and an abundance of wildlife! The king size bed was great...exceptionally luxurious linens...wonderful sleeping!
I had a marvelous massage in the Spa!

When Arenas Del Mar says PURA VIDA, they mean it!

Room Tip: you can choose ocean view or rain forest...rooms by beach or up on the main level...each affords dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed at Arenas del Mar for 3 nights with my girlfriend, we found it last minute on Jetsetter and i'm so glad we chose this property. We got a fabulous off season deal, and we felt spoiled rotten every single second of our stay. The room was fantastic, we used the balcony jacuzzi every night and it was so amazing sitting in our private little tub sipping wine and listening to the ocean and rain and jungle. The aesthetic of the room is nice, sort of like island italian, not totally my taste but i certainly had nothing to complain about. The bed was SO GOOD. Really high quality linens, and i slept so well. But, where this property really, truly shines is the staff and the amenities. I can not say enough good things about the incredible staff at this place. There are golf carts to take you anywhere you want to go, 24hs a day. And the guys who drive these carts are seriously wonderful They are always smiling, they all remember your name and where your room is, they have witty conversation and they are just lovely! I wish i could take them all home. The bartenders and servers are also awesome, same with the people at the front desk and the people at the Spa. The free breakfast is MASSIVE and delicious with tons of options. The spa services were GLORIOUS. We also had lunch at the beach cafe and dinner one night and all was perfection. I can not think of one thing that could have possible been better and i am really picky. I would go back here in a heartbeat, especially if i really needed a vacation where i am pampered and catered to every single second of the day, and isn't' that sort of the whole point of vacation? Every person working at this hotel should be given raises, huge massive raises. They are wonderful. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Go for the suite, totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just returned from a week long stay at the Arenas Del Mar property in Quepos, Costa Rica. Went there with two other couples. Couldn't wait to share our wonderful experience with return and future travelers. Everything was wonderful at this beachfront/rainforest property. The location was like being on a Fantasy Island. The staff were amazing and fun. William Bernie, Ariel, et al., treated us like favorite family members. The food and specialty drinks were fantastic. Food presentation, quality and taste were excellent. Again the staff, who seem to be there 24-7 were so good natured and eager to help. The view of the Pacific and Manuel Antonio National Park from the lovely room made the decision to go out and do anything difficult. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Our balcony with the semi circular hot tub is a delightful touch. The second pool and secluded restaurant at beach level were very much enjoyed. the beachfront chaises made vegging out an addiction. Whatever we wanted to do off-property was arranged by the front desk, and all the details were exact. The property is well maintained and kept very clean. Tucked back into the hill overlooking the Pacific we were treated to many sightings of monkeys (and serenaded by the uber-cool Howler Monkeys daily), as well as sloths, aguti, iguana, birds, etc., etc. Took advantage of the spa on site and was not disappointed. First rate treatments and affordable. There is a small shop behind registration that had local handicrafts. We compared prices when we visited the town of Quepos and the shop's prices were very competitive. The property is delightful and the staff are off-the-chart professional and accommodating. Off property we did some deep sea fishing (1 blue marlin, 3 sailfish, 3 Mahi-Mahi - thank you Captain Franklin and first mate, Jackson on the Big Eye 2), We did a rainforsest tour to a waterfall and swimming hole with Ersel (Arenas Del Mar ecologist), We went river rapids rafting and had a ball. Can't wait to return to Arenas Del Mar with more friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I just spent 2 nights at Arenas and it was wonderful. As I was driven from the welcome pavilion to the reception area, I was immediately enveloped by the exotic surroundings and the warmth and friendliness of my driver, Ariel. Once at reception, I was greeted with a refreshing welcome drink and more smiles and friendly, efficient service.

I stayed in an Ocean View Premium Suite and it was beautiful! Comfortable living area and King sized bed; both rooms with huge glass sliding doors out to the large deck with hot tub and really comfy chairs, which overlooked the Pacific. The bed was heavenly - sooo soft but no backache in the morning!! The wi-fi connection was strong in the bedroom and on the deck but not in the living room.

The food was very good, with attention to excellent service and presentation. The wine selections were Chilean and Argentinian with one French label. Eating at Playitas Restaurant on the beach was relaxing and the ceviche, delicious. My waiter, Luis, was very nice and so gracious.

The tortilla tour gave us the opportunity to make and sample the local Tico tortillas and learn about some of the history of the hotel and ecosystem of the grounds. The dancing lessons in the evening by the bar were fun.

All of the staff seemed genuinely happy to be there:, friendly people who were eager to make my stay with them as pleasant as possible. It is a gorgeous property in a beautiful setting and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We honeymooned at Arenas del Mar in the first part of August and had a fantastic time. We stayed in an Ocean View Premium Suite down by the private beach, with a view of the beach and one of the pools. The room was spacious and comfortable, and we made use of the deck hot tub which was very relaxing. There were chip-type snacks and drinks provided daily, which added a local flavor. There was wifi internet provided in the suite, but of note it only worked adequately in the main sitting area; the internet was extremely weak and spotty in the bedroom or on the deck.

The grounds were beautiful and we had many animal sightings, including geckos, iguanas, monkeys and sloths. Early one morning, from the restaurant deck, we spotted a pod of humpback whales swimming very close to shore. We would definitely recommend bringing binoculars if you have them! The waves at the private beach were too rough for swimming, and on many mornings the "no swimming" flag was up. We did enjoy sitting at the beach and walking in the water. The grounds are quite hilly, but the golf carts were readily available and we occasionally walked for some extra exercise.

We ate most of our meals at the hotel restaurant. The breakfasts were included and tasty, with a variety of fruit and choice of a hot entree. We particularly enjoyed the french toast with mangos and bananas. The dinners were good but not spectacular, and somewhat high priced. We took advantage of the happy hour half-priced drinks.

We took several excursions from the hotel, and enjoyed them all. The guide Ersel lead our tours of Manuel Antonio National Park and the Hanging Bridges and Waterfalls, and was extremely knowledgeable and excited about showing us the diversity of Costa Rican wildlife.

For those worried about traveling to Costa RIca in the "rainy season," the weather did not dampen our enjoyment. The mornings and early afternoons were sunny, and it predictably rained in the late afternoon and evening, leading to some spectacular thunder and lightening storms.

Thanks to everyone at Arenas del Mar! We had a great time and would love to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a simply fantastic honeymoon at Arenas Del Mar. Our room was absolutely beautiful, with a great view of the beach and one of the pools. The hotel staff was extremely friendly. Our nature guide, Ersel, really knew his stuff, and went out of his way to make sure that we got to see as much of the Costa Rican wildlife as possible. We would highly recommend Arenas del Mar.

Room Tip: We chose the top level room, and were very pleased with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, this hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views as it is nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging—the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to be awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront And Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.