We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it, affordable and accessible!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mandarina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mandarina to your Saves list
Hotel Mandarina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Shijiazhuang, China
1 review
“Worth it, affordable and accessible!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed there with some friends during a beach trip for the New Year's vacation. Very affordable place, is very good located making it easy to get to the beach, as well as different restaurants and bars. Talking about the rooms, they were very clean and didn't lack of ammenities. About the service, food was good, and the staff very kind and helpful.

For everybody, whether you are a local tourist or a foreigner, I would strongly recommend Hotel Mandarina to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    75
    15
    17
    9
See reviews for
24
89
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zollbrück
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about this place! I did not have a reservation and tghey were very accomodating ! The staff was very helpful. They told me how to get around, told me about all the local spots to check and give me all kinds of tips that truly made my vacation perfect !
They arrange a tour to the National Park that was awesome !
The rooms were very clean and the breakfast great ! I loved sitting by the terrace and read my book in the afternnons and spot some beautful birds. Also waking up with the sounds of nature !!
I recommend this place to all those looking for a great place with a great location and also those looking to have a relaxing time during their vacation !
I hope more people will discover this place !

Room Tip: Ask for the standard room with king bed if travelling solo or with your significant other ! If you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I found this place to be very charming, conviniently located (close to the beach, restaurants, bars, bank, bus stop)
The rooms were very clean, the breakfast very tasty and the staff very helpful !
I did not find any of the issues that other people mentioned here !
I would recommend this place to all my friends and family.

Room Tip: The studio rooms are in a higher level and are molre spacious than the standard and I think some peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tangerineTangerine, Manager at Hotel Mandarina, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thanks Robert for the nice review...Looking forward to see you again !!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

No water over New Year's Eve, then no hot water. Years ago it might have been a nice place but the lack of maintenance, lack of up-keep, mold in rooms, loss of water for complex, then loss of hot water for some rooms as well as lack of food/drink availability (except for breakfast) made the stay Manuel Antonio very unpleasant. Then, the manager told us after the fact when we demanded money back that they didn't actually lose water. I think we'd know if we didn't have water, thank you. If the hotel accepted responsibility and offered some sort of compensation, that would be one thing. But to deny there was a problem is wrong. STAY AWAY from Mandarina!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tangerineTangerine, Owner at Hotel Mandarina, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We are truly sorry for you and your friend's lousy stay at Hotel Mandarina. All I can say is that we have a new manager, Lorena, with years of hotel experience, running Hotel Mandarina. She has done a great job cleaning up the grounds and fixing the problems since starting in January.
Thank You,
Gary A. Wexler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The location is good. It's an easy walk to the grocery store and lots of restaurants. The walk down to the beach is pleasant, especially since I saw a group of monkeys playing. The view from the terrace at the back is great - some reviewers have seen monkeys playing there. Not me, but I'm sure it would be amazing. This hotel has a lot of potential.

But right now, it's nowhere near to meeting its potential. Some of the rooms are very moldy. (A colleague complained about the mold in his room, and I thought he was probably being oversensitive until I saw and smelled his room for myself.) Another colleague didn't have a working safe. I had no hot water. They offered me the chance to switch to another room, but the odds of getting something better didn't seem good enough to justify switching.

Details are important in the hotel business. By spending a bit of money and a lot of attention, whoever owns this place could turn it into a much better hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Pros - Good location, nice breakfast, friendly staff
Cons - Tiny rooms, mouldy smell, wifi only reaches first few rooms.
This hotel is in need of basic maintenance. We had a "Studio Room" which was probably the smallest room of any kind I had stayed in. The room had a strong smell of mould which abated somewhat once the air conditioning had been on all day.
Given the range of choices in the area you could certainly do better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our first trip to Coata Rica and this hotel was the worst part of the trip. We were here for New Year's Eve 2012. The rooms had mould on the walls an smelled like it. We had no tv and the they didn't have the key to operate the safe. When we spoke to the staff about it the response was we know but don't worry it's safe here. The room started with cool water in the shower and the water pressure dropped as you tried to turn up the temperature. On jan 1 the entire hotel lost all water to all the rooms and when asked about when it would be fixed no one could answer the question. When we left some rooms still had no water. Rooms that had water had no hot water. Some of our group lost electricity in there rooms. Not one person even offered an apology for all the problems. The pool area is covered in ants that bite. I would not recommend anyone stay here, it was the worst hotel we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,035 reviews
0.0 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#17 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#21 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Karahe Hotel
Karahe Hotel
#33 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#26 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#7 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mandarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mandarina

Address: Main Road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mandarina 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mandarina is a small boutique hotel . It has a history in Manuel Antonio since the early 1990's. It has previously been known as Hotel El Dorado Mojado and Hotel Kekoldi. In 2007, the 12 unit hotel has been given the new name, Hotel Mandarina. Mandarina is known as a small orange, like a tangerine, in Costa Rica.Hotel Mandarina is located in Manuel Antonio, just outside the small Pacific coast port town of Quepos. See map. We are at the highest elevation on the main road about halfway between Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park. If you chose to drive, you can park your rental car in our secure lot behind the reception building. Manuel Antonio is only 3 1/2 hours by car or bus from San Jose, so long as you take the shortest route. Faster yet, is a 20 minute plane ride from San Jose on Nature Air or Sansa Airlines. Quepos and Manuel Antonio are fairly easy to navigate since there are only a few main roads.We are just 1.2 miles (2 Km) from some of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica with the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park at the end of the main road. A twenty minute walk down the secondary road from the hotel will bring you to a secluded beach. The local bus stops 50 yards from the hotel and brings you to the main beach or Manuel Antonio National Park in 5 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Mandarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarina Hotel
Hotel Mandarina Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mandarina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.