We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mandarina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mandarina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mandarina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Langley City, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I went to Costa Rica with another couple. We spend our 2nd week of our trip at the Hotel Mandarina. We had come from a week of hikes, zip lines and rappelling and it was time to relax and hope to see some wild life.
We arrived in the late afternoon and tossed our bags in our rooms. We stayed in the rooms with 1 king size bed. The rooms were very clean and comfortable but slightly odd. You would walk into the door to our room go down 3 steps to the bedroom. Then go down another 3 steps to the bathroom. There are no doors between the bathroom and the bedroom so this could make some travelers a little nervous. I am not a tall guy but in order to sit on the throne I had to put my legs in the shower.
We didn’t spend much time in our room and we were off to the pool. We were in the pool every day at least twice. It’s perfect for a morning dip, afternoon swim or an evening cool down. There is a hot tube as well but I don’t believe it was on during our stay. It was too warm to use it anyway. Every day around 3pm – 5 pm at the Hotel Mandarina a small trip of Monkey’s would leap from tree to tree and eat leaves in the tree’s above the pool. Most days of our trip we would lay in the pool and watch the 20 or so monkeys jump from branch to branch, counting the times they would almost miss their landings but never did.
The staff at the hotel were AMAZING. They were very helpful in finding some good places to eat and best ways down to the beach. The manager recommended we try a sunset sailboat trip it was a good time. Both the ladies that were with us ended up having to take gravol but the free drinks and amazing scenery were well worth it. Every Morning we would get up around 7-8 am and head down for the complementary breakfast. Traditional beans and rice paired with scrabbled eggs, French toast, cereal with fresh fruit. I normally don’t eat a big breakfast so this was perfect.
Our overall experience at the Hotel Mandarina was great. Great location, helpful and friendly staff, clean and we had monkeys and sloths around almost nightly. ( we went to the national park on our 2nd day thinking we would see lots of animals but we defiantly saw more and were closer just lounging in the pool of the hotel. )

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Mandarina, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Hola Robert!
Thank You for your kind review. It appears you stayed in Standard room D which has a king size bed. I apologize for the tight bathroom! Most of our bathrooms are more accommodating!!! If there were other rooms available, we would have upgraded you. I hope you found the room comfortable otherwise. If you come back again, we will definitely give you an upgrade at no charge.

I also apologize about the hot tub... but it's usually powered off until a guest requests the front desk to turn it on, to save energy. Also, we don't leave it on after hours for safety reasons.

I am glad the monkeys made their rendezvous during your stay! Monkey sightings are always a highlight and there is no guarantee they will come by at the same time everyday!

Please stay with us again! :>)

Pura Vida!
—Gary A. Wexler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    63
    7
    11
    8
See reviews for
18
72
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This was my tenth year coming to Manuel Antonio and I have never stayed anywhere else. First and foremost...owners Christopher and Gary are great at reinvesting into the property to make it better each time. Secondly....Andres who is the property manager and friend of ours since we have been coming always makes us feel like we are family. The property is always very clean and the staff from Andres to Randall to the housekeepers and landscapers and security always are so friendly and professional. This year we had had 7 rooms for 7 nights and if we did not have to be back to work we would love to stay here indefinately...LOL. Thank you so much for making our vacation once again one to remember and thank you for taking such great care of us! We are planning our return for 2014 and I am confident we will buy out the property for the timeframe as rave about the hotel and staff each year and more and more people want to come. Andres you are the best! Thank you!!!

Room Tip: the rooms located upstairs have great wifi access but really any room is a good room as they are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tangerineTangerine, Owner at Hotel Mandarina, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hola Phxaztraveler!

Thanks for your kind words! I am glad you enjoy staying with us!

Con Mucho Gusto!
—Gary A. Wexler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This was my second stay with La Mandarina, and I highly recommend it as an affordable option for accommodation in Manuel Antonio. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is quite good and the location is convenient both to Quepos and to the park/beach.

Room Tip: I would recommend requesting a room with an open air shower....so you can hear the monkeys while you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tangerineTangerine, Owner at Hotel Mandarina, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hola jdhallchgo!

Thank you for staying at Hotel Mandarina... I am glad you enjoyed it here!
Hope to see you again!

Pura Vida!
—Gary A. Wexler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The hotel rooms are nice, but too small. The swimming pool is average, but the hot tub next to it is never on. The staff was incredible rude when we ask for the hot tub to be turn on, so it is like there is no hot tub. Do not be surprise about the breakfast; it is very cheap, and limited. also this hotel do not have an ocean view.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tangerineTangerine, Owner at Hotel Mandarina, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hola Mauricio,
We at Hotel Mandarina are glad you found your room nice. Unfortunately, we have no plans to increase the size of them. I'm sure you survived ok. Our swimming pool is lined with nice blue tiles and has a little waterfall if turned on... however, we could not afford gold trim or Venus statues...sorry about that. We usually leave our hot tub turned off until someone asks to turn it on, in order to conserve energy. I sincerely hope our manager, Andres did not bite your head off when asked.. he is always nice from what I am told!
About the breakfast... again I am sorry you had to make do with eggs or pancakes and coffee and fresh fruit! We were thinking about offering filet mignon and quail eggs with mimosas and bagels imported overnight from New York... but then we would have to raise the prices a bit! But seriously, if a guest decides beforehand that they would like to go somewhere else, like Cafe Milagro (oops... you may not want to go there again, as you felt they were rude), we can deduct $5 per person per day from your bill.
About us not having an ocean view... yes! it is true... we DO NOT have an ocean view and it states this in our website. You can see a partial ocean view from the front of our hotel, but nowhere on our website does it state that our rooms have an ocean view.

Pura Vida!
Gary A. Wexler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I had a great three-day stay at the Hotel Mandarina. The bus between Quepos and the Manuel Antonio beaches and park stops right in front of the hotel so you can easily get to both Quepos and the beaches in 5-10 minutes for about 250 colones (45 cents). It have even been cheaper than that. My room was very nice and updated with great colors, artwork and the bathroom was very modern. I enjoyed meeting the hotel staff who were very helpful and nice. The breakfast that comes with the room price is served on a beautiful deck and includes made-t-order hot dishes and a variety of Fresh fruits and vegetables. I heard the manager telling someone that he had gone out earlier that morning to the market in Quepos to get all of the fresh fruit. You can't go wrong with the Madarina. The hotel is very nice, clean, friendly and easily accessed during your stay in the area.

Room Tip: Call to verify your room in advance even if you pay with credit card through the website. This is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tangerineTangerine, Owner at Hotel Mandarina, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hola Jos76!

Thank You for your positive review of Hotel Mandarina! And thank you for your helpful tips regarding public transportation. The bus stops pretty frequently during the day and is very cheap It stops maybe 100 feet away. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast and room decor! Hope to see you again!

Pura Vida!
—Gary A. Wexler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This hotel was nicely located and shady. The room was great, very comfortable bed, great employees (very helpful), and the stay includes breakfast. What I enjoyed the best was seeing the sloth so close up. We were walking in after dinner and he was hanging from bannister. The monkeys also put on a show while we were there. We went to the park one day and it was hot hot, so did not do the full walk. We did see a Toucan, and rodent, forgot the name, but that was it. The pathway is not shady (too wide for shade) and rough stones. Seeing the monkeys playing was so much better and the sloth - still smile when I see the picture. I would recommed this hotel for comfort, quiet, conveniece to places, and the animals.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tangerineTangerine, Owner at Hotel Mandarina, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hola SolyLuna_12!
It's always nice to have a guest who appreciates our Hotel Mandarina and then writes about it!
We are glad you found the bed comfortable... there are quite a few hotels in CR that don't get around to upgrading their mattresses as I have found in my travels! We are glad to know our employees were helpful...that is very important.
You were lucky to see a sloth on our grounds..it isn't too frequent we get one on the railings. Up in the trees yes... but it is very cool when one comes down to check out the scene! Love the photo! Thanks for sharing it!
The rodent you saw is most likely an Agouti. Do an image search on Agouti to confirm.
Thanks again for your nice review and for choosing Hotel Mandarina!

Pura Vida!
—Gary A. Wexler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, HaMerkaz, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We've stayed there for 3 nights, and it was great! the hotel staff was really nice and helpful. The room was clean and spacious. When we arrived to check-in they upgraded us and we got a lovely room from which you could see the pool area and the greenery in the property. Breakfast was great.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tangerineTangerine, Owner at Hotel Mandarina, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hola NettaSL,
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Mandarina.
We hope your trip to Costa Rica was a great one.
Pura Vida!
—Gary A. Wexler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mandarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mandarina

Address: Main Road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mandarina 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mandarina is a small boutique hotel . It has a history in Manuel Antonio since the early 1990's. It has previously been known as Hotel El Dorado Mojado and Hotel Kekoldi. In 2007, the 12 unit hotel has been given the new name, Hotel Mandarina. Mandarina is known as a small orange, like a tangerine, in Costa Rica.Hotel Mandarina is located in Manuel Antonio, just outside the small Pacific coast port town of Quepos. See map. We are at the highest elevation on the main road about halfway between Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park. If you chose to drive, you can park your rental car in our secure lot behind the reception building. Manuel Antonio is only 3 1/2 hours by car or bus from San Jose, so long as you take the shortest route. Faster yet, is a 20 minute plane ride from San Jose on Nature Air or Sansa Airlines. Quepos and Manuel Antonio are fairly easy to navigate since there are only a few main roads.We are just 1.2 miles (2 Km) from some of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica with the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park at the end of the main road. A twenty minute walk down the secondary road from the hotel will bring you to a secluded beach. The local bus stops 50 yards from the hotel and brings you to the main beach or Manuel Antonio National Park in 5 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mandarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarina Hotel
Hotel Mandarina Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mandarina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.