We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Grounds – Cheap Dirty Rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casablanca

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casablanca
Save
You added Hotel Casablanca to your Saves list
de Manuel Antonio, S.A., Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Grounds – Cheap Dirty Rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

A group of five stayed at this “hotel” during high season through New Year’s Eve 2011. Unfortunately the lows outweighed the highs and made this a truly poor place to stay while on vacation in Manuel Antonio.

The good… the grounds, pools, view, some of the staff

The bad… the rooms are disgustingly dated w/ pictures from 80’s porn magazines framed and hung on the wall as artwork and the rooms themselves don’t make the guest feel welcome, there were ants and coach roaches in the room, the beds were 20 + years old, made w/ one pillow per person and a tattered sheet, the Wi-Fi was intermittent throughout our stay, however the most inconvenient issue was the lack of hot water for three days all of which were reported to management who decided not to fix the problems.

There are many other nice places in Manuel Antonio – I would recommend staying anywhere else but here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    1
    5
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
windsor ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Beautiful resort. Staff were great. Location to quepos and park were great. Reccomend Cafe Milagro across the street for coffee and breakfast/lunch and Aqua Azul ( three buildings away) for meals/drinks.
Manuel Antonio Park was small and just okay and they soak you for money. I saw just as many animals around the resort hotel. Too many people , too much money and hardly any wildlife. They also close the park without notice and the cabbies will not tell you until you get to the park. Cabs were quick to rip you off. I liked the bus.
Recommend the Si Como No for the wildlife reserve...we did the butterflies and the night walk through the Jungle. great.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed at the hotel Casa Blanca on recommendation from a travel agent friend, despite the reviews we saw on here. We were very pleasantly surprised at this gorgeous property. We were there in slow season, so we basically had the entire place to ourselves. The rooms were nice and clean, and came with stove, fridge, sink, separate eating area and a gorgeous view of the ocean. The property is kept spotless by the staff that never seems to stop scrubbing sidewalks, pools, patios, etc.

The staff were very helpful to us in reserving transportation and tours.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

On the day we were leaving we opened the safe to discover that $700 was missing. The only way the safe could have been opened is with a key that they had at the front desk. When we complained they tried to have us arrested. Avoid this place at all costs. Contact me if you want the full story. A real nightmare.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

I stayed three nights at Hotel Casa Blanca in March 2010 and found it at best to be "just okay."

The grounds are beautiful, and the pools while small are pretty good. However, the rooms were kinda awful. Walking-in to our room it was apparent they hadn’t remodeled it in the past 20 years. The double bed we were expecting was actually two twins pulled together with a fitted sheet over them. That wouldn't have been too bad, but the mattress was probably one of the worst I've encountered in my life. Rickety coil support is far from ideal when you've been hiking and swimming all day long. To top it all off, they put a ragged single sheet on top of the bed that looked it had been in constant use since the Reagan administration. And oh yeah, there were aunts in our room.

When we checked-in, we realized with the exception of three or four rooms the hotel was empty. Accordingly, there wasn't too much of a happening gay vibe there, though we did meet some friendly people. Hotel Villa Rocca, the other gay hotel in Manuel Antonio, is apparently the more popular option, though from what I hear the accommodations aren't much better.

The reception staff is friendly and provided good recommendations on restaurants and excursions.

Casa Blanca is in a very good location - close to some of the best restaurants and shops in Manuel Antonio. Don't be deceived though by its proximity to the beach or the actual park. I read somewhere it's a 10 and 15 minute walk respectively to those locations. (--) -- it's actually more like 30 minutes to each (and uphill on the way back). You're better off using the local bus to get to the park or even the beach.
To respond to the claims of theft below, we placed our money, passports, and valuables in our safe with no issues. Felt safe the entire time there - multiple gates and keys needed before you get to your room.

Overall, I would not return to Hotel Casa Blanca. There are much nicer places to stay in the area for $100/night.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

we hesitated to book hotel casa blanca because the last review here was from 2008. we were happy with this hotel. it's no frills but clean and has two pools. the older reviews here mentioned theft.. we had no problem because room safe is now electronic so you create your own combination. there are gates around the hotel for security so we felt safe. we loved ringo, the beautiful dog.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

I was in CR for Spanish school, and I was staying with a family. It was a miserable experience so I packed my bags and walked until I saw the flag at Casa Blanca. Bottom line -- super friendly staff, nice grounds, clean rooms, walking distance to great restaurants and bars, two pools, great view of ocean and sunset, cheap laundry service, etc, etc. I can't say enough about the experience. I'm surprised by some of the negative comments. Yes, there is construction next door, but there are 20 other hotels in the area that are affected. Besides, what are you going to do? It's not the hotel's fault that another hotel is being built. Construction time starts at 8am, if that's too early for you, bring earplugs. I wouldn't suggest sleeping late in MA anyway -- the entire population is up early. The early bird gets the worm.

As far as the rooms go, yes they are basic and simple. But let's get clear -- you are in Costa Rica, not the U.S. You are in Manuel Antonio not New York. It's not the W, so don't expect it. Live a little and try something different. Cleanliness before snobbery is what I always say.

Also, I met 4 guys at the hotel that I am now friends with and will stay in touch with. The entire experience was wonderful. Thank you Casa Blanca!!!!

  • Liked — Clean rooms, friendly staff, great pools.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casablanca

Address: de Manuel Antonio, S.A., Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 49 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hotel Casablanca Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casablanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.