We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Vibe and View Can't be Imitated!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Vista Serena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hostel Vista Serena to your Saves list
Hostel Vista Serena
150mts north of the manuel antonio public school, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Milpitas, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Vibe and View Can't be Imitated!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

When I left Costa Rica, I couldn't stop thinking about the amazing vibe at the Hostel Vista Serena. Everyone, staff included, had such a positive, welcoming, energetic, infectious and loving aura! VS really depicts and represents the popular Costa Rican term "PURA VIDA". It has to be one of the best hostels in Manuel Antonio!

As mentioned by other reviewers, the ocean view is amazing. I spent many of my nights watching the sunset and relaxing in a hammock on the terrace with a good book. FYI, you will be blown away by the sunsets.

And you can't go wrong with the home cooked meals (specifically referring to breakfast), prepared by the amazing kitchen staff.

The hostel is a 5 minute bus ride to Manuel Antonio beach and MA National Park, and a 10 minute bus ride to Quepos!

Will be returning to Costa Rica in a year, and I definitely plan to visit Vista Serena!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    50
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
8
58
61
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Cracking view (as everyone says) is true. The view is magic, great main balcony with seats, hammocks etc. plenty of info on tours and things to do. Stayed in the four bed dorm and have nothing to complain about. Firm mattress, good fan and plenty of room. One bathroom to 3 rooms I thought might be an issue but as it's low season and not packed it was ok, not sure how it'd go in high season. Full kitchen. Would recommend and stay again. Close walk to all bars, supermarket, bus stop, ATMs etc. good pizza place just round the corner.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We spent 55 a night and rented the loma linda residences. We thought they were right next to the hostel and were excited about the ocean views. However the residences are 1km away on the main road so there is noise and very limited ocean view. However, no one else rented the other room and we had the top floor to ourselves which was amazing. We watched movies at night, cooked dinner and had a great time. No AC, some fans weren't working and could use more lights in the living room. Overall, I recommend this place, especially if you are 4 of you traveling and can rent the entire top floor. Recommend falafel bar across the street and visiting Playa beisanz.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Vista Serena was an amazing stay, The staff is so friendly and nice, the cooked food you can get there is restaurant-quality, and reasonably priced. People giving poor reviews to this place may just not be cut out for hostel living in general. the bathrooms are functional, rooms are solid quality, but what made my stay better than ANY other place, was the atmosphere, and great people who were also staying there. Once in a lifetime experience, it would be a shame to pass this place up on your visit to Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The dorms at this hostel are terrible. There were cracks in the walls and you could see between the floor and the walls. There is absolutely no security that I witnessed. Conrad (owner) is great but his other workers do nothing. There are no facilities. The view is the only good thing about this hostel. Clearly the make a lot of money as it is extremely popular, but they really need to sink some money into this place to make it habitable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Despite some great reviews in the lonely planet and on here, we were not overwhelmed by Vista Serena. yes the view from the hostel is incredible, however the location to local amenities is poor (only salvaged by the great Quepos-Manuel Antonio bus service) and we stayed in the smallest 4 person dorm I have ever seen! Poor lighting, cramped rooms with a leaky air conditioning unit also. Bathrooms were average.

The outside seating area is definitely a bonus and the on-site restaurant, breakfast and smoothie bar definitely make this place a lot better.

On the whole the staff were very, very good - however we were let down slightly when they had said they had booked a taxi for us however it didn't show (we don't know if this was there fault however!) and as a result we missed our bus to San Jose!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a private room with a great balcony view to the ocean, private two hammocks and outdoor table with seats. The views are truly amazing and wildlife comes literally to your front door. The price to value is also spectacular as everything was spotless inside and outside our private bungalow with two bedrooms. The supermarket was fairly close with about 5 minute walk up the hill and the kitchen was well stacked. By car either to Quepos or to Manuel Antonio it was barely 3 minutes each way. The fridge in our bungalow was super dated and we had to use the freezer to keep food cold. Overall the value for the price you pay is spectacular! And the views from the hostel are so much worth the half working fridge

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Vista Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Vista Serena

Address: 150mts north of the manuel antonio public school, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Vista Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Serena Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hostel Vista Serena Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Vista Serena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.