We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Vista Serena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Vista Serena to your Saves list
Hostel Vista Serena
150mts north of the manuel antonio public school, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of my favourites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The long walk to the beach with the monkeys in the morning, the hidden waterfall, the view, the atmosphere.. Great spot. Staff booked up all our little activites including mangrove kayaking and zip lining. GREAT value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    53
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
8
60
63
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed in the private room for two nights. The place was clean and had a great view. Very good atmosphere and I think very fair price.

A lot of young people stay here and they like to have a good time. I didn't mind it. But if you want something really quiet, maybe not for you.

The staff is very nice and friendly. Someone was always there to help. The location Is about 2km up the hill from the main beach. However there are nice restaurants and bars 300-500m away.

Recommended

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I had a great stay in Manuel Antonio. The sunset was spectacular on the pacific ocean, there's hammocks and cooking tools and 2 freezer. The staff was super great! I f you want to go the the beach (or the Parc) there's shuttle for 1$ every 30 minutes, pretty convenient. Know that haft of the Parc are now close for renovation, there's only the main track open.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Wow, by far my favorite hostel in Costa Rica thus far!!!
Such good vibes!
The place has a great location on the hill just a bit away from the downtown/central craziness and it only cost c300 to take the bus downtown to the beach or the main restaurants/ park. The hostel is situated in a place where you can see the sun setting perfectly at night. Its great to just relax in one of the hammocks and take in the spectacular views surrounded by really chill people. I also loved waking up to a rooster crowing in the morning. Very Costa Rican style.

They have Free coffee all day and Toast with Jelly in the morning for breakfast. I just added some peanut butter to mine and also had lunch ready for that day.
Good people stay there. You don't have to worry about your stuff getting stolen.
Great WiFi and super clean rooms with Fans! It was just perfect for my time in Manuel Antonio.
The hostel is only a 5 minute walk away from the bus stop/ the local mini mart. The mini mart has fresh fruit, bread, alcohol and other necessities.They have a great restaurant on site with really tasty affordable food also.

If you want a chill relaxing place with good energy and really good people I would say this is the best place to stay. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there and would HIGHLY recommend this hostel to anyone going to stay in Manuel Antonio!!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the whole place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Very clean, extremely helpful staff, extremely peaceful view with hammocks and common area where I met incredible friends from all over the world. Staff had amazing recommendations, the bus stop is only about a 5 minute walk away, awesome security, and even a smoothie bar! Loved this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great place for backpackers!
This place has the best sun set view ....
Cheap and easy bus transportation to the park and to quepos town!
My favorite part was to have sunset beers with home made nachos at the hostel! But they have a restaurant also!

Room Tip: They have different options, privates have ocean view like balcony, but the dorms have a comun area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I was there with my daughter and had a great time with other customers, music, good healthy drinks, great food, fish, burritos, and casados. I took my niece, her three children and my daughter for dinner twice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Vista Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Vista Serena

Address: 150mts north of the manuel antonio public school, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Vista Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Serena Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hostel Vista Serena Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Vista Serena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.