We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place & lovely people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Vista Serena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Vista Serena to your Saves list
Hostel Vista Serena
150mts north of the manuel antonio public school, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place & lovely people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Wonderful time! Beautiful location. Staff was very helpful with any information needed. Very informative on tours, places to eat, shopping, etc...
All staff is fluent in English & Spanish. Rooms are very nice.
Private room has its own bathroom with shower. Private balcony, with hammock, table & chairs with AMAZING view.
They also have appropriatly priced beverages & snacks.
There is a resturant that has snack food/appetizers. Such as Nachos, Taco salad, rice & beans etc....
There is a friendly donkey that mosey's around sometimes and cuts grass.
One of the owners has a dog that mainly lays around, but may come up to snag a good petting every now and again :)
Conrad & Ms. Sonia are wonderful people who treat the hostel visitors like family. Vista Serena is ran with smiles, good times & lots of LOVE!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    53
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
8
60
63
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed three nights in one of the 'private bungalows'. The room was basic with a shared bathroom and kitchen but perfectly adequate and very spacious. We spent most of our time on the private balcony area with hammock and perfect pacific view - it's hot in Manuel Antonio so you don't want to do much. The hostel advertises as 'where the fun is' but it was a friendly atmostphere, chilled out and quite peaceful (not a party haven which we appreciated). Breakfast is basic but does the job nicely.

One day is enough for MA national park, especially if you've done Corcovado/Monteverde which are more impressive and less crowded but it's worth going if only to spent time on the idyllic beaches (note the park, including the beaches close at 4pm).

From the hostel there is a very steep 30 min walk down to a lovely beach - it is hot and very steep but great for a day out of lazing around. Just make sure you're back at the hostel for sunset!

Room Tip: Private bungalows were really good for the price with an ample kitchen and use of the balcony area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for relax and fun time together this is the Place, Conrad and Sonia are stars great amazing people that take things easy which is great for vacation spirit clean loads of new poeple to meet and fun nights this is a hostel must thing to be aware of not a hotel but if you still looking for privacy you can get your own room if you there do it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Vista Serena was the perfect choice for our Manuel Antonio trip. Conrad and Leah were so helpful (and got us hooked up with tour deals too). You can't get a better view and a quiet escape. The sunsets you will experience here will make you swoon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My friend and I booked Vista Serena on a whim, due to the positive reviews on tripadvisor, and we were not dissapointed. Overall it was a very fun experience, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Manuel Antonio.
Leah was such an enormous help when booking our excursions; everything she suggested was fantastic, and it got to the point where we just asked her what she thought we should do tomorrow, and just booked whatever she suggested. She also gave us hostel recommendations as we travelled around to other areas of the country, and again, she nailed it.
If I am ever to return to Manuel Antonio, you can be sure I will be staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

One of my favorite hostel in Costa Rica with fantastic sunset to watch from the terrace. The hostel is very clean with many amenities with great location, just half way between Qeupos and Manuel Antonio national park. But the best bonus of this hostel is super friendly, helpful and knowable staff. All of them were helpful to deal with my urgent problem which happened to me in Manuel Antonio and arrange unusual transfer request for other Costa Rican destination for the great price. There is also on site restaurant where they serve tasty and for Manuel Antonio cheap food. I really enjoyed lazing in hammock while watching amazing sunset. They really made my stay here memorable and this is one of the places I would like to return as you feel home here from the first moment you enter here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I just have to say, I've never stayed at a better hostel...Leah and Conrad are the best hosts that we could have asked for. Our time in Manual Antonio was amazing. They were kind, considerate and fun. Leah was eager to help set us up with any activities that were offered in Manual Antonio. The hostel itself overlooks a beautiful view of the ocean and the hang-out area outside is just so relaxing with plenty of seating, including hammocks. I woke up each morning, had a cup of coffee and watched the sun rise. They served food there, had a free phone that you could use to call any where in the US, free WI-FI, etc etc etc!!! WONDERFUL HOSPITALITY.
LEAH AND CONRAD, I can't thank you enough. really...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Vista Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Vista Serena

Address: 150mts north of the manuel antonio public school, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Vista Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Serena Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hostel Vista Serena Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Vista Serena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.