We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Luxury Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Save
You added Buena Vista Luxury Villas to your Saves list
Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay! Our family of 5 stayed in the 3 br villa and it was more than enough room! The condo was beautiful, clean, and the kitchen was very well equipped. The best part, though, was the view and the porch--we were out there any time we could be--and were often joined by monkeys in the early mornings. The beach was quiet and uncrowded, the beach cafe was great and very convenient. We walked to several great restaurants recommended by Orlando, our wonderful front desk guy. We also took a very short bus ride down to the public beach, did some shopping, and did a nature tour in Manuel Antonio Park. The nature walk was fun, but be prepared for a crowd and most of the time the naturalist finds the wildlife and it is really only visible through his telescope--except, of course, for the monkeys that are everywhere on the beach. Other than those short excursions we were most happy on our porch or at the beach. The pools were beautiful,but we preferred the beach. One thing to be prepared for is the terrain--very hilly and steep--but, they have a shuttle that is always just where you need it, when you need it. There are lots of steps to get to your condo, but again, well planned to make them very doable. All the people were wonderful and took the absolute best care of us--Brian, Orlando, Michael, Rudy, and David (on the beach). Sylvia gives a great massage and makes beautiful silver jewelry. I know there were others that I am forgetting, and I'm sad about that b/c they truly go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We are counting the moments until we can return again someday!

Room Tip: I have a feeling all the condos are equally lovely, but perhaps the ones toward the top of the resor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you Suzanne! We really appreciate your appreciation! Your observation about the park is astute; having said that, nature tours can be arranged within Tulemar Gardens. We are fortunate to have a large campus that encourages wildlife and also provides for an element of seclusion for our guests. The steepness of our campus enables those lushes’ views from the veranda. They also make our van service is quite the life saver sometimes. Thank you to an awesome staff too! Suzanne we hope to see you again, Pura Vida- Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    90
    18
    13
    4
See reviews for
276
165
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Had a great 3 days at this place.
What a beautiful place with spacious rooms. amazing balconies with view to die for...
The animals all around, monkeys, birds and iguanas everywhere and the staff was really really great!!
We had Michael take us everywhere and was always around for anything we needed (thanks Michael!).
Food at the hotel was great and my wife enjoyed the spa.
The hotel is on a hill so the hotel vans take you everywhere and they are always available.
The private beach is secluded and so beautiful.
We took the Dolphin catamaran tour which was great, and dove with Oceans unlimited which was cool too.
All in all, the hotel is amazing!! and Manuel Antonio is the perfect place to finish a Costa Rica trip!

Room Tip: All rooms point to the ocean so you can't go bad really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Mr. HBTOK thank you for taking the time to write your review! Glad you hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Pura Vida, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn Heights, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My kids were shouting with joy when we were shown to own villa. Magnificent, two level home built into the hillside overlooking the Pacific. Jacuzzi on upper deck, outdoor showers, huge bedrooms and pristinely clean. Private beach with shuttle and most accomodatiuon staff. Walking distance to many restaurants. Great location near national park and nature activities.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank You Craig! Glad you and your family enjoyed! Pura Vida
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We have just left Villas Buena Vista after three wonderful days spent there. To say we had a great time is an understatement! Our concierge Danny was so attentive he made us feel like royalty--from accommodating special diets to setting up surf lessons and shuttles no job was too big or too small for him. Everything was done with efficiency and with a genuine smile.

Their restaurant...Walking in was just like the song: "sometimes you wanna go where everybody knows your name...and they're always glad you came..." We were greeted by our first names and our server Rudy had our individual preferences down pat. The fruit was sweet as candy!
The grounds are immaculate and well incorporated into the surroundings. There is a gorgeous private beach. They offer complimentary chairs, umbrellas, towels and kayaks!
We will be going back to Villas Buena Vista at Tulemar for EVERY visit to Manuel Antonio.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you Amalia! Reading reviews like yours makes me smile just because of the touchstones like Danny's impish smile! So glad you like Buena Vista del Sol and yes our staff there tends to get to know you quickly! Don't forget down at the beach besides towels, umbrellas, lounge chairs and Kayaks- to that add boogie boards... very important! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return! Pura Vida, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is the perfect place to stay to get the real feel of Costa Rica in beautiful surroundings without being in a big commercial resort! The people who work here are great! Andres our concierge was super nice and extremely helpful and always there for us. Michael who works there is also great! The villas have great views and there are lots of great restaurants along the street outside the resort.. Literally one after another. The beach here is small but they have a great little restaurant that serves drinks and wonderful lunches. They really don't have a full spa as such, but I had 2 massages with Sylvia and she does an excellent job! The resort is on a hillside and there are quite a few steps to go up and down which I considered good exercise but some people may have a problem with that. Overall we loved it and would definately recommend it!! By the way... I don't think the pictures on the website do it justice. It's much more beautiful!!!!

Room Tip: Buena Vista Villas are in Tulemar Resort but the villas are the nicest. I did not see in any of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi Ellen and thank you! I agree the pictures don't do us justice because they are one dimensional and when you are on property looking out from your unit it is a bit surreal. Yes our "spa" is a symbolic word for a location where we provide many spa service. High on that list from Sylvia are yoga and massage best when done back to back! Our "spa space" is perfect for that! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Pura Vida, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The grounds are amazing. Breathe taking view of the ocean. Beautiful scenery, if you don't mind some angled roads to stroll on. Luis was our driver during our time there and was very personable and friendly. He definitely made our trip more enjoyable. David gave great dinner recommendations. If you want an Ocean vacation this is the place to go.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Amy, Thank you for writing the review! Glad to hear you and your husband enjoyed your time with us! I look forward to you bringing the extended family next time! Thanks for the review and the stay, Pura Vida! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Our junior suite was set high in lush tree tops where we could see the ocean in the distance. Each patio has a hammock, table and chairs, and if you're lucky like we were, monkeys come to visit once a day. Unfortunately, the patio doors are not air-tight, so we did have an insect in the room and a gecko in the shower. Because I am afraid of insects, the staff agreed to spray and put towels under the door. I felt badly complaining, but the staff was responsive and then knew our names. Though we were encouraged to call for a van to transport us to the restaurant and beach (the entire complex is on a steep hill), we preferred to walk when possible due to time restraints. We found the villa restaurant to be pricey and the service to be slow, but the food is good. It is easy to walk to many good restaurants, but they, too, are pricey in this beach area. Orlando at the desk and Brian, our concierge, were extremely helpful; they knew our names, answered all questions, were personable, polite and eager to serve our needs at all times. The beach is very nice. I had to ask for an extra towel in order to cover the lounge chair, which wasn't an issue. Also, there aren't enough boogey boards for everyone - people would keep them at their chairs so it became necessary to walk up to other people to ask if you could borrow them. You should certainly take a kayak out into the ocean as it's very calm and enjoyable to do so. There are two walking trails to the beach though they are very steep, and I wouldn't advise it. It is just as easy to see monkeys or a sloth from the driveway, sidewalks or your own patio. We were told it would cost $6-$8 to take a taxi to Manuel Antonio National Park or the Main Beach, but we found you could negotiate the trip for $5 each way. At any rate, going there is a must! We recommend taking the National Park tour with a guide and staying there at one of the beaches for the afternoon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for the review and for staying with us. As many definitely know at this point our property is on a very steep incline which enables the magnificent views we boast. Regarding price the entire area is subject to resort level pricing. Thanks for your review, Pura Vida, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Vista Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Luxury Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buena Vista Villas is a small, luxury boutique resort located inside Tulemar, a 33-acre gated resort community. Nestled in the jungle with stunning views, our villas offer luxury and privacy with all the amenities of a high-end beach resort: concierge and daily maid service, three pools and our private sandy beach. Breakfast is available daily at the pool with lunch, snacks and drinks at the beach in the afternoon, among monkeys and sloths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Luxury Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Buena Vista Hotel And Casas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Luxury Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.