We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Luxury Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Save
You added Buena Vista Luxury Villas to your Saves list
Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New years in the Jungle?
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great stay in a beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed in a bungalow for 5 nights including New Year's Eve. The bungalow was top quality, kitchen appliances and contents 5 star and overall we absolutely loved the place. Our bungalow was right next to reception at the top of the hill. This gave us easy access for going out to dinner as well as spectacular views. The trip down to the beach in the car was a couple of minutes but was a hard 20 minute trek up if you wanted to walk. The beach was beautiful and there were always beds available. The pools on site were always clean though rather cool. I've heard great things about the concierge service but I have to say that ours wasn't great. We didn't see him for the first 24 hours and when we eventually did get to meet him, he was very slow confirming plans for New Years Eve and confirmed a price for all food and drink. This wasn't the case and we were only offered one bottle of awful red wine (with lobster??) and had to pay for all other drinks including soft drinks. The food and entertainment was appalling. We went down to the beach later and the party down there was great. Overall, we had a great stay and I would love to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
McMillans from NYC, Thank you for writing a review. You did not stay in a Bungalow but a 2 bdrm Premium Villa. Glad you liked it and the property and yes being up close to the gate especially if you have mobility issues is very good! I apologize for slow concierge service this time of year and especially New Years we are extremely busy and we are ever mindful of this and working to improve our attention and promptness. Many of our guests did like the New Years eve dinner at Buena Vista del Sol, sorry you did not judge it favorably, but I'm glad you did enjoy the beach entertainment! Pura Vida, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    84
    18
    12
    4
See reviews for
230
144
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

When you pull up to this resort, the entrance just doesn't do it justice. Our villa had breathtaking views and amazing layout, from the large bedrooms, to our deck with hot tub and amazing views we enjoyed it all. A full kitchen enabled us to have easy going breakfasts and lunches at home (the grocery store is only 2 blocks away- and they deliver if you ask). The staff were very friendly and helpful. The private beach was wonderful, clean and very welcoming. This was a mother/daughter/sister trip and we are planning on going back next year with the husbands.

Room Tip: Room 413 (which we were in- 2 bedroom) had the best view of the whole resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Southend, Thanks for writing a review and for staying with us. Lucky husbands next year! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The lodging, staff, and views were all truly spectacular. The staff bent over backwards to make our family stay extraordinary. My wife broke her legs the first day of our visit to Costa Rica and we expected disaster when we saw how many stairs at the location including a very steep road to the beach. After offering it up, the staff literally carried my wife around the complex and to and from restaurants around the villas. The villa we stayed in overlooked the rain forest canopy and ocean -- it was breathtaking. The monkeys swinging from the trees in the morning was an extra bonus. In addition, I would also recommend the pool and beach restaurants at the villas as some of the best food in the vicinity.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
M_blue, I hope you are healed up at this point! So glad after such a “leg breaking” experience we were able to provide you with an excellent experience! Always warms my heart to hear that our guests enjoyed the food whether at the beach, pool or restaurant! Pura Vida, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a thoroughly enjoyable time at this place. We were visiting Costa Rica with the thought of possibly re-locating there. This facility has some incredible views. The staff was very accommodating. Of particular note was our driver Luis. He was so personable and made sure that everything we needed was taken care of. Orlando in the front office was also very attentive.

Room Tip: Make sure you have smaller denominations of currency for taxi and tips. US currency is accepted eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thanks Stephen, Glad you enjoyed your time with us! Hope the exploration was rewarding too. And too- Thanks Lewis! Let me know if I can answer any CR questions that could help in a CR relocation. Pura Vida, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

It.s simply a paradise.
The views, the private beach, the flora and fauna, the pools and it´s views, and specially the always kind staff made our stay something to remember!
Everybody was super kind, always offering help, with a big smile, to make our vacations great.
We remember specially Orlando a Luis, who were very kind and friendly.
The beach was unbelievable in it´s beauty. They have body boards, things for the kids to play, and others the have, and you can use it all the time you want.
The service is amazing!
The environment is... wow!!!
You can see monkeys, raccoons, iguanas, everywhere!
The best!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have greater views, although every room has its own private view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Wow! Thanks Alexandra! We are thrilled to hear that your experience was great! Costa Ricans in general are very nice and the Ticos we employ are beyond compare! We are a business that is involved with the community and look to support not just our guest experience but that of our employees too! Thanks for the great review and come back! Pura Vida Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacklick, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I never thought a place like IL San Pietro di Positano, Italy could be beat. Now I know, the Buena Vista Villas at Tulemar has it all. A short walk to your own private lagoon beach, mountain & ocean views to die for. The Villa we stayed at far exceeded my expectations. Nestled into the foot hills of the tropics over looking the Pacific ocean, a picture perfect setting right out of a magazine. Monkeys and tropical birds every where.

I've never been treated like royalty, like I was by the staff of Buena Vista. They were available 24/7. We check out many restaurants while we were down there( Kapi Kapi, Victoria's, Barba Roja ) and not one compared to Buena Vista Del Sol. The food was exceptional, not to mention the service & price. If I were to do it all over again, I would never leave the resort.

Everyday our villa was cleaned by house keeping as though we were walking into it for the first time. They did an amazing job!

Just a note for those who are planning a trip to Manuel Antonio, its cheaper to go out for breakfast, lunch & dinner than it is to buy groceries and have a meal in your Villa.

Again, I can't thank everyone enough for such a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: If you plan on staying at the Buena Vista Luxury Villa, stay at villa 413, its the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your great review! So glad we exceeded you expectations. FYI our restaurant has been open since July 2013 and we hope all who visit us enjoy! Brian please come back soon, Pura Vida! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitewater, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

What can I say about our 7-day trip to Tulemar Buena Vista Villas? In a word......FABULOUS!!!

The entire staff (and especially, Michael, Orlando, Andres and Eduardo)--down to the very last person we dealt with, was friendly, helpful, courteous and they did everything they could to make our stay the best possible. We stayed in Unit 414 (a 2 bedroom premium villa) and it exceeded our expectations in every way. The decor was modern, stylish, luxurious, clean, and comfortable--we couldn't have asked for more. Book a premium villa if you can afford it--it's definitely worth the money.

The property itself is just too beautiful for words. Lush, tropical, exquisite.......I've run out of adjectives for it. The views are stunning, and the flora and fauna - especially the monkeys! are exceptional. In fact, if we had it to do over again, we wouldn't take the Manuel Antonio National Park tour, because everything you could want to see is right on the grounds--monkeys, sloths, toucans--you name it. (I understand that it's possible to book a guided tour of the grounds--we would definitely do that next time.)

The area surrounding the resort is wonderful, too. Most of the restaurants, shops, grocery store, etc. are within a short walk from the front gate. The restaurant in the resort was great, but we never one bad meal no matter where we went. (Just some of the great restaurants are Emelio's, Cafe Milagro, Kapi Kapi, Ronny's (a 10 minute drive away.)

We loved the beach. The water was unbelievably warm, and everything they had for the use of the guests was great (boogie boards, kayaks). The restaurant at the beach was wonderful, and the service of the waiters and beach attendants was fabulous. (We viewed the sunset down at the beach most days.)

We would definitely stay here again--I just can't say enough good about it.

Room Tip: Book the best accommodations you can afford--it's definitely worth the money. Unit 414 was well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Oh Baby! Padget I have to start this response by saying we’ve never met or spoken; I say this because the last review I responded to I mention the same sentiments you do regarding the park or a naturalist property tour. Future guests… you decide. Ask about a property tour when you check in! Yes we are centrally located (no car needed), Yes lots to see! (animals, views, best sunsets ever!) Yes great food on and off property, yes beach, beach, beach! In the words of Apu (Simpsons) “Thank you come again” Pura Vida! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Vista Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Luxury Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buena Vista Villas is a small, luxury boutique resort located inside Tulemar, a 33-acre gated resort community. Nestled in the jungle with stunning views, our villas offer luxury and privacy with all the amenities of a high-end beach resort: concierge and daily maid service, three pools and our private sandy beach. Breakfast is available daily at the pool with lunch, snacks and drinks at the beach in the afternoon, among monkeys and sloths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Luxury Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Buena Vista Hotel And Casas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Luxury Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.