We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Stunning Villa - Gorgeous View!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Luxury Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Save
You added Buena Vista Luxury Villas to your Saves list
Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Nassau, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning Villa - Gorgeous View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our room was a 2 BR Premium villa #401 - at the very top of the property. We stayed with our 2 boys in this gorgeously decorated 2 story home with a new granite kitchen, huge terrace with hot tub and unbelievable view (we were told best view here). The sunsets were out of this world!

One amazing thing we didn't know about in advance was that it has it's own washer dryer! We were so excited to have this - after 4 very wet adventure days at Arenal. Was great to have clean dry clothes again!

Eduardo (a buena vista staffer) was there to help us every step of the way with great restaurant recommendations, reservations, answering all our questions, etc! The hotel is on a very steep hill - so you need a lift to the pool and beach. The staff is there within minutes to give you a lift within the hotels grounds.

The private beach at the hotel is beautiful (although i would not recommend the restaurant down there). They have boogie boards and kayaks free for use.

The location of the hotel is great - you can walk to many of the best restaurants in town.

Truly a memorable stay - especially after the monkeys finally showed up!

Room Tip: Our villa #401 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for the nice review and I’m glad the monkeys did their job and visited! The washer and dryer are features of the Premium Villas and a wonderful thing to have considering how easy it is to get dirty in Costa Rica. Thank you Eduardo for your quality work and thank you PickyNYer246 for your review. Pura Vida, The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    90
    18
    13
    4
See reviews for
274
164
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

First; I want to say the property could not have been any nicer. EVERYTHING is top shelf, the actual Villa itself, the view, the location in proximity to activities available.

The staff could not be any more accomodating. Every member was curteous as if they were a partner in the ownership and wanted you to enjoy every second of your stay. The frequently called drivers were Johnny-on-the-spot. The servers at the bar never bothered you to sell you a drink, but all I had to do is get their attention and one was there in an instant - every time. I'm not sure who was the concierge if there was one, because they all were! Never was I directed to see someone else with a question or for a recomedation..

The property is on the side of a cliff or mountain that ends at a beautiful sandy beach, so yes if you could find yourself walking up a steep incline. But if you do, it's because that's what you want to do. They swiftly will pick you up downhill from your villa, and drive you up... When you are coming up from say the beach, they drive you to a spot above your villa and you walk down to your unit.

Beautiful place with a great staff and a lot of activities that just plain require a WELL DONE

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thanks for the great review! So glad to provide a “well done” vacation experience! I can’t recommend enough the walk up from the beach, but understand it’s not for all=). Thanks for staying with us! Pura Vida, The Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We just returned from a 9 day family vacation which was pure perfection thanks to the Buena Vista Luxury Villas! The location, staff, service, scenery, wildlife, private beach and beautful villa all surpassed our high expectations. The staff were all so friendly and provided such impeccable service that we felt like celebrities. The views are stunning, the villa was lovely and comfortable with all the amenities we could ask for. Victoria's resteraunt delivered delicious food when we didn't feel like dining out. We loved the many options for shopping and dining within walking distance or taking a short cab ride into Quepos. The monkeys were so fun to watch and it was great to be at tree level to enjoy them. I sat on the large veranda every morning taking in the stunning views! We couldn't have asked for more and we are so thankful to the Buena Vista for giving us memories to last a lifetime.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Wow! From my perspective I sound like a broken record, but that’s good. Glad to be able to create good, and good memories too! Thanks for staying with us, Pura Vida! The Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a perfect vacation spot...for families or couples alike. The grounds are gorgeous and well maintained. The beach is clean and the sand seems endless. The nearby restaurants serve amazing food and deliver right to the villas. Quepos is a lovely town where the locals are very friendly and eager to share their culture. I could honestly go on and on.... But, the thing that really made the trip was the service on the resort. From the front des, the drivers, the bartenders, the beach boys, and last but no least the concierge. Our concierges name was Bryan. He was spot on! We were able to enjoy our vacation....while he took care of the planning, rides, groceries, etc etc. He knew about local activities, and went as far to meet us in Quepos to show us the in and outs of the yearly festival that happened to be taking place during our stay. (When we first arrived he gave us his cell phone number and said to call if we needed anything 24/7.... We thought he did this to only be polite...but when HE called us ON HIS DAY OFF to see if we needed anything we knew he was THE REAL DEAL. THANKS BRYAN and thanks Buena Vista Luxury Villas! PURA VIDA

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thanks for the great review so glad to hear that our concierge staff is blossoming into the guest service amenity that future guests can enjoy! Thanks for spending your vacation with us, Pura Vida! The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford NH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great location, staff, accommodations, shuttle service, scenery, wildlife, private beach. Grocery and restaurants close by. Manuel Antonio Park and beach close by.

Downside is the steep hills - it was difficult to walk any lengthy distance but felt like I got a decent bit of exercise in with all the walking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for the review and glad to hear you appreciated the exercise (good for the heart)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This pains me to write this review but i feel it is only fair to the people who visit this resort. All of the reviews are right on about the beauty and all the things the resort has to offer. But what i do need to share is the experience that i had on my 50th Birthday vacation week at this resort. On our 3rd evening we went across the street to Victories for dinner returning a hour and a half later to find that our bungalo was broken into and that my Samsung gallaxy note pad and digital camera with a very expensive zoom
lense was stolen. When i first called the office they told me to wait till tomorrow to report the thef, at this point i was afraid for our safety and mad.
They finally did send security to search our room #303 and then they left someone from the staff stand gaurd outside our room till day break for our comfort level. The following morning we were escorted to the police dept. To fill out a report, upon returning to the resort they moved us to a much larger bunglo room #414 tht was more populated. We were treated to dinner
W hich was greatly appreciated but i was and still am without the tablet and the camera. The G.M came to our room and at this point i asked if the resort was insured for this type of instance. He said yes and took the police report and a copy of my passport with a promise that this would be handled. Two days later i receied notice and not from the Gm that the resorts insurance company was giving them a hard time about the claim and we would be receiving no repayment for the stolen 2k worth of items but another dinner would be served on our last night comp. From the resort. I treasure my family pictures and used my notepad for work and my personal use, i ended up having to cancel a debit card during this trip due the the stolen identity theft on the note book along with a dozen accounts all stored on the note pad. I was and still am very disapointed and hurt by the resorts disregard for how violated i felt as a result of this theft. The night of the theft all i wanted to do was fly home. All of the pictures are gone and i was left with no means to replace them not alone replacing the items worth 2k that were stolen. Please beware if you are visiting this resort that this can and will happen again, please dont exspect to much from the resort or you will be as hurt as i am

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for writing the review and I understand your violation; I am sorry this happened to you. This Guests experience is not a common one but none the less it serves as a reminder to future guests of two things: one we offer trip insurance on our website and two we highly recommend to all guests to use the safes that are provided in the room. I am truly sorry this happened and beyond the material items that she lost the pictures she had taken. Thank you for writing the review. The Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I spent three nights in February 2013 at Buena Vista Villas with my mother and two adult brothers and it was an amazing stay! We arrived late at night after traveling from Arenal and were frustrated to see that our villa, although beautiful, had just one bedroom with one bed. We let reception know about the mix-up and Johan went above and beyond to correct the mistake. It ended up taking about an hour and a half to get into our new villa but it was worth the wait! We were given #401, which is right next to reception, and it was an amazing two-level villa with two bedrooms, each with an attached full bath (including an awesome, massive partially outdoor shower). It was really convenient to have the full kitchen even though we just used it to prepare/store snacks and drinks; had we stayed longer, I think we definitely would have used the grill and other appliances to cook meals. The balcony was also amazing (complete with a hot tub, dining table and sitting area) - one of the best views I've ever seen and yes, the monkeys will come visit! Johan repeatedly checked on us throughout our stay to make sure we were enjoying ourselves and not upset by the issues at the beginning. He and the other staff were extremely friendly and helpful with everything.

As for the rest of the resort, the three pools were all very nice but the real selling point is the private beach! We spent one morning on a tour of the National Park (great experience) but the rest of the time was spent at the beach. It was definitely a trek all the way down from #401 (the way back being a real workout), but we decided not to be whimpy and get the exercise (shuttles are widely available though). The beach had plenty of chairs and the attendants were very helpful with setting up umbrellas, helping us get out on kayaks, etc. We didn't eat at the beach bar or any of the pool bars but it was very convenient to have the bar right there for drinks. Speaking of food, I would highly recommend Cafe Milagro (just a short walk out to the right of the resort) and Agua Azul (to the left). The road/sidewalk situation is a little dicey (as in most of Costa Rica) but you can definitely walk to restaurants, bars, the ATM and grocery store.

I have nothing but good things to stay about Buena Vista - I would be thrilled to return. And thanks again to Johan and his team for making sure we had an unforgettable stay!

Room Tip: We actually enjoyed being up at the top of the resort next to reception (#401) because it made it ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for the review and I definitely understand your like of 401 since it’s close to the main gate and has a jaw dropping view. Sorry about the mix up upon your arrival and I’m glad we fixed it right, thanks too to Johan. Quick tip Agua Azul is to the right out of the main gate so in Café Milagro. As always thanks monkeys! Pura Vida, The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Vista Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Luxury Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buena Vista Villas is a small, luxury boutique resort located inside Tulemar, a 33-acre gated resort community. Nestled in the jungle with stunning views, our villas offer luxury and privacy with all the amenities of a high-end beach resort: concierge and daily maid service, three pools and our private sandy beach. Breakfast is available daily at the pool with lunch, snacks and drinks at the beach in the afternoon, among monkeys and sloths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Luxury Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Buena Vista Hotel And Casas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Luxury Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.