We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury living in paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Luxury Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Save
You added Buena Vista Luxury Villas to your Saves list
Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New years in the Jungle?
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Luxury living in paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was our second stop in Costa Rica, right in the middle of our stay. We were pleasantly greeted by the staff and led to our villa for a brief introduction to the resort. Upon seeing the kids in our group, the staff immediately installed a safety screen around the main veranda so our kids couldn't slip through the railing. That was a great extra. Our villa was amazing!! Our group consisted of 3 families (10 people total) and we never ran out of space. It was very clean and the air conditioning worked well. My only complaint was that if we didn't have the air conditioning running high enough there was a damp smell that permeated through the villa. I don't know if that is normal in a humid climate or not but there was a leak in the basement stairwell that was fixed as soon as we told the staff. Maybe that was the cause. At any rate it wasn't enough to affect my stay. The beach was beautiful and there were plenty of boogie boards and towels to go around. They even had shovels and pails for our young ones. The sand was silky smooth. The pools were amazing too! We didn't have a car so the shuttle service was a must. We called 10 minutes before we needed to leave and the shuttle was at the front desk when we got there. The place is so hilly it's hard to get anywhere except the pool without it. However, the hills provided the AMAZING view we had. We didn't feel trapped not having a car because there was a grocery store within a 5 minute walk and plenty of restaurants close by. We walked, with kids, about 1/2 mile away to eat and came back in the dark without feeling unsafe. We did keep our eyes open though!
Just a little note, the food/drinks supplied by the resort are not free. So don't take them unless you know how much you are paying for them!
Oh, I also loved watching the monkeys swinging in the trees while taking a shower! The laundry was a definite plus too.
I would not hesitate to stay here again. It was a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa with a view. Some are better than others. We had a travel agent so I'm sure they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. You are quite right the 2 and 3 bedroom villas easily accommodate large groups! As far as the in-door humidity goes in the 3 bedrooms if we get a bout of extreme humidity the 3rd level can get musty, but a shot of the dehumidifier usually takes care of that as it seemed to with your visit. Good tip to noncar people, a car in MA is definitely not necessary between taxis and the onsite shuttle you’ll be fine. I’m not sure I understand the “food/drink supplied by the resort” comment. We do not supply any food or drinks; I’m thinking this guest could be referring to the mini bar which is replenished everyday if need be. Plus there are plenty of food/drink concessions around the property and nearby too. Thanks for staying with us! Pura Vida, The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    84
    18
    12
    4
See reviews for
230
144
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Upon arriving we were greeted and directed to the check in and a quick orientation. My family and I had a great time. The rooms were clean, it had a private beach with Kayak's, boogie boards, life jackets, etc. The staff was very accommodating and great to work with!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to review us. Glad you enjoyed the property and the beach. Sounds like you made use of all the "toys" at the beach too! Come back! Pura Vida, The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral Wells, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This trip was wonderful , our children had great time and Eduardo is the absolute BEST!I love the private beach, i loved the rooms, they were very clean cozy. The staff were very friendly, We went fishing with jon Anderson with quepos tropical water.

Room Tip: i like the rooms closer to the road, since we had to travel to the store anytime we needed grocerys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
I’m Glad you had a wonderful time! Thanks for writing a review too! Good tip for future guests the higher up the mountain you are the less the walk to Super Josephes. Thanks for staying! Pura Vida, The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

The resort itself was spectacular but most of staff did not have a very good attitude. This minor point pales in comparison to the fact that my family had an iPhone 4 and some money taken from the room. There was a safe available but it was not working. When this was reported to the guest services, nothing was done. In fact, we didn't even recieve an apology. We are still awaiting an email regarding the incident and steps taken to resolve it that was assured before we left a week ago.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for writing of your experience though I do need to correct a few inaccuracies.
We never heard a complaint regarding the staff until the phone was reported missing, but this is often the case since the guest is angry over the loss. And you can see from numerous other reviews that the staff is usually very well liked.
We take guests' lost items very seriously. Upon hearing of their loss, we immediately took the following action steps:
1. We inspected the safes in the unit and verified that all safes are in
good working condition. We provide safes and indicate in all bedrooms of all units that guests
must use these for your personal items as we are not responsible for
personal items.
2. Interviewed the housekeeping staff that serviced their unit during their
stay. We also interviewed all concierge and maintenance staff. These
interviews concluded in no information about the lost phone.
3. We inspected all staff lockers, the phone was not located in any staff
lockers
4. Our front gate security inspected all bags that staff left property
with; the phone was not located during these inspections.
We also have a written policy in unit for guests to lock all of their personal items in the safes. Our housekeeping staff is instructed to not clean a unit if guests' personal items, including all electronics, phones, iPad, iPods, jewelry, wallets, and money is out in view. This policy is in place to protect our clients and staff.
Lastly, we worked with this client via e-mail; there was a one day turnaround time with much contact between the client and us. We explained all information stated in this reply. We pride ourselves on prompt customer service and believe that our actions in this situation reflect that. We are sorry for your lost items. The Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

One of only two hotel/villa spots in the Manuel Antonio area where the property backs up to your own private beach. Great wildlife (we saw many monkeys, a sloth, and iguanas on the property). Our concierge, Orlando, was very attentive. Several pools and the beach was well groomed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for the great review and we are the only hotel that butts onto its’ on private beach! We’re proud of that! Yes there is a lot of wildlife we are a satellite preserve of the park so a regular stop for animals traveling outside the park. There are 4 pools for guests to use and lastly thanks Orlando for doing a great job. Thanks for staying with us and come again, Pura Vida, The Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had an absolutely amazing family vacation in Costa Rica--best trip we've taken as a family and one that I would highly recommend. We stayed at BVLV in the Casa de Las Flores bungalow--amazing view and a very nice home, recently remodeled and updated. Let me comment on the "negatives" first: one fact that is NOT very clearly documented in the literature is that this home has two levels that are NOT connected by an indoor stairway. Consequently, one needs to exit the top floor, walk down a stairway that is under the roof, but is absolutely outside the dwelling; and then enter the downstairs bedroom via a sliding glass door. I point this out primarily for families with younger children, because for us, it created an elevated level of discomfort. Our plan was for Mom & Dad to sleep upstairs and the kids to sleep downstairs, but we simply weren't comfortable with that because the kids couldn't get to us easily (without going outside in a tropical jungle located in a foreign country). Overprotective? Perhaps...but you should understand the layout of this bungalow before booking for a family with younger kids. The other MINOR negative: WiFi service was intermittent and slow when it worked...no big deal for me, but if you plan on conducting business from this home, you better have your own hot spot. Otherwise, let me talk about the POSITIVES which FAR OUTWEIGHED THE NEGATIVES! Absolutely wonderful staff--friendly, helpful and responsive; beautiful manicured grounds; three lovely pools with gorgeous views; private beach which is a HUGE plus--one visit to Manuel Antonio public beach and you'll realize what a wonderful asset this is for the Buena Vista guests--no comparison and well worth the extra $ to stay here. Our concierge, BRIAN, was very helpful, knowledgeable, and always available when we needed him, even at 4 AM when we called him on our last day! LOUIS ran a tight ship at the beach bar/restaurant and always had a smile on his face. DANIELLA mixed a mean drink at the beach bar and had a great sense of humor and a beautiful smile...she was our favorite! PURA VIDA, MAI!!! And David was THE MAN at the beach--always smiling and eager to help the kids with a kayak or boogie board, or setting up an umbrella and chairs for Mom and Dad. I highly recommend this location, especially for families...it's absolutely worth the extra money you'll pay to stay here. Pura Vida and ENJOY!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Yes this villa is a split level and there is an indoor staircase but when you get downstairs you are on the patio of the downstairs level and will need to pass through a door to enter the downstairs portion of this unit. I will post pictures on Facebook of this in the near future to aid future guests with a visual. Our Wi-Fi in the MA area is not always 100% due to weather and topography, but my guess is most people are not going to spend vast amounts of time surfing the web, better just to surf down at the main beach! Glad you enjoyed our property and all the wildlife and of course our beach! Thanks for your stay, Pura Vida, the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Point IN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were happy that our agent at Pacific Trade Winds suggested Buena Vista as it was our favorite stop in Costa Rica. The view was perfect!! We could see the ocean as well as a great view of the jungle. (This was important to us as we were there to see the wildlife.) The staff was great. The shuttle to the grocery store was much appreciated and to the restaurants as we were far down the property. We stayed in a two bedroom select villa and it was gorgeous. The view from our balcony couldn't have been better. We loved being able to fix our own breakfast and lunch in the kitchen and eating it on the balcony even better.
The walk to the beach was great on the jungle paths. The walk back up was tough but we knew to expect that. The private beach was fantastic! We loved being able to use the kayaks and snorkel equipment.
The wildlife at the resort made it extraordinary!! We saw sloths on our walks to the beach, even a baby! There was a resident iguana at the pool. We could hear the howler monkeys all the time as well as see spider monkeys moving through the jungle. There were crabs, birds, lizards and all sorts of critters all over. The best treat was the squirrel monkeys making their trek almost every morning and evening. They traveled through the trees, along the ropes and even played on roofs and balconies! The young ones seem to love the hammocks!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for the review and this guest brings up many good points for future guests. Be careful when booking our hotel through a travel agent, if the agent has not been to the property you may want to book direct or ask a lot of questions. This guest did and was pleased with the result. Yes there is a vast amount of wildlife on the property. Our staff tries hard to make sure all guests have an unforgettable experience with us. Note to future guests our shuttle service will no longer leave the property; our on property drivers do not have limo licenses and thus cannot drive guest on the public roads. This means we’ll still pick you up at the beach and drive you to your villa and anywhere with the 33 acres of Tulemar Gardens just not to Victoria’s or other restaurants or Super Josesphs. Just Some Good FYI for our future guests. Thanks for the great review! Pura Vida, the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Vista Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Luxury Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buena Vista Villas is a small, luxury boutique resort located inside Tulemar, a 33-acre gated resort community. Nestled in the jungle with stunning views, our villas offer luxury and privacy with all the amenities of a high-end beach resort: concierge and daily maid service, three pools and our private sandy beach. Breakfast is available daily at the pool with lunch, snacks and drinks at the beach in the afternoon, among monkeys and sloths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Luxury Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Buena Vista Hotel And Casas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Luxury Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.