We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Rican Sunsets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Luxury Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Murphy, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Costa Rican Sunsets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My family enjoyed our stay in our bungalow with gorgeous views of the ocean and sunset every evening. The property location is well positioned allowing easy access to most restaurants and a small grocery store that is within walking distance. Morning walks offered an almost guaranteed encounter with local wildlife. We saw beautiful tropical birds, several types of monkeys, sloths, iguanas, capybaras, and lizards. We enjoyed our morning breakfast with a troop of playful monkeys that swung around the trees and jumped on the tarp that covered the seating area by the beach bar. The food at the beach was okay with breakfast being the better option over lunch. The beach is set in a private cove and the property offers free use of boogie boards, kayaks, and snorkeling gear. The property is set on a hillside so the walk down to the beach is doable but is a rather difficult return trip. We chose to use the shuttle service to hasten our trip back up to our bungalow. Our bungalow offered one bedroom with two queen beds, living room that had a twin-sized sleeper sofa with a trundle bed, small kitchenette, and bathroom without a tub. The beds were not very comfortable and the sheets were thin and usually came off sometime during the night. The A/C was cold and helped reduce the humidity in the rooms during the night. Each room had multiple ceiling fans and windows that offered scenic views of the ocean. There are three pools located on the property but we only used the infinity pool once that is located by the villas. Overall impression of the property is good. If this is one of the best places to stay in the Manuel Antonio area, then we’d probably stay there again. We will be going back so we’ll research if there is anything better out there.

Room Tip: Not a bad view from any bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    75
    17
    12
    4
See reviews for
190
116
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lino Lakes, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days--and it was fabulous. We then went to the Cloud Forest for 2 nights--also very cool. We would go back to CR in a heartbeat. We saw squirrel monkeys and white faced monkeys every day. There was a 3-toed sloth in a tree at the beach--right above the food stand there. The views were breathtaking. We took a group tour of Manuel Antonio Park--and saw more Sloths, monkeys, toucans, frogs, iguanas and more. Loved it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Luxury at its best.. Villas, personal conceirge, shuttle will take you everywhere from the beach, to getting groceries ..

Only a few comments... considering the high end luxury the beach front services are limited at best... no one serves beverages to you at the beach.. the food is OK.. and the tables are plastic with a tarp to provide cover... i would not go back here for this reason.. im on holidays.. i would like to have someone bring me my pina colada to my chair... maybe thats silly but my preference...

Other than that the pools, private beach etc are fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas. The view from our villa was absolutely beautiful. The infinity pool also had a breathtaking view. The pool was small, but never overcrowded (we were there end of March). The resort offered free car service to local market and all local restaurants, and then back to the resort. The beach at the resort was not the best in the area, but still quite nice. Our concierge, Brian, was extremely nice and always willing to assist with any of our needs. The staffs as a whole were very nice and helpful. I would definitely come back and HIGHLY recommend Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas to anyone planning to visit the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Just came back from 4 nights at Buena Vista my husband and I. There is a lot of writing about this place. This is our experience.
The bad...
We arrived early so our concierge took us to the restaurant by the pool. We were early so we ordered a meal. Me a tuna salad... which I did not like whatsoever and I am not a difficult one. When asked if I liked my meal I said no and was snobed the rest of the time by the male waiter (rude) who is not by a mile a happy person. We avoided this restaurant the rest of the time.
Our air conditionning system leaked ... a lot. We had to stay till they came to fix it one night... only to come back with water all over the floor after dinner. But they did fix it the second time around.
We were not warned about one of the pool being renovated and it was the one closest to our villa. We had to drive to the beach and other pools which was kind of far from our place to walk. Yes there is a shuttle but our time is precious and we did not want to wait for it.
The good:
The beach is great. Nice waves sometimes for a good boogie surf. Most importantly it is SAFE for everyone especially for families ie no undertow, no super big waves and nobody selling stuff on the beach. The beach is private and clean. We took advantage of the free kayaking daily and a couple of time took the kayak to the blue floating wharf in the bay to snorkle (with the snorkling equipement compliment of Buena Vista). Saw some cool fish there and no waves will push you onto the coral. In our kayaking trips saw no whales or dolphins
( try Nuevo Vallarta in Feb and you will). I don`t know if there is another nice place with a private and safe beach like this one around...
My favorite restaurant was Se como no. There was a talented signer walking around and making people play the castagnas with him. It was magical when a few fireflies came around to light the whole show.
So our stay at Buana Vista was in general good. A touch pricy... but the fridge was a good size and the rooms were kept clean. The bed comfortable. The air conditionning system had a had time to keep up but hey... it was over 90 F everyday with the sun blasting on the very many windows... yes a 150 degre view up the canopy...so stunning ... and so was the wildlife, especially the birds and I really was impressed with the landscape being an horticultirist. Only wish we had a balcony... felt a bit claustrophobic in our villa without one.
Do I recommend this place? Yes if you have a family because the villas are big for a couple.
We came to see Manuel Antonio and I was disapointed after our trek to Parque National Corcovado. If you want to experience a `real jungle` please give this one a try. You go down south to a a little town of Sierpe (3 hrs drive from Manuel Antonio) take a boat 1.5 hr through a river with mangrooves that will bring you out back to the sea (wild wild ride..) to Bahia Drake. There are many rustic places there to stay and one very luxurious... (we stayed at Vista Drake, not the luxurios one LOL). Got up at 4:30 am had coffee and got on another boat 1.5 hr ride to the jungle for an all day treck, with breakfast and lunch included. The treck was not realy hard. We took our time to observe... We saw way way more animals not seen in Manuel Antonio. On the way down Uvita and Ojochal and Dominical are places worth seeing. Ojochal has amazing restaurants (a french town) and Dominical is a surf town with a great local market worth visiting if you want to buy cheaper souvenirs... you can bargain. Hope it helps... Cheers

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write your review. I’m sorry we were not able to check you in early often in high season January 3 to the end of March we are operating at a very high capacity and can’t do early check-ins… I’m sorry you did not like the food you got at our family pool. We don’t offer a tuna salad, but my guess is that you had the Yellow fin Tuna and Pineapple Wrap. I spoke with the employee regarding this and he was not attempting to be rude his English is developing and after you voiced your displeasure he was a bit intimidated. He is a newer employee and we are working with him.
As far as the AC they get a full work out this time of year and sometimes we do need to make on the spot repairs. I’m glad we solved the issue.
The swimming pool near your bungalow is a private home and a private pool that that owner is renovating. Lucky our Family pool is quite close and while you can be driven to it, it is easier to walk to thus we provide both maps and signs.
Lastly I’m glad you enjoyed our beach it is the highlight of the property and we are very proud of it. And like you said we do provide kayaks, boogie boards, snorkel equipment, beach towels, umbrellas and lounge chairs. There is also food and drink service on our private beach. Over all sounds like you had a good Costa Rican vacation and also enjoyed the Osa to the south of us. Pura Vida
The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Yes the views from our villa were breathtaking. The infinity pool was nice. But the pool closest to our villa was closed so we had to be driven to a pool. We received no notice prior to our arrival that the pool would be unavailable. Our villa was extremely hot during the middle of the day. One of our air conditioners leaked inside the villa. Our villa had no ice maker and they would not deliver ice to us. We had to buy our own ice! We don't have to do that even in a motel. For a place this upscale we expected more. We were never able to connect to their wi-fi.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Tulemar Bungalows and I’m glad you liked the Family pool, hope you visited our other infinity pool too, the Adult pool. Unfortunately there is no pool within the bungalow footprint, the pool you refer to in your review is part of a private residence and that owner is renovating his pool. Our hotel guests are not and have never been allowed to use any of the private residence pools within Tulemar Gardens.
As far as you’re A/C unit goes, during high season these units get a radical amount of use and we did fix the problem as soon as you told us.
There are ice trays in the bungalow refrigerators, but if you do need larger amount of ice our concierge service can retrieve it for you from the store.
Our Wi-Fi was upgraded early this year and we have not had any issues with it; I’m sorry to hear you could not connect since the signal is quite strong in the bungalows.
Pura Vida
The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We have just returned from a 5 day stay at Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas. Every element of this visit was first class. The villas sit perched on a cliff above a picture perfect private crescent sand beach. It is less than 3 miles to Manuel Antonio Park and Beach, but there is actually no need to go there. Tulemar is well within the rain forest itself, and there is an abundance of wildlife everywhere (right down to the spider monkeys who visit our terrace every evening).
You are greeted at Tulemar by top notch staff and a truly personalized concierge who is available to inform you of all there is to do in the area. Our concierge, Brian, was terrific and arranged a white water rafting trip (which we needed to change several times - no problem), surfing lesson, and several restaurant recommendations.
The villas themselves were much more than we expected. They were virtually brand new, and by my estimates, more than 2000 s/f. Huge! Each of the two bedrooms had double volcanic stone outdoor showers, and the upstairs consisted of a wall of glass leading to a full floor vista terrace with a hot tub, dining room table and sitting area - all facing the rain forest and the ocean. There is a full kitchen with brand new granite counter tops and appliances, and the villas, although all decorated the same, were very tastefully done and quite modern. Our villa could have slept up to 10 persons. If you want the kitchen stocked with food - they will do the shopping for you.
There are some steep hills here which can be tough to climb - but there is a shuttle van that runs constantly and is always available to come get you if you call (or if you don't it will pass every few minutes). Tulemar is centrally located right between Quepos (the small town) and Manuel Antonio Park. You can easily walk to many restaurants and attractions directly from the property, but the shuttle is almost always willing to take you there for free as well.
I have heard that there are spectacular resorts in the Manuel Antonio area - I just can't imagine what more there is than what we experienced at Buena Vista.
See reviews on this area. It is so amazing and there is so much do in this area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buena Vista Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Luxury Villas

Also Known As:
Buena Vista Luxury Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Buena Vista Luxury Villas Hotel
Buena Vista Hotel And Casas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#10 Romantic Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buena Vista Villas is a small, luxury boutique resort located inside Tulemar, a 33-acre gated resort community. Nestled in the jungle with stunning views, our villas offer luxury and privacy with all the amenities of a high-end beach resort: concierge and daily maid service, three pools and our private sandy beach. Breakfast is available daily at the pool with lunch, snacks and drinks at the beach in the afternoon, among monkeys and sloths. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Luxury Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Buena Vista Luxury Villas to your Saves list