We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Save Saved
You added Gaia Hotel & Reserve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE $$$ NOW
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

That's what happens when there are 20 rooms and the owners live on the property. Everyone at Gaia seems to understand they were instrumental in our vacation's success. The rooms are terrific, the food as well prepared as the finest restaurants, and the attention to detail is impressive! The excursion companies which Gaia associates also have the same mentality.

Our room offered a 180 degree view of the Pacific, a private rooftop lounge area, surround sound for watching movies, and Toucans flying by!

Our thanks to Boris, Alex, and Joshua for making this a very special stay. We expect to return next year.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a private rooftop terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanking our recent guests so much for their wonderful review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We understand you had a choice in selecting a resort for your holiday and we are pleased you choose us.

And it appears you too are pleased with your choice. We with you well and look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    80
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
68
547
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Gaia was simply the best! The staff was very friendly, polite and helpful. Everything I asked for was readily available. The hotel has one of the best views - beautiful and breathtaking ocean view, fresh air and peaceful environment. They kept the room clean and provided a personal conceirge at night. Fresh fruits and juices in the morning, and the Costa Rican Breakfast was so delish! Aside from Manuel Antonio National Park, Gaia provides a private tour of their property, in which you can see sloths, macaws and other birds, reptiles and so forth. The shuttle service was outstanding - always on time and efficient! If you are traveling, I recommend you to request for Alex to drive you to/from San Jose Airport.

Gaia is THE PERFECT place is you are looking for a private and quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Such wonderful guests for taking their personal time to write such a great review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

Thank you for recognizing our staff. They truly love to spoil our guests. And they are our best kept secret.

Indeed many of our guests say our reserve has more going on than the local national park. We are very proud of that and thank you for taking the time to take the complimentary tour with us.

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Gaia was amazing. The service at the hotel was incredible, from bar, restaurant, concierge to the spa. Joshua and Alex made our stay there unbelievable, Alex arrange anything that we wanted to do and Joshua went out of his way at the bar. The hotel is beautiful and the view was amazing. The only thing that I would like to see changed is to have more options for vegetarians at the restaurant. Other than that, the place is unforgettable.

Room Tip: Comfortable and quite rooms, private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We are thrilled here at Gaia that our recent guests had such a wonderful time with us.

Thank you for recognizing our impeccable staff and the work they do for our guests. They all love to spoil our guests with imaginative tours and ingenious activities while on the property.

We recognize you had a choice here in Manuel Antonio and thank you for choosing us. It appears you indeed made the right choice!

Thank you for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We only stayed for two nights, but enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel is really lovely, the rooms are modern and exceptionally clean. The pool is small but beautiful with an unbelievable view into the forest. We were in the pool looking out and we had a clear view of two sloths in the trees nearby with the occasional macaw flying by. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant both because the setting was awesome and the food very good, if just a bit pricey. The service was excellent from the restaurant staff to the front desk and everyone else we met along the way. We also tried the spa and it was very nice as well. The only drawbacks to the hotel is that it is a bit out of the way of the other restaurants and hotels in the area and it is on a very steep property that makes walking around the grounds very challenging, especially if out of shape, but they do have golf carts available to take you wherever you need to go. For us, this was a luxury hotel that made us feel very special and welcome.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thanking our recent guests for reviewing our Gaia Hotel & Resort.

We are indeed away from the busyness of the Manuel Antonio area with the myriad of restaurants and hotels.
Gaia is unique and sets itself apart from the other hotels in the area. During the day our complimentary shuttle service is happy to take our guests in the local towns and beaches.

Once done, we collect you and bring you back the the unique sanctuary that is know as Gaia.....the Greek Goddess of Earth.....

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We so very much enjoyed our stay at Gaia. As soon as we arrived, we were warmly greeted by the owner and given a tour of the property.

We were with another family and we both had 3-floor suites which were very reasonably priced and beautiful and roomy - great value which is something I think is very important in selecting a hotel.

Loved the afternoon happy hour and we took advantage of it every day. We were so very impressed with the food - breakfast, happy hour and dinner. We enjoyed some of our dishes so much that we requested a cooking class and we were able to make a few of them with the Chef!

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thanking our recent guests for their 5 star review of our 5 star resort.

We love guests like you and that fact that you took your personal time to review us means a lot.

You are most welcome back to our little slice of paradise here in beautiful Costa Rica. We want to spoil you again!!

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed at Gaia for 6 nights during the end of July/beginning of Aug timeframe and had an amazing stay. It was luxurious, clean and modern. Very comfortable in our room, nothing ever out of place or odd. Just really, really attentive and caring staff who wanted to help you whenever they could and genuinely seemed like it. We ate at the restaurant twice for dinner (once, a full dinner, the second, mostly apps) and enjoyed each dish. I've read some 1 or 2 star reviews and was a little surprised because we didn't experience anything close to that or see anyone of the dozen groups/couples/families around react that way. This is just a very well run hotel making the effort to be a high-end American hotel at a very reasonable cost.

Recommend for honeymooners, couples, families, groups of friends, individuals, etc. who are looking for a very nice hotel. Budget around $200-$250/night (this was the wet season) but includes breakfast, a one-time 20 min massage and a shuttle to the beach and the national park. Not recommended if you're on a really tight budget, looking for a party scene on-site, hostel-type living, or quick 1 night stays. Otherwise, book your stay here!

Other Highlights
-Excellent staff and service
-Very nice and luxurious amenities
-Very clean and modern room (we stayed in one of the smaller studios facing Northwest)
-Shuttle service around town a PLUS
-Breakfast is included and very good
-Nightly live music
-Amazing restaurant view (We saw a lighting storm during dinner that was something you see on TV)
-Zipline and ATV tours recommended were very well run and safe (I think it was called "MidWorld Tours"). We were also able to pay through the hotel so no hassling with money day of
-On-site wildlife was better than the park (sloths, two different types of monkeys, iguanas, parrots, horned spiders)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
What a wonderful review by some wonderful guests.

We thank you for your very kind and comprehensive review of our resort. Gaia is indeed special and unique. We are one of only a few 5 star resorts in Costa Rica and work each day very hard to maintain that status.

Thank you for sharing with others on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

It comes as a surprise that there is such a peaceful hotel in such a busy place as Manuel Antonio but this hotel is absolutely perfect. The views from the balconies both from the rooms and the restaurant are amazing and the food is great. The bedrooms are very comfortable and the staff really friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a forest view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Our entire staff wishes to thank our recent guests for their wonderful review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We are thrilled that your enjoyed your stay and thank you for the kindness expressed.

Thank you for using this TripAdvisor forum and sharing your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaia Hotel & Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.