We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb view, amazing location. But choose the more expensive rooms.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gaia Hotel & Reserve to your Saves list
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE $$$ NOW
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
“Superb view, amazing location. But choose the more expensive rooms.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The view is superb. The location is amazing. The pool is very nice. The food is also excellent. On the minus side, the studio rooms are not great, but we were fortunate to get an upgrade to a suite during our last night.

Room Tip: Some king studios face corridors. If you like privacy (and better views), go for the more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We have numerous room categories with corresponding tariffs in order to accommodate as many guests who what to experience what Gaia is all about. The more expensive rooms have the more spectacular views. That's pretty standard in the hospitality industry.
With only 20 rooms, we are happy to accommodate numerous guests and their desires.

Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    82
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
68
561
19
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This has to be one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed. The pool overlooks the rainforest and the beach. There are monkeys, parrots, and iguanas within reach of each room. We stayed in a two bedroom bungalow and it was perfect. Traveling with my fiancé and his mother it was ideal for our stay. There was a rooftop balcony and terrace private for our room. Service was excellent as was the food. I highly recommend. There are only 20 rooms, so the attention each guest receives is wonderful.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
A wonderful review by our recent wonderful guests.

Thank you for choosing us. We are truly unique and the very reason folks come to Costa Rica. Full of wildlife at your doorstep.

We add uncompromising service as an extra bonus.

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The relationship between guests and the staff of GAIA Hotel and Reserve is literally the definition of hospitality. Gaia was our 'home' for five nights. Thank you.

After experiencing the beauty of the rainforest and tropical wildlife while overlooking the sea and the sunsets, you begin to realize the dream that is Gaia.

And finally, the culinary expertise executed daily at La Luna restaurant makes leaving the property for a meal 'away from home' a difficult decision.

Gaia meets and exceeds expectations. Thank you again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thanking our recent guests for their very kind words on their stay with us.

We truly enjoyed having hosted you and we welcome you back with open arms. Our staff are still raving about your excitement and happiness.

We are thrilled that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Arrived after a 5 hour drive from La Fortuna. Was cool to have a golf buggy drive to the reception of the hotel. We're were taken to the reception were the staff were very welcoming. Very informative. Kind. The hotel located slightly further from the each bit gives you amazing views of the reserve as well as the ocean. The hotel restaurant is one of the best meals I have ever tasted! Definitely a massive thumbs up!!! Recommended!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
We are thrilled that our recent guests had such a wonderful experience here at our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

Guests come to Gaia for relaxation and service. And our staff are only too happy to accommodate every need.

Thank you for choosing us and thank you for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Cannot rave enough about the quality of this hotel. The staff knew our entire party by our names. The location is intimate, and the views from our room, the pool, and the restaurant were amazing. Scheduling daytime/nighttime activities was a breeze with the helpful people at reception. Definitely going back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
The "wow" factor has come into play here. Our recent guests are truly remarkable and we thank them for having chosen Gaia.

Our staff are remarkable when it comes to our guests needs and desires. Nothing to too complicated or cumbersome.....

Thank you for your very kind words on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

GAIA gets a huge thumbs up for creating an amazing week-long experience for a group of 14 travelers, many of whom had never been to Costa Rica before. The accommodations were stellar, the food was excellent, and the service was above and beyond our expectations. The friendly GAIA staff worked with us to create special experiences that made our trip truly memorable, including arranging private jungle tours, a private boat outing, a poolside birthday dinner with entertainment, and a private beach bonfire party. The staff truly showed that they cared about our experience, and worked overtime to ensure that we loved every minute. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in the Manuel Antonio/Quepos area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the huge GAIA suite, complete with a separate living/dining room, large bedroom, walk-i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
We set out to create magic for our guests and it appears we succeeded.

Every experience at Gaia is full of wonder and surprise. We truly thank you for giving us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Thank you for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Costa Rica is known for its friendly people and natural beauty, but not necessarily for a really high standard of service. This is not the case at Gaia. We were in a party of 14 people and we threw the concierge a new challenge almost daily, beach party and fire under the full moon, fancy private dinner with live music, private guides through the forrest... each request met with an affordable and brilliant experience. The owner of Gaia is a fabulously friendly and helpful man as well, make sure you meet Boris if he's around.

The restaurant was delicious as well, as we ate there for most of our meals.

Stay at Gaia!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you so much for posting such a wonderful review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

The entire staff miss you and your party already.......Having you on our property gave us an excuse to go overboard in the "spoiling" department. We love to spoil our guests with experiences that are totally unexpected and look forward to the warm aftermath of appreciation.

Please come back to us so we can once again create the magic that Gaia is all about.

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaia Hotel & Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.